ANAN-8000DLE - permanent ADC overload

DL5RBW
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2018 5:37 pm

ANAN-8000DLE - permanent ADC overload

Postby DL5RBW » Tue Sep 25, 2018 8:03 pm

Hello,

I got a strange phenomenon with an ANAN-8000DLE which I got a few days ago and wonder if it is just an operator error or something serious.

Here is the story:
When I used the radio the first time I noticed an "ADCx overload flag" on the 10 m band ( I don´t recall whether it was ADC1 or 2 but think it was ADC 1) and the spectrum looked very strange with obvious artefacts and a strange sound. When I set the attenuation from 0 dB to -20 dB the spectrum looked normal and some signals could be heard. I use the DL0IGI beacon on 28,205 MHz as a reference and it sounded good although a bit weak compared to my other radios. With the attenuation set to -10 dB or 0 dB the beacon disappeared in warbling noise. The even more strange thing was that the ADC overload message still was present even with the antenna disconnected.

No such effect was being observed on the other bands although I expected 40 m and 20 m the worst while there is hardly any activity on 10 m. After operating the radio for 2 days now I realized today that the ADC overload message shows up on any band now and stays even with the antenna disconnected. No matter which setting I use on the attenuator the ADC overload message stays. On 10 m I cannot hear the beacon as it is masked by noise while on the other bands like 20 m or 80 m for example I don´t have any problems to hear signals (although ADC overload is blinking there too).

By playing around with the filter settings I found that as soon as I disable the ALEX button reception on 10 m is back and the beacon is at the level that I am used to from the other radios. As soon as I activate the ALEX button the 10 m beacon disappears in the noise. On 20 m for example enabling or disabling the ALEX button doesn´t change the reception.

So in a few words - 10 m has been problematic from the beginning and became worse (no attenuation setting & ALEX enabled brings back the reception now while at the beginning attenuation helped to restore reception) while the other bands show ADC overload too but ALEX seems to have no impact on the reception.

I also made a newstart with the computer, turned off the radio etc. but the ADC overload message comes and stays as soon as I enable ALEX even with the antenna disconnected.

One more thing I want to mention is that I hooked up my amplifier this afternoon and it seems to me that the problem is somehow related to that but maybe only coincidence. No other antenna than the main antenna (ANT 1) was connected to the radio so rf pickup thru a second receive antenna was not possible.

My understanding is that with ALEX enabled overloading should be less likely due to the preselector action. However as soon as I am enabling it I am loosing reception on 10 m and getting the overload message (ADC1 on some bands, ADC2 on other bands).

The radio is working fine except for the fact that its behaviour changed within one day and that disabling the preselector (?) makes the radio work fine while with the preselector enabled I get this ADC overload flag which is the opposite of my understanding.

WU2O just recently referred to the ALEX button, preselector and RX2 - maybe that is linked to this problem too.

73 Roger, DL5RBW
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1172
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: ANAN-8000DLE - permanent ADC overload

Postby w-u-2-o » Tue Sep 25, 2018 9:50 pm

Check the power supply voltage going into the radio right at the power connector on the back of the radio. Is it OK?
DL5RBW
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2018 5:37 pm

Re: ANAN-8000DLE - permanent ADC overload

Postby DL5RBW » Wed Sep 26, 2018 6:02 am

Yes the voltage is o.k. - it measures 13,9 V. After moving around the bands for a while yesterday I enabled ALEX again and again and all of a sudden the "ADC Overload" flag was gone on all bands but 10 m. Even with the attenuator set to 0 dB I could not provoke an "overload". On 10 m with attenuation set to 0 dB I hear the beacon coming in S3 (ALEX disabled) but with ALEX enabled it is completely masked by noise. 10 dB attenuation and still no signal. Only with 20 dB the beacon just becomes audible by coming out of the noise. Disabling ALEX with the 20 dB attenuator setting does not change the noisefloor or the signal to noise ratio of the beacons signal. With 0 dB attenuation and ALEX disabled the noise floor is -128 dBm (CW - 500 Hz bandwidth) and I have perfect reception of the signals on 10 m while with ALEX enabled the nosie floor jumps to -120 dBm, the ADC1 Overload flag flashes, the beacon signal disappears and I hear warbling sound. When enabling ALEX on 10 m it sounds like a preamp is switched in and increases the noise floor however it is only artificial as I can see the spur of the beacon completely disappear (with attenuation at 0 dB).

