Thetis 2.8.11 Released!

User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2707
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Thetis 2.8.11 Released!

Postby w-u-2-o » Wed Nov 25, 2020 1:30 am

K1LSB wrote:Not sure if this is the proper place to post this, but I can't seem to make the RX EQ work for RX2.

Am I doing something wrong or is that a bug?

Thanks,
Mark

Did this ever work? In PowerSDR?
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2707
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Thetis 2.8.11 Released!

Postby w-u-2-o » Wed Nov 25, 2020 1:32 am

W1JA wrote:2.8.11
x64
200D
Protocol 2

2.7.0 a3 did not have this issue.

73, John W1JA
What happens if you go back to 2.7 now? Have you actually tried that?
GW0DQW
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:21 pm
Location: Nr Cardiff
Contact:

Re: Thetis 2.8.11 Released!

Postby GW0DQW » Wed Nov 25, 2020 5:57 pm

Hi there,

Check that the sampling is the same for both RX1 and RX2 in :=

General - F/W Set, mine are 19200.

Hope this may help.

Regards Chris GW0DQW
User avatar
W1JA
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:19 pm

Re: Thetis 2.8.11 Released!

Postby W1JA » Wed Nov 25, 2020 6:16 pm

w-u-2-o wrote:What happens if you go back to 2.7 now? Have you actually tried that?
I hadn't, but I'm trying right now. I'm surprised to find the same glitches, actually much worse than yesterday. I don't understand. I've been using RX2 successfully, under these same setup and use conditions, for years. Did 2.8.11 break my 200D or my firmware? :?

Lots of seq. errors, so I made an effort to read some of them.
280 DDC2 DDC3 Mic
272 (didn't capture the text after the number)
24 DDC2 DDC3
16 (didn't capture the text after the number)
8 DDC2

(Aside: Sure would be nice of the error text stayed around for a full second or two. :( (Unless this information is of no value.)

GW0DQW wrote:Check that the sampling is the same for both RX1 and RX2
The are not the same; RX1 is 384000, RX2 is 1536000. I have used these rates, with Protocol 2 and Thetis, without issues for about two years. Anyway, I tried setting RX2 to 384000 same as RX1, no improvement.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2707
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Thetis 2.8.11 Released!

Postby w-u-2-o » Wed Nov 25, 2020 6:41 pm

No version of PowerSDR or Thetis can break your firmware or hardware.

That was a good experiment. It proves something else change that is not related to Thetis.

Things that may have changed: something in Windows, something on your network, maybe your database is corrupt (try a fresh one), maybe your firmware is corrupt and needs to be reloaded (VERY unlikely), or maybe...the temperature of the radio.

Why radio temperature, you ask? Because Protocol 2 firmware timing closure is very sketchy and can be very sensitive to the temperature of the FPGA. In the absence of gross networking problems, Seq errors are nearly always associated with the firmware struggling to work, i.e. poor timing closure. Has the room you are in become noticeable cooler or warmer because it is now Winter? If so then you may need to try a different version of the firmware to find one that is stable for you under present conditions.
ea3aqr
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm
Location: BCN

Re: Thetis 2.8.11 Released!

Postby ea3aqr » Wed Nov 25, 2020 6:57 pm

W1JA wrote:
w-u-2-o wrote:What happens if you go back to 2.7 now? Have you actually tried that?
I hadn't, but I'm trying right now. I'm surprised to find the same glitches, actually much worse than yesterday. I don't understand. I've been using RX2 successfully, under these same setup and use conditions, for years. Did 2.8.11 break my 200D or my firmware? :?

Lots of seq. errors, so I made an effort to read some of them.
280 DDC2 DDC3 Mic
272 (didn't capture the text after the number)
24 DDC2 DDC3
16 (didn't capture the text after the number)
8 DDC2

(Aside: Sure would be nice of the error text stayed around for a full second or two. :( (Unless this information is of no value.)

GW0DQW wrote:Check that the sampling is the same for both RX1 and RX2
The are not the same; RX1 is 384000, RX2 is 1536000. I have used these rates, with Protocol 2 and Thetis, without issues for about two years. Anyway, I tried setting RX2 to 384000 same as RX1, no improvement.


Have your Windows 10 recently upgrade to v.2004 or v.20H2?

If yes, that's your problem...
User avatar
W1JA
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:19 pm

Re: Thetis 2.8.11 Released!

Postby W1JA » Wed Nov 25, 2020 8:51 pm

w-u-2-o wrote:No version of PowerSDR or Thetis can break your firmware or hardware.
There was no smiley for tongue-in-cheek, but that's how I meant my statement.

ea3aqr wrote:Have your Windows 10 recently upgrade to v.2004 or v.20H2? If yes, that's your problem...
I hadn't used RX2 in about a week. In between last use of RX2 and upgrade to 2.8.11 was... Windows upgraded itself to v2004. I will roll back to 1909 and test again.
User avatar
W2PA
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:34 pm
Location: LaGrangeville, NY
Contact:

Re: Thetis 2.8.11 Released!

Postby W2PA » Wed Nov 25, 2020 9:38 pm

I'm hearing the same glitches in 2.8.11 - on RX2 only. They are present to the same degree in both the 32-bit and 64-bit versions.

No glitches heard with 2.7.0.

I'm also running Windows 10 v 2004.

Will continue to test variations.
73,
Chris, W2PA
User avatar
W1JA
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:19 pm

Re: Thetis 2.8.11 Released!

