Seq Errors Explained

User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 5539
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Seq Errors Explained

Postby w-u-2-o » Wed May 08, 2019 1:03 pm

"Seq" errors are shown when a packets are missing from the UDP packet stream coming FROM the hardware TO the PC. Packets associated with each DDC stream and mic stream are given sequential packet numbers, hence the "Seq" designation. Different Seq error codes are assigned to each stream.

Updated 18 Oct 2020: There is no longer any need to report on Seq errors or out of order packets. UDP is used to move data over the Ethernet connection between the hardware and the PC. As far as anyone can determine, the UDP protocol stack is as optimized as it can be. UDP is a lossy protocol, and the Windows UDP protocol stack sometimes gets weird about things, too. There will always be a low error rate, and therefore there will always be a small number of Seq errors.

Originally it was thought that the encoding of Seq error indications would have some value, and initially it did, but their value is now somewhat limited because now they are caused by the limits of the UDP protocol rather than specific problems in a specific area of the code. Seeing these occasionally has not proven to result in audible artifacts. However, when things are going badly wrong (elevated noise floors, diversity not working, lots of audible artifacts, usually some gross and obvious type of problem) and you see a lot of Seq errors, the cause is probably the use of a version of firmware that is not working well (not making timing closure) on your specific hardware. Try different firmware.

If you want to disable Seq error indications, go to Setup > Tests > Show SEQ Log and enable "Status bar warning on -VE only". This will disable all Seq error indications except for the very, very rare occurrence of out of order packets.

Right out of the source code, here is the Seq error "decoder ring":

image001.jpg
image001.jpg (24.54 KiB) Viewed 100735 times

The error codes are additive. For example, if there are Seq errors the DDC1 and DDC2 streams then you will see a Seq error code of 12.

73,

Scott
User avatar
artcomm
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:23 pm

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby artcomm » Fri Jun 07, 2019 2:22 pm

Hello Scott, lately with Thetis 2.6.7 w/pro2 v1.9 the only Seq errors I experience is =8 & =40 on receive and notice white noise pop's from my headphone or speakers when the errors start flashing... I'll power down the 7K MII non-pc, reboot the PC and 5 to 10 mins it's starts again.. Any thoughts on these Seq Errors..

Thank you,
Art
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 5539
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby w-u-2-o » Fri Jun 07, 2019 2:47 pm

Art,

It is possible that as the radio heats up the timing of the FPGA changes. Has it been warmer in your shack now that summer is upon us?

73,

Scott
User avatar
artcomm
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:23 pm

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby artcomm » Fri Jun 07, 2019 4:14 pm

Hello Scott, thank you for your fast response. Very interesting about a potential heat problem, my room is usually cool at 72 with the AC on all time. When using Mrx PSDR or the Console V3 after shuffling firmware's for testing of course we don’t see Seq Error reporting, but I never get that white noise or popping effects on receive.. Only with Thetis with prior or latest firmware.. So I’m confused if this is a hardware (heat) or software/firmware issue...
Last edited by artcomm on Sat Jun 08, 2019 2:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 5539
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby w-u-2-o » Fri Jun 07, 2019 5:02 pm

Seq errors are not reported by PowerSDR (as far as I know) or SDR Console, so you won't see them there even if they exist.
User avatar
artcomm
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:23 pm

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby artcomm » Fri Jun 07, 2019 5:22 pm

Exactly Scott, the rub is... I don’t hear the white noise pops when using the other software.. Only happens with Thetis.. Is this something that is being addressed? I read some post with other users with Thetis and Sequence Errors =8 =40 and white noise when the errors appear...

Thank you
Art
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 5539
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby w-u-2-o » Sun Jun 09, 2019 1:00 pm

Art,

See this topic:

https://apache-labs.com/community/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=2952

I'm guessing that the problem is blocked process threads when running Thetis.

73,

Scott
User avatar
artcomm
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:23 pm

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby artcomm » Mon Jun 10, 2019 7:36 pm

Hi Scott, thank you for your insight with my questions.. Seem's like after flashing the latest Pro2 v2.0 (Pre-2) firmware and complete uninstall of Thetis via Rev-uninstall and also after clean install and reset the database to start from scratch, the last two day's have been Joy. Not one Error Code and also like to report that pure signal has been flawless..

