Thetis 2.8.11 - CWSkimmer

User avatar
iw7dmh
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2018 1:18 pm
Location: LECCE - ITALY
Contact:

Thetis 2.8.11 - CWSkimmer

Postby iw7dmh » Fri Jun 04, 2021 5:49 pm

Hi,

I am having some problems making Thetis 2.8.11 and CW-Skimmer 2.1 working together.
I followed the guidelines by Rafael, NN3RP, that I found in a previous tread https://apache-labs.com/community/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3273&p=11252:

CW-Skimmer can read Thetis frequency (via Omnirig-TS2000) but signals in its waterfall aren't in sync with the ones in Thetis. Maybe I am missing something but I have the same issue running Thetis 2.6.9 and CW-Skimmer.
The settings I am using are in the pictures below.

I am wondering if someone would like to share again the settings for Thetis 2.8.1 and CW-Skimmer.

Also, as I am not using cw-skimmer from a long time now, I would like to understand the mathematic relation between the samplerate in the VAC settings panel and the samplerate in the CW_Skimmer "Radio" panel. Is it right having 48000 KHz in Thetis and 192 KHz in CW-Skimmer (here a link to other docs is fine as well).

My rig is a Anan 7000-DLE (blue), CW Pitch is 530 Hz and the OS is W10-x64.

Any help will be appreciated.

73' Enzo, iw7dmh

Thetis-Audio-Cat.png
Thetis-Audio-Cat.png (63.47 KiB) Viewed 701 times


CW-Skimmer-VAC.png
CW-Skimmer-VAC.png (51.65 KiB) Viewed 701 times
sv1jso
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 7:06 pm

Re: Thetis 2.8.11 - CWSkimmer

Postby sv1jso » Fri Jun 04, 2021 8:36 pm

Hi Enzo,

Ctune must be disabled.
Sample rate must be the same in thetis vac and cwskimmer.

Mike
User avatar
iw7dmh
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2018 1:18 pm
Location: LECCE - ITALY
Contact:

Re: Thetis 2.8.11 - CWSkimmer

Postby iw7dmh » Sat Jun 05, 2021 6:35 am

Hello Mike,

thank you very much for your hints.
It works very well now. :)

Best 73'
Enzo
User avatar
iw7dmh
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2018 1:18 pm
Location: LECCE - ITALY
Contact:

Re: Thetis 2.8.11 - CWSkimmer

Postby iw7dmh » Tue Jun 08, 2021 4:25 pm

Hi,

another dumb question: is it correct I can't have a permant storage of the Audio-VAC1 settings?
Each time I restart Thetis I have to check the following three flags:
- Stereo
- Combine VAC Input Channels
- Direct I/Q - Combine VAC Input Channels

Also, what is the general rule in running Thetis? Do i need to set the flag "Run as Administrator"?

Thank you and 73'
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 3079
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Thetis 2.8.11 - CWSkimmer

Postby w-u-2-o » Tue Jun 08, 2021 6:18 pm

VAC settings are stored as part of your transmit profile. Just save a profile with the settings you want. You may wish to turn off the automatic profile save features in order to prevent unintended changes.

You do not need to run as admin.
User avatar
iw7dmh
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2018 1:18 pm
Location: LECCE - ITALY
Contact:

Re: Thetis 2.8.11 - CWSkimmer

Postby iw7dmh » Thu Jun 10, 2021 12:10 pm

Thank you very much.
It works fine (y)

73'
User avatar
LarryW
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 11:19 pm
Location: Garden Valley Idaho

Re: Thetis 2.8.11 - CWSkimmer

Postby LarryW » Thu Jun 10, 2021 1:55 pm

I found it 1000 times easier to have a different radio for all my digital stuff---You cant beat the Flex for it's simplicity.
I will soon be adding the SunSDR2 DX to the battle field---- will see how it plays!
7000 mkll Thetis v2.7.0 (3/1/20)
P1_v2.0b
Dell XPS 8930 i5-9400/Behringer 202HD/Audio-Technica BPHS2 headset, USB PTT, Behringer XR 12 (Rack in a Box)
User avatar
oe3ide
Posts: 147
Joined: Tue May 05, 2020 8:36 am
Location: JN78XK
Contact:

Re: Thetis 2.8.11 - CWSkimmer

Postby oe3ide » Thu Jun 10, 2021 2:29 pm

Here on my setup, 2 button-clicks and all is set for FT8 :-)

In LogHX3 I click on on "WSJTx", this sends the mode-change and the tx-profile-change to Thetis and starts WSJTx
On my control-tablet (using wifi-streamdeck app) I click on "FT8" (this changes some routing in VMP) and all is up & running for FT8.

Back to SSB/CW only 2 clicks:
Close WSJTx, LogHX automatically changes back the mode and the tx-profile.
Click on FT8 (switch off FT8) on my control-tablet, restores the "normal" VMP routing.

Much easier then on my previous setup (FT-2000 + SCU17 interface)

Return to “Thetis”