2.6.9

VA2EY
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2019 11:57 am

Re: 2.6.9

Postby VA2EY » Tue Jan 07, 2020 12:21 am

I have a little problem with Pure Signal since version 2.6.9_C1. I use about 15 seconds and the Pure Signal no longer works. The PS-A button is still working, but the two green Correcting and Feedback boxes turn black. Tried several times always the same problem.
Version 2.6.9_B6 and previous version work well. Installation with new database.
Another less important remark, at the first installation the microphone did not work, it has to function correctly after restarting software
Anan100D Angelia_Protocol_2_v11.7_7-15-18
Michel
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby ramdor » Tue Jan 07, 2020 9:32 am

VA2EY wrote:I have a little problem with Pure Signal since version 2.6.9_C1. I use about 15 seconds and the Pure Signal no longer works. The PS-A button is still working, but the two green Correcting and Feedback boxes turn black. Tried several times always the same problem.
Version 2.6.9_B6 and previous version work well. Installation with new database.
Another less important remark, at the first installation the microphone did not work, it has to function correctly after restarting software
Anan100D Angelia_Protocol_2_v11.7_7-15-18
Michel


only changes to b6 to make c1 :

fix for qsk antenna rx/tx issue - would not impact PS
andomeda changes - would not impact PS

I have a feeling that reports of PS-A working in b6 and not in c1 are somewhat bogus imo, but stranger things have happened i'm sure.

Richie.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2366
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby w-u-2-o » Tue Jan 07, 2020 7:59 pm

Serial port CW keying connections are not working properly on 2.6.9 b6 (and using an 8000DLE with pre8).

1. The serial port CW PTT line function does not operate under any combination of CW modes and controls. Thetis does not go into a TX mode (and not emit RF) when the serial port CW PTT line is asserted. Expected behavior is that, with QSK OFF and Semi Break-In ON or OFF, asserting this signal should put the radio into TX mode but not emit RF energy.

2. With Semi Break-In disabled (unchecked), the serial port CW Key Line input also does not work. Expected behavior is that asserting this signal should put the radio into TX mode and emit RF energy, regardless of the state of the CW PTT signal.

3. With Semi Break-In enabled, QSK on or off, the serial port CW Key Line input does work. The radio goes to TX mode and emits RF energy. So that part is OK as long as Semi Break-In is enabled.

I can confirm that both RTS and DTR control modes work OK. I can switch back and forth between them for key line and it works as expected.

This is a Thetis problem at the very least--even if the firmware had an issue the software should at least change to a TX state.

For reference and clarification:

When DTR is selected one shorts DE9 pin 4 (DTR output) to DE9 pin 6 (DSR input) to assert the function.
When DSR is selected one shorts DE9 pin 7 (RTS output) to DE9 pin 8 (CTS input) to assert the function.

A sample set of settings is shown below. For my testing COM1 is a real, hardware serial port (a virtual port can be used if desired).

It is worth noting that if QSK and Semi Break-In are enabled, remote, full QSK performance, including sidetone if DUP is ON, is possible on Orion and Orion MKII hardware. This can be a straight key using a serial port on the Secondary connection, or a paddle using a serial port on the Primary connection. The latter works perfectly, with dots when asserting DTR and dashes when asserting RTS.


Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (74.44 KiB) Viewed 6200 times
KB1YFD
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 9:10 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby KB1YFD » Wed Jan 08, 2020 12:51 am

Hi Richie,

Nice work! I'm running an Anan 7000DLE, Thetis 2.6.9 b6, ver 2 pre8.

Found a small bug. Drive slider does not work in tune mode.

Best, John
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2366
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby w-u-2-o » Wed Jan 08, 2020 2:13 am

John,

I can't remember if this is the case for PowerSDR, but I believe you always had to have "Use Drive Power" checked in Setup > Transmit > Tune for the drive slider to control tune power level.

73,

Scott
User avatar
W1AEX
Posts: 310
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:17 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: 2.6.9

Postby W1AEX » Wed Jan 08, 2020 3:28 am

It used to be that you could set the drive power for Tune on the Transmit menu tab and when you went into Tune mode it would use that value. However, you could then adjust the drive slider and it would over-ride the pre-set value for that session of Tune.

I think that was really the best way for the Tune control to work.

