ANAN-10E no audio out

n1mgo
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 1:22 pm

ANAN-10E no audio out

Postby n1mgo » Mon Aug 14, 2017 3:32 pm

I have no audio out the frontpanel Headphone jack, or the rear panel connector.
Any other suggestions from anyone? (I do have audio via the computer and VMB to my computer speakers and software)
Thanks,
Gordon - N1MGO
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: ANAN-10E no audio out

Postby w-u-2-o » Mon Aug 14, 2017 3:48 pm

If VAC audio is working, then RX1 AF is correct, as is SQL level and state.

That leaves Master AF and MUT, as those only affect the headphone and speaker outputs on the radio, they have no effect on VAC audio. It seems very obvious to mention them, and I'm sure that you have adjusted both of those correctly, just trying to be complete.

The accessory, speaker and headphone connectors are all soldered directly to the Hermes circuit card. There are no internal cables or connectors that may have come loose or to check.

If Master AF, RX1 AF, MUT and SQL are all set appropriately, then last ditch efforts include reloading the firmware and resetting the database. If you take both of those actions and their is still no output from the headphone or speaker connectors, then it would seem that the CODEC chip on the Hermes board has failed.

73,

Scott
n1mgo
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 1:22 pm

Re: ANAN-10E no audio out

Postby n1mgo » Mon Aug 14, 2017 4:06 pm

I have not reset the database yet. If I connect with my other computer, is the database different? Or do I still have to reset?
Interesting problem! Will do more checking when I get home from work.
Gordon - N1MGO
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: ANAN-10E no audio out

Postby w-u-2-o » Mon Aug 14, 2017 5:50 pm

Gordon,

Each PC that has an installation of PowerSDR mRX has its own database. The database is associated with the operation of PowerSDR mRX and stores all of the configuration and state information for PowerSDR mRX. It is stored on the PC, not in the radio.

73,

Scott
n1mgo
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 1:22 pm

Re: ANAN-10E no audio out

Postby n1mgo » Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:11 pm

I reset the database, still no audio out the headphone jack or the speaker jack in back. I guess I will have to dig into the schematics now and look at the hardware.
Thanks for the help and suggestions.
Gordon - N1MGO
AB2EZ
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 2:29 pm
Location: Princeton, NJ

Re: ANAN-10E no audio out

Postby AB2EZ » Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:57 pm

Gordon

Also... try reinstalling the firmware. Note that the firmware sits in the control path that (for example) mutes the front panel output from the audio codec.

Stu
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: ANAN-10E no audio out

Postby w-u-2-o » Fri Aug 18, 2017 5:48 pm

Thanks for reminding Gordon, Stu. I posted the same thing a few posts above. I guess he missed it.
n1mgo
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 1:22 pm

Re: ANAN-10E no audio out

Postby n1mgo » Sat Aug 19, 2017 7:36 am

I will try reloading the firmware, nothing else has helped so far. Thanks for all the pointers and help.
Gordon - N1MGO
PS: This was a used radio when I bought it, so the audio out may have been broken when I bought it, the audio out has never worked for me yet.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: ANAN-10E no audio out

Postby w-u-2-o » Sat Aug 19, 2017 11:50 am

See here for links to the latest firmware and instructions on how to load it. With the 10E you will need to use Bootloader, open it up, move the jumper, etc. The 10E FPGA is too small to support the code for HPSDR Programmer.
n1mgo
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 1:22 pm

Re: ANAN-10E no audio out

Postby n1mgo » Sat Aug 19, 2017 7:38 pm

I reloaded the firmware (version 1.5), no change. Still no audio out, looked at the board and all looks correct. I will need to use a scope to chase it down from here. I may just leave it and use just the VAC like I have been doing. I had thought to use a headset with some CW. I had been using the ANAN-10E for just digitial modes, and using my K3 for others.
I'm still undecided what to do at this point.
Thanks for all the pointers and the help!
Gordon - N1MGO
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: ANAN-10E no audio out

Postby w-u-2-o » Sat Aug 19, 2017 9:57 pm

Have you tried plugging in a microphone (with properly configured wiring and jumpers, per the user guide)? That way you could see if the CODEC was at least working in the transmit direction.

It's quite common to blow out the TPA0202 speaker amplifier chip by plugging in something that grounds the tip or ring of the "speaker" connector, but that should not affect the headphone output, which comes right from the CODEC chip.

Return to “Microphones, Speakers & Audio Hardware”