New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

FIRMWARE TOPICS ONLY--non-firmware topics will be MOVED
Forum rules
Until such time as the New Protocol firmware goes into general release, all discussion will be concentrated here.
ea3aqr
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm
Location: BCN

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby ea3aqr » Sat Dec 21, 2019 8:06 am

Some positive SEQ errors, specially when transmiting.

Going back to Pre 1.
NC3Z
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: Merritt, NC

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby NC3Z » Sat Dec 21, 2019 12:05 pm

Well tried Pre7 on my 7000DLE (Classic) and ended up with non stop SEQ errors showing on DDC0, DDC2 and DDC4 and I think most were showing a Seq # of 8.

Went back to Pre4 with no issues.
Gary NC3Z
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby ramdor » Sat Dec 21, 2019 1:00 pm

Anan 7000dle Mkii (July 2019), radio on its own subnet, that subnet is on its own nic in the pc.

Pre4 : 100-700 lost packets ONLY when radio receives a broadcast DHCP message from a dhcp server. These packets are lost on both Radio->PC and PC->Radio. Receiving station will hear glitch in transmission. It is as if the radio needs to handle the dhcp broadcast (that isnt directed to it) and doing so stops sending ddc data etc.

Pre7: a single 1 packet loss on the radio->pc, every second 1536000 sample rate. Reduced frequency, but single packet loss at 384000. Seemingly endless packet loss using this firmware, even if very minimal on this system. Did not test PC->Radio, all observations are Radio->PC. Power cycle, cooldown/warmup period did not change the loss frequency.

Conclusion, pre7 is not as reliable as pre4 on this hardware. Returning to pre4.

Also, just to add a big thanks to Rick for his ongoing efforts and work with the firmware !

Cheers,

Richie.
AG5CK
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2019 6:52 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby AG5CK » Sun Dec 22, 2019 4:03 pm

My rig did not work with pre 7. No RX and -402dBm on all bands. I could hear the relays clicking when changing bands but no noise floor. Back to pre 1 and all is well.

Puresignal was intermittent with pre 2
pre 4 seems to work OK but has occasional seq errors.

I'm using a 7000 dle mk2 (no internal pc) running Thetis 2.6.8.

Thank you all for the effort put into firmware, software and testing.

Edit: Updated Thetis to 2.6.9 (b6) and so far there have been no seq errors with pre 4
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2366
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby w-u-2-o » Sun Dec 22, 2019 10:27 pm

Great feedback everyone, thank you! :)
iw3fvz
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 9:19 am

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby iw3fvz » Thu Dec 26, 2019 8:41 am

Tested pre7 with Thetis 2.6.9 B6

Perfect ... the minimal seq error in tx are vanishid
(from pre4)
Fabio IW3FVZ
Anan 7000DLE, FW v2.0b, Thetis 2.6.9
Windows 10, dedicated network subnet, Ryzen 7 3700K, 16GB
iw3fvz
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 9:19 am

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby iw3fvz » Thu Dec 26, 2019 2:58 pm

For SEQ problem i suggest to disable "Interrupt mitigation" (if present) in your NIC
Fabio IW3FVZ
Anan 7000DLE, FW v2.0b, Thetis 2.6.9
Windows 10, dedicated network subnet, Ryzen 7 3700K, 16GB
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2366
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby w-u-2-o » Thu Dec 26, 2019 3:10 pm

Please see the update in Post #1 above. pre8 is posted, which fixes a problem with erroneous DHCP processing. Please report your results.

For me it works the best of all available in the "preXX" series. There are still small order seq errors, but they are inaudible to me.

73!

Scott
dj1yr
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 2:32 am

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby dj1yr » Thu Dec 26, 2019 4:53 pm

so far none seq error´s on pre8 with 2.6.9 b6 software

mny thanks for this work!
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2366
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby w-u-2-o » Thu Dec 26, 2019 5:25 pm

Don't thank me, thank Rick N1GP. He is the firmware guru. I'm just the happy messenger :)
ea3aqr
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm
Location: BCN

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby ea3aqr » Thu Dec 26, 2019 7:02 pm

Anan 7000DLE

I need a more in deep testing, but first impression looks promising...

No packet drops or audible glitches like those I had in pre2, 4 or 7.

Thanks for the nice work!
dj1yr
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 2:32 am

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby dj1yr » Thu Dec 26, 2019 7:24 pm

w-u-2-o wrote:Don't thank me, thank Rick N1GP. He is the firmware guru. I'm just the happy messenger :)



Hello,

it was primarily aimed at Rick. :D
NC3Z
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: Merritt, NC

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby NC3Z » Thu Dec 26, 2019 8:15 pm

So far so good with Pre8, been running for a few hours and as stable as Pre4.