So basically the radio behaves like it did the first time I turned it on however the 10 m issue is a stable problem antenna connected or not doesn´t matter.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1172
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: ANAN-8000DLE - permanent ADC overload

Postby w-u-2-o » Wed Sep 26, 2018 1:31 pm

Grasping at straws:

1. Try exporting and then resetting your database in PowerSDR. If that doesn't work, you can re-import your saved database.

2. Try re-loading your firmware.
DL5RBW
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2018 5:37 pm

Re: ANAN-8000DLE - permanent ADC overload

Postby DL5RBW » Mon Oct 01, 2018 7:51 pm

he version shown in the ANAN display says V1.08.

I found firmware versions for the ORION MkII board here:

https://github.com/TAPR/OpenHPSDR-Firmw ... AN-8000DLE)/previous%20Orion%20MkII%20NP%20versions

However I cannot find V1.08 or any newer version if available.

Meanwhile the radio on 10 & 12 m (same bandpass) reports

Overload ADC
Overload ADC1
Overload ADC2

alternately even without antenna. All other bands including 6 m are o.k.

So I tend to believe WU2O´s suggestion that the firmware maybe corrupted as the ADCs are working fine on all other bands and the problem is limited to one bandpass path only (10 & 12 m). When activating RX2 it seems to be affected by RX1 and also shows some artefacts.

Any other suggestions before I need to go and try to restore the firmware? It would be the last thing I want to do as I really have mixed feelings about the idea to finally end up with another problem.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1172
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: ANAN-8000DLE - permanent ADC overload

Postby w-u-2-o » Tue Oct 02, 2018 2:56 pm

"1.08" is the version of the firmware used in the Arduino processor that runs the LCD display. It has nothing to do with the firmware on the Orion MKII board. To know what's on the Orion, look at Setup > General > Hardware Config in PowerSDR.

See the "sticky" threads here for a lot of good info if you are unfamiliar with loading firmware:

https://apache-labs.com/community/viewforum.php?f=18
DL8LAQ
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:28 pm

Re: ANAN-8000DLE - permanent ADC overload

Postby DL8LAQ » Sun Oct 07, 2018 11:56 am

Check if the 6-m-preamp is enabled even if you are not on the 6-m-band! That could be a database fault too.

73, Norbert
DL5RBW
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2018 5:37 pm

Re: ANAN-8000DLE - permanent ADC overload

Postby DL5RBW » Mon Oct 08, 2018 8:13 pm

The 6 m preamp is disabled on TX but not on RX (these are still the default values which I didn´t change)

ALEX enabled
Checking the RX box on "Disable 6 m LNA" doesn´t change anything. Same with "LNA 15/12/10M". No change in the artificial noise floor nor do I hear a relay clicking when enabling the "LNA 15/12/10M".

ALEX disabled
However as soon as I disable ALEX I hear a relay clicking (when disabling ALEX) and I hear a relay clicking (as I would expect) as soon as I enable "LNA 15/12/10M". The LNA for 15/12/10M is working fine - the noise floor drops and the beacons signal becomes much stronger.

So basically everything (I checked so far) is working o.k. except for ALEX on 12 & 10 m.

What about you other ANAN-8000DLE owners out there - does your radio behave normal on 12 & 10 m (no ADC OVERLOAD flag) if you enable ALEX on those bands?

Return to “PowerSDR mRX”