Rob W1AEX
"One thing I am certain of is that there is too much certainty in the world."
User avatar
artcomm
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:23 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby artcomm » Wed Jan 08, 2020 3:57 am

Hello Gents, hoping someone here can direct me to the pro2 ver2.0-pre8 Firmware maybe a URL? or email to me n4qnt@twc.com

Thank you,
Art
iw3fvz
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 9:19 am

Re: 2.6.9

Postby iw3fvz » Wed Jan 08, 2020 9:11 am

w-u-2-o wrote:Serial port CW keying connections are not working properly on 2.6.9 b6 (and using an 8000DLE with pre8).

1. The serial port CW PTT line function does not operate under any combination of CW modes and controls. Thetis does not go into a TX mode (and not emit RF) when the serial port CW PTT line is asserted. Expected behavior is that, with QSK OFF and Semi Break-In ON or OFF, asserting this signal should put the radio into TX mode but not emit RF energy.

2. With Semi Break-In disabled (unchecked), the serial port CW Key Line input also does not work. Expected behavior is that asserting this signal should put the radio into TX mode and emit RF energy, regardless of the state of the CW PTT signal.

3. With Semi Break-In enabled, QSK on or off, the serial port CW Key Line input does work. The radio goes to TX mode and emits RF energy. So that part is OK as long as Semi Break-In is enabled.
...



Problem like this... https://apache-labs.com/community/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=3142 ????
Fabio IW3FVZ
Anan 7000DLE, FW v2.0b, Thetis 2.6.9
Windows 10, dedicated network subnet, Ryzen 7 3700K, 16GB
NC3Z
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: Merritt, NC

Re: 2.6.9

Postby NC3Z » Wed Jan 08, 2020 12:12 pm

artcomm wrote:Hello Gents, hoping someone here can direct me to the pro2 ver2.0-pre8 Firmware maybe a URL? or email to me


Or you could just go to the Firmware part of this forum and get it yourself ;)

viewtopic.php?f=32&t=3192
Gary NC3Z
User avatar
artcomm
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:23 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby artcomm » Thu Jan 09, 2020 3:27 am

Thank you.. Got it
NC3Z
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: Merritt, NC

Re: 2.6.9

Postby NC3Z » Thu Jan 09, 2020 11:53 am

There is a wealth of info on this forum, but you sort of have to dig around. But Scott did make the important ones sticky at the top.
Gary NC3Z
User avatar
dl6eat
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 1:31 pm
Location: Ellerhoop - JO43VR
Contact:

Re: 2.6.9

Postby dl6eat » Sat Jan 11, 2020 5:10 pm

Hi Richie,

On Saturday, December 28th I came up with a question regarding the "non moving Worldmap". It appeared to me that either Sun Tracking and Gray Line Track are not moving at all, After some in-depth tests - and an info of a friend who tested that also - I have to correct this at least half way:

Once "Disable PicDisplay" is disabled and the Spot menu is enabled accordingly it's important to leave the "Spot" window open (do NOT close it!)! If it's still open and running Gray Line and Sun Tracking are moving every 2 minutes.

If it's not too much work it would be simply nice to have this option available on startup one day - as of now it disappears every time when closing Thetis.
May be it's simple and a check box can be implemented which allows auto-start?
Would be great as most HF operators are keen to see at least Gray Lines......right now we use Simon's WorldMap in an additional application.

Thanks for reading - 73,

Andy
Attachments
WorldMap2.jpg
WorldMap2.jpg (295.57 KiB) Viewed 5735 times
No knobs, Pure Signal and Thetis (open source)
ANAN 7000, ANAN 10, Intel NUC 8i7 32 GB + 16 GB Optane
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby ramdor » Sun Jan 12, 2020 6:00 am

UPDATE

link updated to c2_1

HI all,

Quick update, please try : link removed, see post #1 or latter posts

  • QSO timer settings added to Options2 tab until a sort out/tidy of the setup happens.
  • Left click on the timer on the status bar to enable/disable, or right click it to reset.
  • If 'only during mox' is enabled the left click start/stop has no effect and is purely driven by mox.
  • Reset on mox does just that, every time mox/tx starts the timer is reset.
  • The sound playing is very simple and uses the default sound device in windows. There may be future work to integrate this into a specific audio device and/or mix with other streams.
  • The timer flashes in status bar when expired, and also play the sound once if set in options
  • Tooltips have more info

Annotation 2020-01-12 164534.png
Annotation 2020-01-12 164534.png (23.07 KiB) Viewed 5541 times

Cheers, Richie.