Take care,
Art N4QNT :D
Hugo
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2020 2:05 pm

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby Hugo » Thu Apr 30, 2020 12:44 am

errorcode.jpg
errorcode.jpg (1.04 MiB) Viewed 90542 times


I'M getting this error code any suggestions? Running ANAN 7000DLE MKII

Hugo
K7HJE
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 5539
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby w-u-2-o » Thu Apr 30, 2020 1:17 am

If there are no audio glitches that you or anyone else can hear on your transmitted audio then don't worry about it.
PD3LK
Posts: 194
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 8:45 pm
Location: Apeldoorn, NLD

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby PD3LK » Thu Apr 30, 2020 9:16 am

I can't say if this will help others but it certainly helped me.... i got rid of all Cat5e cables in the house and replaced them with MUCH BETTER shielded CAT7 cables. No more hickup's in SDR datastreams (i.e. my 7000) and the rigs are better protected against RF while TX'ing.
73, PD3LK
73 PD3LK Leon
g3ziy
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2020 11:19 am

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby g3ziy » Sun Aug 30, 2020 11:12 am

As requested, negative numbers spotted and reported:
DCC2
s0=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 41 0 0 0 r:7241262 l:7241220 08/30 11:45:55:770
s1=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 2 r:7123944 l:7123941 08/30 11:44:43:058
s2=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 r:7123941 l:7123938 08/30 11:44:43:058
s3=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 r:7123938 l:7123936 08/30 11:44:43:058
s4=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 r:2639377 l:2639374 08/30 10:58:23:564
s5=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 r:2639374 l:2639372 08/30 10:58:23:564

DCC0
s0=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 42 r:1249002 l:1248959 08/30 11:45:55:770
s1=0 0 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:1131684 l:1131681 08/30 11:44:43:058
s2=0 0 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:1131681 l:1131677 08/30 11:44:43:058
s3=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 r:612275 l:612272 08/30 10:58:23:564
s4=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 -1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:7245 l:7245 08/30 10:36:36:258

DCC2
s0=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 2 r:7123944 l:7123941 08/30 11:44:43:058
s1=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 r:7123941 l:7123938 08/30 11:44:43:058
s2=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 r:7123938 l:7123936 08/30 11:44:43:058
s3=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 r:2639377 l:2639374 08/30 10:58:23:564
s4=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 r:2639374 l:2639372 08/30 10:58:23:564

DCC0
s0=0 0 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:1131684 l:1131681 08/30 11:44:43:058
s1=0 0 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:1131681 l:1131677 08/30 11:44:43:058
s2=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 r:612275 l:612272 08/30 10:58:23:564
s3=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 -1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:7245 l:7245 08/30 10:36:36:258

DCC2
s0=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 r:2639377 l:2639374 08/30 10:58:23:564
s1=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 r:2639374 l:2639372 08/30 10:58:23:564

DCC0
s0=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 r:612275 l:612272 08/30 10:58:23:564
s1=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 -1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:7245 l:7245 08/30 10:36:36:258

DCC0
s0=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 -1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:7245 l:7245 08/30 10:36:36:258
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 5539
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby w-u-2-o » Sun Aug 30, 2020 11:29 am

There's no longer any need to report out on negative numbers.
User avatar
artcomm
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:23 pm

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby artcomm » Sun Aug 30, 2020 5:00 pm

No more posting log errors.. Is there a fix now? Any new Thetis updates? we should know about. Feel like Abandon-Ware Soft & Firm ??????
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 5539
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby w-u-2-o » Sun Aug 30, 2020 6:14 pm

There is no fix unless a developer steps up to change the core communications protocol of both the software and firmware to use TCP/IP instead of the lossy UDP.

As for any abandonment, you must remember that all software and firmware comes from volunteer developers, not Apache. If no one is interested in adding features then the rest of us non-developer types are stuck. Development tends to be in spurts. Right now, between the presence of summertime in the northern hemisphere and the pandemic, it seems any would be developers have other interests.
w8du
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2019 11:36 pm

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby w8du » Tue Sep 15, 2020 3:21 pm

SO, does this mean anything of consequence?
SEQ=>8 (DDC2)
I am running Anan 7000DLE MkII with Thetis 2.7.0 and latest Protocol 2 firmware?
Just starting noticing this red intermittent warning flashing on screen. Have made no changes to hardware, networking or software that I know of.

Tnx de Arnie W8DU
w8du
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2019 11:36 pm

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby w8du » Fri Sep 25, 2020 5:10 pm

I am getting almost continuous SEQ=>8 DDC2 errors and a little less frequent SEQ=>264 DDC2 errors. The odd part, at least to me, is that I don't hear any audio dropouts or distortion. In fact, FT8 works just fine which I would think would not happen if the audio was dropping out or distorted. Does anyone have any suggestions as to how to get rid of the error notices or whether I should just ignore them?
FWIW, I am running 7000DLEMkII, non-black version, with Thetis 2.7.0 and P2v2.0b.
Thanks...Arnie W8DU
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 5539
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby w-u-2-o » Sat Sep 26, 2020 1:17 am

If the seq errors are bothering you then the only thing you can do is to try different versions of the firmware to see if you can find one that better makes timing on your specific serial number hardware.
User avatar
artcomm
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:23 pm

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby artcomm » Sat Sep 26, 2020 12:45 pm

If the Seq errors are not causing artifacts in the TX audio and FT8 and we're tired of seeing the reported code errors, what I did here is go into Setup/Appearance/RX Display, and on the top right side under Cursor/Peak Readout select Background drop down arrow and choose the Gray color. It put's an overlay on the report bar below the waterfall panel. You can still see the -dBm and frequency info are the left side of the bar but covers up the reported fonts..
w8du
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2019 11:36 pm

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby w8du » Sun Sep 27, 2020 1:46 pm

Scott, thank you for your reply. To be clear, it is not that the SEQ errors bother me, it is just that I want to make sure they are not indicating some problem that needs to be taken care of. That, I still don't know.
73 de Arnie W8DU
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 5539
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby w-u-2-o » Sun Sep 27, 2020 2:51 pm

Arnie,

Seq errors clearly indicate lost data. It would be better not to lose the data even if you can't hear or otherwise detect its loss. So from that perspective it may be worth trying other versions of the firmware.

