2.7.0

User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2332
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.7.0

Postby w-u-2-o » Sun May 03, 2020 1:44 pm

Using an Orion MKII (8000) here. Diversity is working fine.

An easy way to test this is to go to Setup > General > ADC and set DDC1 to use ADC0. This will put the output of ADC0 into both RX1 and RX2 for diversity.

Then open the Diversity control panel. Changing Receiver Source to Receiver 1 and Receiver 2 in turn should both show the same spectra.

Finally, change Receiver Source to Rx1+Rx2, set gain to 1.0 and phase to -180. If Diversity is working you will see nearly complete suppression of the spectra. It's actually quite fun and educational to see how closely the phase must be to -180 degrees to get cancellation.

Don't forget to change your DDC1 setting back again.

73,

Scott
va2na
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 7:26 am

Re: 2.7.0

Postby va2na » Sun May 03, 2020 2:23 pm

Hi Scott,

I have reset my database just to be sure nothing is coming from there.

I got diversity now working but still strange issue : Turning off ( disabled )Diversity put my main receive on ADC1 ext antenna... Trying to switch back and forth ADC 0 to 1 and the to 0 do nothing...

Guillaume
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2332
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.7.0

Postby w-u-2-o » Sun May 03, 2020 4:51 pm

What model ANAN do you have?
va2na
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 7:26 am

Re: 2.7.0

Postby va2na » Sun May 03, 2020 5:47 pm

w-u-2-o wrote:What model ANAN do you have?

Anan 8000 DLE firmware 2.0B and Thetis 2.7.0 a3
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2332
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.7.0

Postby w-u-2-o » Sun May 03, 2020 8:56 pm

Hate to say it, but it may be time to delete the entire thing and start over. This is a PowerSDR topic but it also references Thetis:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=2975
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.7.0

Postby ramdor » Tue May 05, 2020 4:35 am

via a PM, added here, just as a reminder, when i (or someone) goes through the thread to do a catch-up at some point

I own a 100D and select this in "General - H/W Select".
In "General - Ant/Filters - HPF/LPF" the HPF section is missing


Richie.
va2na
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 7:26 am

Re: 2.7.0

Postby va2na » Mon May 11, 2020 12:03 pm

w-u-2-o wrote:Hate to say it, but it may be time to delete the entire thing and start over. This is a PowerSDR topic but it also references Thetis:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=2975


Sorry for the delay Scott, but yes it time to do this...Puresignal is not working anymore too...
NC3Z
Posts: 223
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: Merritt, NC

Re: 2.7.0

Postby NC3Z » Sat May 16, 2020 1:38 am

So bummed there has been no more of the cool updates :(
Gary NC3Z
User avatar
nico
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed May 22, 2019 9:06 am

Re: 2.7.0

Postby nico » Sun May 17, 2020 12:18 pm

NC3Z wrote:So bummed there has been no more of the cool updates :(


Yes please - is there anything we can do to help Richie and others? :roll: :roll: :roll:
Mike W4OCO
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:10 pm
Location: Virginia Beach, VA

Re: 2.7.0

Postby Mike W4OCO » Mon May 18, 2020 12:49 pm

I also need a FIX!!!
Living The Good Life!
User avatar
W9BHI
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:30 pm
Location: Serena Il.

Re: 2.7.0

Postby W9BHI » Thu Jun 11, 2020 2:58 pm

Anyone notice the extra -20db line in the attenuator settings?
I am running 2.7.0 A3, P2 v1.9 on 200D .24.
I reset the data base just to be sure but it is the same.
Here is the screen shot.
Thanks,
Don W9BHI
Screenshot (1).png
Screenshot (1).png (240.78 KiB) Viewed 1421 times
User avatar
Tony EI7BMB
Posts: 366
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 2:31 pm
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Re: 2.7.0

Postby Tony EI7BMB » Thu Jun 11, 2020 3:12 pm

I only see -10 -20 -30 on mine
User avatar
DK1WP
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:12 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 2.7.0

Postby DK1WP » Thu Jun 11, 2020 3:34 pm

W9BHI wrote:Anyone notice the extra -20db line in the attenuator settings?
I am running 2.7.0 A3, P2 v1.9 on 200D .24.
I reset the data base just to be sure but it is the same.
Here is the screen shot.
Thanks,
Don W9BHIScreenshot (1).png



