Console and the 8000DLE - Defintion

NI0Z
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2017 11:44 pm

Console and the 8000DLE - Defintion

Postby NI0Z » Mon Aug 07, 2017 7:16 pm

How do I get Console to recognize my radio and setup the definition? I am trying to give this a run before I wrap up the *K review for SDRZone and would like to get a few hours logged with it before I finish my write up.

Protocol 2 is loaded V 1.2 and Thetis works with it.
WinPcap is loaded.
Radio is hooked to switch as is computer

Thoughts?

Thanks!
NI0Z
User avatar
Simon
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:19 pm
Location: Mawnan Smith
Contact:

Re: Console and the 8000DLE - Defintion

Postby Simon » Mon Aug 07, 2017 8:32 pm

NI0Z wrote:How do I get Console to recognize my radio and setup the definition? I am trying to give this a run before I wrap up the *K review for SDRZone and would like to get a few hours logged with it before I finish my write up.

Protocol 2 is loaded V 1.2 and Thetis works with it.
WinPcap is loaded.
Radio is hooked to switch as is computer

Thoughts?

Thanks!
NI0Z


Which kit are you using - date, build etc.?
sdr-radio.com
NI0Z
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2017 11:44 pm

Re: Console and the 8000DLE - Defintion

Postby NI0Z » Mon Aug 07, 2017 8:47 pm

Thanks for getting back to me,

it build 811 June 16 2017 21:20:51

I might have found issue, I didnt install it on the C drive. either that or I have to restart the 8000 until it is seen, I am reinstalling now to c if its the C drive.

Many thanks!
73
Mark, NI0Z
User avatar
Simon
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:19 pm
Location: Mawnan Smith
Contact:

Re: Console and the 8000DLE - Defintion

Postby Simon » Mon Aug 07, 2017 9:09 pm

NI0Z wrote:Thanks for getting back to me,

it build 811 June 16 2017 21:20:51

I might have found issue, I didnt install it on the C drive. either that or I have to restart the 8000 until it is seen, I am reinstalling now to c if its the C drive.

Many thanks!
73
Mark, NI0Z


June 16 should see the 8000 OK. If you have problems we can talk on SKYPE...
sdr-radio.com
NI0Z
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2017 11:44 pm

Re: Console and the 8000DLE - Defintion

Postby NI0Z » Mon Aug 07, 2017 9:13 pm

I got it to see it for getting a definition, however it keeps coming back after I hit start saying it cant find the radio at the IP address its at. I can go straight to Thetis and it will fire up.

Thetis I discovered doesn't like that I have two Network adapters active, turning off one of them makes it work stable now.

I sent a request to add you to contacts and will try skyping tomorrow when its a more reasonable hour for you. Thanks again for your help!

73
NI0Z
w4kcn
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 2:56 pm

Re: Console and the 8000DLE - Defintion

Postby w4kcn » Sat Jan 13, 2018 4:23 pm

A bit late but wanted to add...

I was getting the same behavior on my 7000. V3 could add the radio to the definitions, but couldn't find the radio to start.

Per Scott's recommendation, I set the NIC metric to 1 on my main NIC card and v3 was able to connect.

https://pandapow.co/how-to/win10-set-network-adapter-metric/
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1142
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Console and the 8000DLE - Defintion

Postby w-u-2-o » Sat Jan 13, 2018 4:44 pm

Nothing will work right if you have multiple network interface cards (NICs, and don't forget WiFi counts as one) and don't have your network metrics manually set. This is because PowerSDR, HPSDR Programmer, HPSDR Bootloader and, apparently, SDR Console, are not very smart about multiple NICs and will only look at the one with the lowest metric (it's like golf: low score wins ;) )

To set you network metrics manually on multiple NICs, Rob has an excellent tutorial here:

http://www.w1aex.com/anan/anan.html#metric

Return to “SDR Console”