ADC settings moving from PowerSDR

Buck
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:57 pm

ADC settings moving from PowerSDR

Postby Buck » Sun May 10, 2020 6:38 pm

When running PowerSDR on my 200D, I had the ADC tab set this way:

adc.JPG
adc.JPG (48.33 KiB) Viewed 1511 times


What would be the corresponding setting in Thetis? Thanks.

ko0y
NC3Z
Posts: 248
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: Merritt, NC

Re: ADC settings moving from PowerSDR

Postby NC3Z » Sun May 10, 2020 6:42 pm

Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (80.93 KiB) Viewed 1509 times
Gary NC3Z
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2599
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: ADC settings moving from PowerSDR

Postby w-u-2-o » Sun May 10, 2020 7:01 pm

Actually, I think it would be all ADC0 across the board.

This assumes you want RX1 and RX2 to be assigned to the same ADC, of course, which is what you had in PowerSDR.
Bryan W4WMT
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 10:12 pm

Re: ADC settings moving from PowerSDR

Postby Bryan W4WMT » Tue May 12, 2020 9:59 am

Come to think of it, I cannot remember what the DDC assignments are in P2/Thetis and a quick forum search did not turn up much. Is that documented anywhere?

73
Buck
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:57 pm

Re: ADC settings moving from PowerSDR

Postby Buck » Tue May 12, 2020 1:43 pm

All ADC0 is correct for my case. Thanks, wu2o.

ko0y Buck
User avatar
W1JA
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:19 pm

Re: ADC settings moving from PowerSDR

Postby W1JA » Mon Aug 03, 2020 9:16 pm

I'm just curious: Why would one want RX2, with its separate antenna input, assigned to the same ADC as RX1?

73, John
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2599
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: ADC settings moving from PowerSDR

Postby w-u-2-o » Mon Aug 03, 2020 10:15 pm

Because that is the easiest way you can use both receivers at the same time off of the same antenna.

Note that if you are going to do this in order to monitor two different bands simultaneously you need to bypass the preselector. Of course the third order preselector filters don't massively attenuate the out of band signals, but there is some.

I used to have a second antenna that I could use for beam forming (erroneously called diversity). However I changed the antennas around and no longer have that antenna. Now I have both receivers routed to the same ADC and most often use it to choose a new frequency on a new band prior to QSYing the ongoing QSO to that new band to see if conditions might be better. Some folks like to monitor two bands on the same antenna simultaneously to chase DX, merely doing a VFO swap to get the desired band up onto RX1 where they can then transmit on that freq.

Certainly there are additional uses I have not thought of!

Return to “Thetis”