That's not new.
It's always been that way.
73 Marcus
73 Marcus

ANAN 200D - Firmware 1.9_pre4 - Thetis 2.7.0. a3 - LinHPSDR
Bryan W4WMT
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 10:12 pm

Re: 2.7.0

Postby Bryan W4WMT » Sat Jun 13, 2020 5:11 pm

W9BHI wrote:Anyone notice the extra -20db line in the attenuator settings?
I am running 2.7.0 A3, P2 v1.9 on 200D .24.
I reset the data base just to be sure but it is the same.
Don W9BHI


Hi Don,

Before Scott kicks this thread off the topic, let me just comment: The Orion SDR board and the 200D PA board both had an assortment of fixed attenuators that together could be switched in and out to provide various combinations of attenuation. This is legacy stuff that is now considered to be deprecated. It is highly recommended that you set all that stuff to zero and then enable the 31dB step attenuator in the Setup\Options menu.

73
dj1yr
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 2:32 am

Re: 2.7.0

Postby dj1yr » Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:11 pm

with a double click on the ATT font you can switch between Step ATT and old ATT, this function is old
User avatar
W9BHI
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:30 pm
Location: Serena Il.

Re: 2.7.0

Postby W9BHI » Sun Jun 14, 2020 2:43 pm

I switched the software to 7000dle and the attenuator selection shows 10, 20, 30.
It is a 200d software issue.
Not really a problem I guess.
Don
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2332
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.7.0

Postby w-u-2-o » Sun Jun 14, 2020 4:10 pm

Not a huge mystery, except that it is because there is no documentation except for what you read here.

Until the 8000, all of the hardware was built with two switchable attenuators on the RF board: a 10dB attenuator and a 20dB attenuator. Thus there was the so-called "ATT" mode where you could select one, the other, or both, to get 10, 20 or 30dB of attenuation. To get more the step attenuator was added in 10dB increments. Some time ago several of us tried to figure out why 20dB occurred more than once on the menu but failed, the code is that hopelessly convoluted.

You can, of course, change to "S-ATT" mode and use the step attenuator to change attenuation in 1dB steps. IMHO this is the preferred mode of operation. The maximum step attenuator setting is 31dB.

Starting with the 8000, and in the follow on models, the 7000 and soon the 6000, it was realized that the additional attenuators on the RF board did not add any value and they were not incorporated. Hence the change to the UI in PowerSDR and Thetis for those models. In ATT mode you get three convenient 10dB steps. In S-ATT mode you get 1dB steps. But in both modes only the step attenuator is being used because it is the only attenuator in the receive path.

73,

Scott
User avatar
FM5GB
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 10:03 pm

Re: 2.7.0

Postby FM5GB » Mon Jun 15, 2020 2:08 am

Hi all

Same here (an extra -20 dB position)
200D. Thetis 2.6.9,
I can live with it.

73s Phil FM5GB
dalemitchell
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2020 12:43 pm

Re: 2.7.0

Postby dalemitchell » Tue Jun 16, 2020 2:08 am

I assume version 2.7.0 is being updated.
If so where can I download the latest version?
Thanks
Dale W0GD
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2332
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.7.0

Postby w-u-2-o » Tue Jun 16, 2020 1:11 pm

dalemitchell wrote:I assume version 2.7.0 is being updated.
If so where can I download the latest version?
Thanks
Dale W0GD

Just a little reading away, Dale. I'd recommend perusing more of the forum, you will find a lot of useful information.

First read and follow the "Latest Releases" topic in the Thetis sub-forum, here: viewforum.php?f=9 and install a fresh, clean copy of 2.6.9, which is the current "official" release.

Then go back to the very first post in this topic, the 2.7.0 topic, and follow the instructions there.
k6avp
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 1:41 am

Re: 2.7.0 Feature Request - Tune Timeout

Postby k6avp » Tue Jun 16, 2020 9:26 pm

I just found I had left my radio on tune for a good 30min - lucky I have tune set for pretty low power. Hope I never do that again, but I am thinking a Tune timeout would be nice.
User avatar
LarryW
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 11:19 pm
Location: Garden Valley Idaho

Re: 2.7.0 Another Software Request

Postby LarryW » Fri Jun 19, 2020 2:18 pm

Not sure if this is the right place for this post but here is goes----

I have set up my SSB audio on the rig and LOVE the sound. Sold all the W2IHY stuff as we don't need that anymore.
My request would be for a option to put just a tad bit of ambience (echo) in the tail end of the audio. I know this sometimes becomes a very hot topic in other forums as there always seems to be someone that has the level maxed out.
If your a audio buff then you will know what I am talking about. It don't take much--- usually the lowest setting is all that is needed.
Hope this sparks some interest!