(1/4/20) c2
-fix: TX profile was incorrectly being selected during saving/updating when modes use different profiles (thanks Ultimax for spotting this)
-add: spectral area gets surrounded in red if high swr
-change: statusbar clock updated once per second instead of 10 times per second
-add: QSO timer, left click start/stop, right click reset. When in Mox activation only mode left click is ignored. Flashing timer if elapsed, with optional sound played through default windows audio device
(1/4/20) c2_1
-add: auto timer reset on expiration + flash continuation, some other bits tidied
Last edited by ramdor on Mon Jan 20, 2020 6:47 am, edited 3 times in total.
NC3Z
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: Merritt, NC

Re: 2.6.9

Postby NC3Z » Sun Jan 12, 2020 1:47 pm

Nice Timer option. Once it is all working I can remove HamTimer that I use for this exact feature.

Any way you can add an option to reset once it hits the Expiration and count again?
Gary NC3Z
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby ramdor » Sun Jan 12, 2020 2:06 pm

NC3Z wrote:Any way you can add an option to reset once it hits the Expiration and count again?


yep, will do a repeat option, forgot about that :D
NC3Z
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: Merritt, NC

Re: 2.6.9

Postby NC3Z » Sun Jan 12, 2020 3:51 pm

Perfect! Will not need HamTimer anymore.
Gary NC3Z
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby ramdor » Sun Jan 12, 2020 4:48 pm

Update post above has new links to c2_1

73 Richie.
User avatar
W1AEX
Posts: 310
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:17 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: 2.6.9

Postby W1AEX » Sun Jan 12, 2020 5:14 pm

Thanks for C2_1 Richie. Love the QSO timer with auto-reset and how quick and easy it is to use. Everything is working very well with 2.6.9 (c2_1) here.

73, Rob W1AEX
"One thing I am certain of is that there is too much certainty in the world."
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby ramdor » Sun Jan 12, 2020 5:23 pm

W1AEX wrote:Thanks for C2_1 Richie. Love the QSO timer with auto-reset and how quick and easy it is to use. Everything is working very well with 2.6.9 (c2_1) here.

73, Rob W1AEX


nice one Rob. There may be some other ideas for it from others, but it seems to work ok. The audio playback is quite simple for now.

Richie.
w4cm
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 8:18 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby w4cm » Sun Jan 12, 2020 6:58 pm

Just some thoughts on the new option.

If the new timer was expanded into a full id'er option the other functions could be :
Keys radio and plays audio recorded file or cw id file.
Detects radio keyed and wait for un-key to play id
Option to sync with clock and id on the tens. This would sync all users on id time.

Thanks,
Cecil
W4CM
NC3Z
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: Merritt, NC

Re: 2.6.9

Postby NC3Z » Fri Jan 17, 2020 7:26 pm

Not sure where it broke but I am on c2_1 and Pre8 FW. I can no longer get Quick Record to play back over the air.

When in RX the audio will play when I hit Play, but if I am in TX it will not send the audio. I do see energy on the VOX meter, but not on any other meter.

I also observe the TX EQ turning off (as it should) when I tell it to play the audio during TX.

Anyone else try Quick Rec and playback to see if it works?
Gary NC3Z
User avatar
W1AEX
Posts: 310
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:17 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: 2.6.9

Postby W1AEX » Fri Jan 17, 2020 10:20 pm

Hi Gary,

I just hit the REC button, then stopped the recording and entered transmit, hit PLAY and it transmitted the wav file correctly. Seems to be working fine for me at this time. I'll try it again later and see if I can break it.

Rob
"One thing I am certain of is that there is too much certainty in the world."
cLicari
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:33 pm
Location: North Texas

Re: 2.6.9

Postby cLicari » Fri Jan 17, 2020 10:52 pm

NC3Z wrote:Not sure where it broke but I am on c2_1 and Pre8 FW. I can no longer get Quick Record to play back over the air.

When in RX the audio will play when I hit Play, but if I am in TX it will not send the audio. I do see energy on the VOX meter, but not on any other meter.

I also observe the TX EQ turning off (as it should) when I tell it to play the audio during TX.

Anyone else try Quick Rec and playback to see if it works?


Gary...
Same FW and Thetis ver on an 8000DLE. Record and playback works fine.

