What client software are YOU using ??

OH0KCE

What client software are YOU using ??

Postby OH0KCE » Fri Nov 20, 2020 3:44 pm

Hi !
Im new in SDR radio, buy a used Anan 200D some month back. Using now latest Thetis client softw prot.2.
after little adjustment i think this sounding ok in & out.

to my question What client software are YOU using, and maybe WHAY You are using this soft?

Greetings de Leif OH0KCE
w-u-2-o

Re: What client software are YOU using ??

Postby w-u-2-o » Fri Nov 20, 2020 4:26 pm

Your only choices that have both TX and RX functionality are (shown in order of decreasing functionality):

Thetis
PowerSDR mRX PS (protocol 1 firmware only)
linHPSDR
piHPSDR
SDR Console

I use Thetis because it is, by far, the most capable, with the most functionality. It may not be the prettiest user interface, but it does more than any of the other choices.
w3ub

Postby w3ub » Fri Nov 20, 2020 6:13 pm

I also use Thetis. In addition to the points already made, a big reason for me is that is where most of the effort is being made in terms of bug fixing and improvements, that specifically target the Anan series of radios.

/Doug
va7qi

Postby va7qi » Sat Nov 21, 2020 5:55 am

Having tried a few of the other options, I can equivocally state that Thetis is the best client. It gives you full control over (almost) every RX and TX parameter and it is very stable. I have run it for weeks at a time both in digital and SSB modes and with no problems. One thing to keep in mind is the processing delays, which can be a problem in some digital modes, but some tweaking of the buffer size on the audio side may fix hat.

For SSB the audio noise reductions (especially NR2) is absolutely amazing.

BTW, I turned Thetis off today for the first time since version 2.8.11 was released - only because I had to change a power supply cable on Anan 700DLE. It had been running 24x7 for a month without problems.