73 All
Larry N7ZDR
User avatar
Tony EI7BMB
Posts: 366
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 2:31 pm
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Re: 2.7.0

Postby Tony EI7BMB » Fri Jun 19, 2020 2:51 pm

Hi Larry, voicemeeter banana or potato software can do this for you if you use a digital interface for your mic. Probably needs its own topic though as its not planned for Thetis as far as I know so perhaps Scott can split this off.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2332
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.7.0

Postby w-u-2-o » Fri Jun 19, 2020 2:55 pm

Larry,

Tony beat me to it. I don't think you are going to get much traction on that feature request. It's like asking for "roger beeps" ;)

However, there are ways to do what you want. I suggest you start a topic in the Digital (Virtual) Audio sub-forum if you'd like to pursue something.

73,

Scott
User avatar
LarryW
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 11:19 pm
Location: Garden Valley Idaho

Re: 2.7.0

Postby LarryW » Fri Jun 19, 2020 3:15 pm

Thanks Tony and Scott----in reference to the Roger Beep, I under stand exactly what you mean for sure.
I have yet to get involved with VAC on the audio side of things as we are still learning the ropes and have just stuck with the mic into the rig.

Have a great day!
Larry
User avatar
w2ner
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:14 am

Re: 2.7.0

Postby w2ner » Fri Jun 26, 2020 4:32 am

It does not look like Riche is going to spend any more time on updates, its been a long time. I understand if he got a bit burnt out. I wonder what the future is going to be for this interface. Not much of a choice out there which is not a good thing for the life of Apache Labs.
User avatar
W9BHI
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:30 pm
Location: Serena Il.

Re: 2.7.0

Postby W9BHI » Sat Jun 27, 2020 2:32 pm

So, Richie actually told you this?
I had an e mail conversation with him about a month ago and he said that he prefers to do his ham radio and programming
in the fall and winter months as he likes to be out doors during the summer months and has other things that are more important to him during that time.
I don't think that after all of the work he has put into Thetis that he would just throw in the towel.
Be patient, he will be back when he is ready.
DG9FDA
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 7:58 am
Location: JO40HK

Re: 2.7.0

Postby DG9FDA » Sun Jun 28, 2020 11:34 am

Here 100D, Thetis v2.7.0 (3/1/20) MW0LGE (a3), Metis_Angelia_Protocol_2_v12.1_pre4. The Drive slider position is not stored wether in the TX profile (what I like to have) nor in the Database. When I shut down Thetis and start again I have Drive slider position 100 again. This is not very funny because I like to use my SPE1K-FA and need only 20 Watts for legal limit. Any information for me?

The second problem I have is that under "General - Ant/Filters - HPF/LPF" the HPF table is missing. There is no information about this problem in the forum up to now...

Thanks, Georg, DG9FDA
Anan 100D, Thetis v2.7.0 (3/1/20) MW0LGE (a3), Protocol_2_v12.1_pre4
User avatar
KA1GXR
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 10:53 pm
Location: ASHLAND MA

Re: 2.7.0

Postby KA1GXR » Sun Jun 28, 2020 1:13 pm

DG9FDA wrote:Here 100D, Thetis v2.7.0 (3/1/20) MW0LGE (a3), Metis_Angelia_Protocol_2_v12.1_pre4. The Drive slider position is not stored wether in the TX profile (what I like to have) nor in the Database. When I shut down Thetis and start again I have Drive slider position 100 again. This is not very funny because I like to use my SPE1K-FA and need only 20 Watts for legal limit. Any information for me?

The second problem I have is that under "General - Ant/Filters - HPF/LPF" the HPF table is missing. There is no information about this problem in the forum up to now...

Thanks, Georg, DG9FDA


I suspect you could benefit from a database reset. Save current database and reset to defaults.

KA1GXR
DG9FDA
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 7:58 am
Location: JO40HK

Re: 2.7.0

Postby DG9FDA » Sun Jun 28, 2020 2:02 pm

Thomas,

thank you for your hint. I am very sorry but both problems are there after Database reset. Any other information?

Thanks and 73 de Georg, DG9FDA
Anan 100D, Thetis v2.7.0 (3/1/20) MW0LGE (a3), Protocol_2_v12.1_pre4

Return to “Thetis”