7000DLE blue, Thetis 2.6.9b6
Gary NC3Z
AG5CK
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2019 6:52 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby AG5CK » Thu Dec 26, 2019 10:49 pm

Pre8 is working well for me and seems to be the best yet. I was getting some random seq errors with pre4 but only when running chrome in the background. This isn't happening with pre8.

I was able to force a couple of seq errors by maxing out the sample rate and fps. Less errors than I was getting with pre4 under those conditions. I think those settings are far beyond what my PC can handle anyway.

7000 dle mk2 (stainless cabinet) running thetis 2.6.9 b6. Not using VAC. Thanks to Rick for all the hard work.
Last edited by AG5CK on Thu Dec 26, 2019 11:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ea3aqr
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm
Location: BCN

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby ea3aqr » Thu Dec 26, 2019 10:56 pm

ea3aqr wrote:Anan 7000DLE

I need a more in deep testing, but first impression looks promising...

No packet drops or audible glitches like those I had in pre2, 4 or 7.

Thanks for the nice work!


After 1h of local qso just 2 or 3 packet drops (not audible) shown in my VAC monitor.

Outstanding firmware version!
dj1yr
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 2:32 am

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby dj1yr » Fri Dec 27, 2019 5:46 pm

Hello,

tested version pre8 today, this causes problems for me with the RX2.
When I go on the air, you just have a noise level of -30dbm.
Some SEQ errors on TX with activated PSA.
I don't have all these problems with Pre4.

back to pre4.

73´René

Update:

Tested again today, no problem with RX2. :roll:
Sometimes SEQ error with PSA enabled (SEQ -2)
Last edited by dj1yr on Sat Dec 28, 2019 10:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
Bryan W4WMT
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 10:12 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby Bryan W4WMT » Fri Dec 27, 2019 6:03 pm

I can confirm that the DHCP packet loss anomaly is now gone :-)
Thank you Rick!

Everything else seems to be about the same as pre4. Maybe the seq errors are a bit lower, but time will tell.

73
User avatar
Ernie
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:31 am
Location: Roswell, GA

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby Ernie » Sat Dec 28, 2019 12:30 pm

Pre8 is working fine here, occasional giant negative seq error, but not very often. Other than that, it works great. 7000DLE Blueface, 2.6.9 b6. W2FMU
User avatar
Mike W4OCO
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:10 pm
Location: Virginia Beach, VA

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby Mike W4OCO » Sat Dec 28, 2019 12:51 pm

Pre8 also working fine here with no issues so far.

73
Mike
Living The Good Life!
User avatar
nico
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed May 22, 2019 9:06 am

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby nico » Sat Dec 28, 2019 7:14 pm

Pre8 working great with Predistortion and all other functions. However continue having the issue with Diversity reception where RX2 after a while will start peaking at S9+60 and the only way to address the issue is to reboot the Anan 8000

I can replicate the issue and it starts after a few transitions from TX to RX and after adjusting the phase/gain a few times. I have pre-distortion switched on. It is a lot easier to replicate if the noise antenna is connected to RX2

Hope that helps

Thanks

Nicholas - 2E0GKG
cLicari
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:33 pm
Location: North Texas

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby cLicari » Sun Dec 29, 2019 5:02 pm

Fyi....

Pre8 with 2.6.9 b6 running like a champ for three days now.
No seq errors running with RX1 and RX2.
CPU usage lowest ever at 4-6% with RX1
Nice job!

Carl
NX5T
Carl Licari
NX5T
Anan 8000DLE, FW v2.0 2b, Thetis 2.7.0 a2,
Windows 10, dedicated network subnet, Intel i7 8700K, 32GB, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060, Samsung 40" 4K display
User avatar
nico
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed May 22, 2019 9:06 am

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby nico » Tue Dec 31, 2019 1:14 am

nico wrote:Pre8 working great with Predistortion and all other functions. However continue having the issue with Diversity reception where RX2 after a while will start peaking at S9+60 and the only way to address the issue is to reboot the Anan 8000

I can replicate the issue and it starts after a few transitions from TX to RX and after adjusting the phase/gain a few times. I have pre-distortion switched on. It is a lot easier to replicate if the noise antenna is connected to RX2

Hope that helps

Thanks

Nicholas - 2E0GKG


Happy to report that it has been working well now. The issue seems to appear again if I keep switching between Receiver 1 or Receiver 2 in the "Receiver Source" Phasing Control Screen. When I just leave it in Rx1+Rx2 it behaves now. I also unchecked the "VFO Sync" box on the main Thetis screen as I noticed that this did also trigger the problem. Otherwise this seems to be the most stable release for me with no other errors or lockups.

Thanks

Nicholas 2E0GKG
User avatar
vk6cpu
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 4:47 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby vk6cpu » Sat Jan 04, 2020 1:31 am

Over 24 hours running pre8 w. v2.6.9(b6) and no reported packet losses.