Carl
NX5T
Carl Licari
NX5T
Anan 8000DLE, FW v2.0 2b, Thetis 2.7.0 a2,
Windows 10, dedicated network subnet, Intel i7 8700K, 32GB, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060, Samsung 40" 4K display
NC3Z
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: Merritt, NC

Re: 2.6.9

Postby NC3Z » Fri Jan 17, 2020 11:57 pm

Thanks Rob and Carl, I will troubleshoot further with your feedback.
Gary NC3Z
User avatar
w2ner
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:14 am

Re: 2.6.9

Postby w2ner » Sat Jan 18, 2020 12:31 am

Mine works fine too on my 8000DLE
NC3Z
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: Merritt, NC

Re: 2.6.9

Postby NC3Z » Sat Jan 18, 2020 5:40 pm

After a DB reset it worked fine, re-import of my DB it broke. So did a DB reset and manually configured the DB (didnt take long) and now the Quick Rec/Playback works fine.

Small price to pay, but worth redoing the DB every so often with all these changes.
Gary NC3Z
User avatar
W1AEX
Posts: 310
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:17 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: 2.6.9

Postby W1AEX » Sat Jan 18, 2020 5:47 pm

Gary,

Glad that the fix was relatively easy. It might be worth opening a copy of the old database and a copy of your new one, side-by-side in Notepad ++ to let it do a line-by-line comparison to see what flag shows up as the culprit. Shouldn't take long to find it with a text search for QuickPlay or QuickRec along with other entries in the <WaveOptions> area of both databases.

Rob
"One thing I am certain of is that there is too much certainty in the world."
Jay
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 3:42 am

Re: 2.6.9

Postby Jay » Sat Jan 18, 2020 6:13 pm

Hi Everyone,
First I want to thank everyone involved for the huge Thetis upgrades! I am enjoying them very much and quite a ride to say the least! I am currently running Thetis 2.6.9 c2_1 and for the firmware version 2 pre 8. This Thread gets noticed more than most on the Apache community forums and I wanted to post here. Scott if you need to move my post to the below link that is OK. I know you reported some CW problems here and they could be related? This is a topic I am wanting to report has a thread started here:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3147

This was posted many months ago. No other replies. Most everyone is watching this Thread forum and they may not have noticed the above link before, the CW artifact, or maybe there is not many CW ops here on the Thetis forums?

For some time I have noticed this CW sidetone artifact in my setup doing the same thing during many software and firmware upgrades. So I don't think it is firmware related, but it could be? It is reported by some in private that this didn't happen under the old Open PowerSDR software.

If you have followed me this far, below are the symptoms while in CW with a sidetone glitch while under Semi Break-in.

With the rig into a dummy load and with the power turned all the way down you can hear an extra sidetone on keyup while in Semi Break-in. Like an extra burp of sidetone if you will. So this is not RFI related with the power turned down and into a dummy load.

Using both the internal Keyer or an external keyer you can hear this artifact both with and without the sidetone turned on while in Semi Break-in. To test what I am hearing, just key the rig with your paddle or key without the Sidetone turned on and you can hear a beep at the beginning of keyup in Semi Break-in. With the Sidetone turned on it is like a double beep at the beginning of keyup with a paddle in Semi Break-in.

It doesn't seem to happen while in QSK, but I don't like hearing the relaying clicking and clacking in the 8000 DLE in the QSK mode. ( I know Paul W9AC has a mod to quiet these down and think those relays are for PS?) It would be nice if there was some way to deactivate the relays for PS while in the CW mode. Anyway using MOX or PTT I don't hear this CW sidetone artifact.

I have tried various AGC and CW delay settings. Nothing really has help. Is anyone else noticing/hearing this artifact while in the CW Semi-Break-in mode?

Thank you all! Have a great weekend and 73 de w5jay/jay..
User avatar
W1JA
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:19 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby W1JA » Sat Jan 18, 2020 10:10 pm

Thank you Richie for the ID timer!

But, shouldn't it count down, rather than up? If it counted down, one would know at a glance how much time remains before an ID is needed.

73, John W1JA
NC3Z
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: Merritt, NC

Re: 2.6.9

Postby NC3Z » Sat Jan 18, 2020 10:44 pm

W1AEX wrote:Gary,

Glad that the fix was relatively easy. It might be worth opening a copy of the old database and a copy of your new one, side-by-side in Notepad ++


I suppose I could Rob but since it has been many updates and there are new things in the DB of each, it was just the right time to do a reset. Since I have screen captures of the dozen or so setup screens I make changes to it really is not much of a bother.
Gary NC3Z

Return to “Thetis”