73,

Scott
User avatar
PaulManc
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2020 11:08 pm
Location: England

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby PaulManc » Sun Sep 27, 2020 6:57 pm

w8du wrote:Scott, thank you for your reply. To be clear, it is not that the SEQ errors bother me, it is just that I want to make sure they are not indicating some problem that needs to be taken care of. That, I still don't know.
73 de Arnie W8DU


Evening Arnie,

I would be Interested to know if you changed the firmware and what the results were please. I'm also using V2.0b.

I am getting errors but only when pure signal is engaged. An SSB transmission will look okay providing feedback and then almost like the noise floor raises for a split second thats when I always get an error? Im wondering if my internal settings are correct and im not overtaxing the resources to cause the issue. eg) Display>General> Driver Engine GDI+ & Normal

TIA

Regards
Paul
Manchester
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 5539
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby w-u-2-o » Sun Sep 27, 2020 9:33 pm

Paul,

Unless your CPU utilization is crazy high, that's an indication that the version of firmware you are running is not making timing. Try another version. There are plenty to choose from in the P2 7000 firmware thread.

73,

Scott
User avatar
PaulManc
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2020 11:08 pm
Location: England

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby PaulManc » Mon Sep 28, 2020 8:11 pm

I am sure you are correct, Scott.

Before I do....one thing bugging me is my Cat5e cable going downstairs to my router around 30ft. Ive been thinking about installing a seperate intel gigabit network card in my PC (configuring as per Rob w1aex) and then running a short cat6/7 cable to the 7000dle mkii. Could this improve my chances or is it wishful thinking?

TIA
Paul
Manchester
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 5539
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby w-u-2-o » Mon Sep 28, 2020 9:56 pm

Probably wishful thinking. I've got a 100ft of plain old unshielded CAT5 running GigE no problem to my switch and radio. However, some people who have a lot of RF in the house/shack have reported they found running CAT6 shielded wire to make a difference.

I'd try the different firmware first. You can try 3 or 4 versions in an hour and potentially save you a whole bunch of time and money.
K9GAS
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2019 6:22 pm

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby K9GAS » Fri Oct 02, 2020 9:54 am

I'd like to jump into this thread if it's okay.
I just started getting these seq=>256 (CC DDC2 Mic)
I have almost a lock up situation, glitchy audio and video.
I've had no problems with Thetis v2.7.0 (3/1/20) till now.
Is this an indication I need to change firmware and reload?
It's pretty unusable at this time.
I have the 7000DLE MKII I7
Thanks
Jerry K9GAS
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 5539
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby w-u-2-o » Fri Oct 02, 2020 6:45 pm

If you had no problems with your current firmware then there is no reason to change it as the problem must be somewhere else.

If you are worried that the firmware somehow became corrupted you can try reloading the same version again.

Have you experienced a Windows Update lately?
K9GAS
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2019 6:22 pm

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby K9GAS » Sat Oct 03, 2020 1:35 am

thanks Scott, I've traced to the operating system. I fired up my other computer, same version, different hardware.
No problems, so I'm thinking it may have updated, though I usually have the auto update turned off. I don't think it's the firmware or
the hardware itself, but some corruption in the windows itself. I'll start tinkering with it when I get back from a few day trip.
AG5CK
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2019 6:52 pm

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby AG5CK » Sat Oct 03, 2020 12:19 pm

Do you have antivirus software? I was getting seq errors when using puresignal. I just realized that I haven't had any errors since my Kaspersky antivirus expired and I installed McAfee.

I immediately noticed that getting rid of Kaspersky solved another little quirk. If the rig was left idle for a few minutes and I clicked on the panadapter to change frequency it wouldn't do it on the first click. Say I was on 3.920and clicked 3.910. The frequency display would change to 3.910 but I was still receiving on 3.920. When I click 3.910 again it would jump to 3.900.
K9GAS
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2019 6:22 pm

Re: Seq Errors Explained

Postby K9GAS » Mon Oct 05, 2020 9:00 pm

I don't run any external virus software, I usually just disable my internet connection for security as I don't do much of web stuff on this box.
It turns out this switched to WIFI as the ethernet has issues. I did some packet checks and it's really slow on the PC side of the ethernet. I haven't looked inside of these I7 Anan how they're set up. I just back from a trip so I'm just getting where I can look into what might be happening.
Thanks Jerry

Return to “Thetis”