I upgraded from pre2 - 8. pre2 had an occasional packet loss.

Good work!
All the best
Nigel
VK6CPU

Anan 8000 DLE, Thetis v2.7.0 (a3) , Protocol 2 V2 pre-8
INTEL NUC8i5BEH 16.0 GB Ram
iw3fvz
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 9:19 am

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby iw3fvz » Mon Jan 06, 2020 8:55 am

Hello,
one hour contest in RTTY Round whithout SEQ problem.

Thetis 2.6.9b6 . fw 2.0pre8

Dedicated Intel nic interface with this changes:

- Disable IRQ mitigation (Default enabled)
- 384 byte of RX buffer (default 256)

i use this document:
https://downloadcenter.intel.com/downlo ... t-Adapters
in the paragraph "Optimized for quick response and low latency"
Fabio IW3FVZ
Anan 7000DLE, FW v2.0b, Thetis 2.6.9
Windows 10, dedicated network subnet, Ryzen 7 3700K, 16GB
cLicari
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:33 pm
Location: North Texas

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby cLicari » Mon Jan 06, 2020 1:53 pm

iw3fvz wrote:Hello,
one hour contest in RTTY Round whithout SEQ problem.

Thetis 2.6.9b6 . fw 2.0pre8

Dedicated Intel nic interface with this changes:

- Disable IRQ mitigation (Default enabled)
- 384 byte of RX buffer (default 256)

i use this document:
https://downloadcenter.intel.com/downlo ... t-Adapters
in the paragraph "Optimized for quick response and low latency"


I am running a dedicated Intel Gigabit CT card for my 8000DLE with Thetis b6 and P2 2.0 pre8. I have had two lock-ups in over a week of operation and was going to try the two settings changes to the Intel card. I changed the RX buffer but do not see the IRQ Mitigation setting listed in Advanced tab property list. Driver version is 12.17.10.8.
Thx
Carl
NX5T
Carl Licari
NX5T
Anan 8000DLE, FW v2.0 2b, Thetis 2.7.0 a2,
Windows 10, dedicated network subnet, Intel i7 8700K, 32GB, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060, Samsung 40" 4K display
iw3fvz
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 9:19 am

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby iw3fvz » Mon Jan 06, 2020 2:03 pm

cLicari wrote:I am running a dedicated Intel Gigabit CT card for my 8000DLE with Thetis b6 and P2 2.0 pre8. I have had two lock-ups in over a week of operation and was going to try the two settings changes to the Intel card. I changed the RX buffer but do not see the IRQ Mitigation setting listed in Advanced tab property list. Driver version is 12.17.10.8.
Thx
Carl
NX5T


someone call "Interrupt Moderation" search it
Fabio IW3FVZ
Anan 7000DLE, FW v2.0b, Thetis 2.6.9
Windows 10, dedicated network subnet, Ryzen 7 3700K, 16GB
cLicari
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:33 pm
Location: North Texas

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby cLicari » Mon Jan 06, 2020 2:24 pm

iw3fvz wrote:
cLicari wrote:I am running a dedicated Intel Gigabit CT card for my 8000DLE with Thetis b6 and P2 2.0 pre8. I have had two lock-ups in over a week of operation and was going to try the two settings changes to the Intel card. I changed the RX buffer but do not see the IRQ Mitigation setting listed in Advanced tab property list. Driver version is 12.17.10.8.
Thx
Carl
NX5T


someone call "Interrupt Moderation" search it



Ah, ok. Found it and disabled. Will see if that helps.
Thx
Carl
Carl Licari
NX5T
Anan 8000DLE, FW v2.0 2b, Thetis 2.7.0 a2,
Windows 10, dedicated network subnet, Intel i7 8700K, 32GB, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060, Samsung 40" 4K display
dieseldawg
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 7:15 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby dieseldawg » Mon Jan 20, 2020 7:21 pm

Having frequent seq errors with Pre 8 on my 7000DLE, as with previous versions. New behavior is flatlining of the panadapter display on transmit and total program crash occasionally. Just wanted to include my performance experience here, hope it's useful.

Greg
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2366
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby w-u-2-o » Mon Jan 27, 2020 2:19 pm

See the first post for another update.
AG5CK
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2019 6:52 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby AG5CK » Tue Feb 04, 2020 12:34 pm

2.0a has lots of seq errors and the audio drops out intermittently. I went back to pre 8. I'm using Thetis 2.6.9 (1-24-20) and a 7000 dle mk2.

I'm starting to wonder if my PC may not be up to the job. Thetis alone uses 20 to 30% of the CPU. Total CPU use is 30 to 45%.

Return to “Protocol 2 Firmware (all radios)”