Postby W1JA » Thu Nov 26, 2020 4:32 pm

Before rolling back my Windows version, I tried fiddling with some of the options available in Properties for my Ethernet adapter (Intel I219-V) driver. I don't know what most of the options are for, really, so I picked some (buffer sizes, energy options, jumbo packet...) that seemed like they might be relevant. Nothing I did made any difference.

I also installed the latest (dated Oct 2020) driver from Intel. The glitches persisted.

Finally, I reverted to Windows v1909. The glitches are gone, both on 2.7.0 and 2.8.11.
w3ub
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 6:32 pm
Location: Lunenburg, NS/Florida

Re: Thetis 2.8.11 Released!

Postby w3ub » Thu Nov 26, 2020 6:31 pm

Here is a good reference from the Flex Radio guys on Ethernet properties that helped me.

https://helpdesk.flexradio.com/hc/en-us ... erformance

/Doug
User avatar
W1JA
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:19 pm

Re: Thetis 2.8.11 Released!

Postby W1JA » Fri Nov 27, 2020 5:41 pm

Thanks Doug. When I did my "fiddling with some of the options available in Properties for my Ethernet adapter," I already tried everything in steps 1 through 3 in that Flex document, and the first 3 items in step 4. None made any difference. I didn't try of the last things in step 4, starting with Descriptors and proceeding to the end.

What did make a difference is going back to Windows version 1909. The problem went away completely. For now I will stay with 1909, and I have Windows set to block any Feature upgrades for one year. Perhaps I will try version 2004 again. I made a system drive image with 2004, so I could go back fairly easily, try the remaining things in the Flex document, and if they don't work, return to 1909. Maybe I will do this, someday.

73, John W1JA
liam
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 7:26 am

Re: Thetis 2.8.11 Released!

Postby liam » Sat Nov 28, 2020 12:11 pm

HI I have the same problem with A8k and W 10 x 64 updating even when updates have
been off so Now I use a PC only for the radio however when I connect to a cluster or N1MM
connects to the net the updates often start no matter what my metered setting ,,,, I have found this program helps block updates far better than
the onboard W 10 setting

https://www.majorgeeks.com/files/detail ... ocker.html

72

Liam ei3gc
I4LEC
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 2:58 pm

Re: Thetis 2.8.11 Released!

Postby I4LEC » Thu Dec 03, 2020 4:19 pm

If not already reported, noticed that, even if checked, the "Auto Mode Swch" does not move the radio to CW once the paddles are used.

Thanks and 73, Clay
WA1NVC
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 2:48 pm

Re: Thetis 2.8.11 Released!

Postby WA1NVC » Sat Dec 26, 2020 2:57 am

ANAN-100D Protocol 1 Thetis 2.8.11 64 bit

I noticed that RX2 was NOT connected to the RX2 jack with Thetis 2.8.9 so I upgraded to Thetis 2.8.11.

RX2 is still connected to ANT1 just like the main receiver.

FWIW PI shows RX2 connected to the RX2 jack.

According to the release notes this should have been fixed.

PowerSDR works correctly.

Roger
WA1NVC

2.8.11 now available.

- Fix: L/R pan behavior for P1/P2
- Fix: step attenuator display behavior for RX2
- Fix: CAT command ZZTO not working correctly
- Fix: RX2 freq not updating for Hermes
* Fix: RX2 ADC assignment wrong for 5 DDC boards on P1
- Fix: installer hangs on removing shortcuts
- Fix: CFC disabled/enabled during/after quick playback
- Fix: O/C ext control not turning off outputs
- Fix: VFO A lock not locking the band buttons
- Fix: antenna selection not displaying correctly when in SWL
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2707
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Thetis 2.8.11 Released!

Postby w-u-2-o » Sat Dec 26, 2020 11:40 am

Are you able to fix the problem by manually selecting the ADC assignment in setup?

Did you try a fresh database?
w8du
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2019 11:36 pm

Re: Thetis 2.8.11 Released!

Postby w8du » Sat Dec 26, 2020 3:57 pm

How do you revert to a prior release of Windows?
Tnx de Arnie W8DU

W1JA wrote:Before rolling back my Windows version, I tried fiddling with some of the options available in Properties for my Ethernet adapter (Intel I219-V) driver. I don't know what most of the options are for, really, so I picked some (buffer sizes, energy options, jumbo packet...) that seemed like they might be relevant. Nothing I did made any difference.

I also installed the latest (dated Oct 2020) driver from Intel. The glitches persisted.

Finally, I reverted to Windows v1909. The glitches are gone, both on 2.7.0 and 2.8.11.
WA1NVC
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 2:48 pm

Re: Thetis 2.8.11 Released!

Postby WA1NVC » Sun Dec 27, 2020 1:42 am

> Are you able to fix the problem by manually selecting the ADC assignment in setup?

> Did you try a fresh database?

The upgrade from 2.8.9 to 2.8.11 does a database refresh. I did another after upgrading and neither fixed the problem.

I started trying all the possible selections on the ADC screen to get the desired behavior.

On PowerSDR, DDC0 is connected to ADC0 and DDC1 is connected to ADC1. The Thetis default is the same. I am running Protocol 1 on my ANAN-100D.

However changing DDC2 to be connected to ADC1 looks like I am getting the desired result. See the attached screenshot.

With two antennas, testing shows signals on the ANT1 connector appear only on the main RX display and signals on the RX2 connector only appear on the RX2 display.

Roger
WA1NVC

P.S. Thanks for fixing the RX2 gain; it is now sticky rather than full volume each time RX2 is turned on.
ADCmodifiedDDC2_ADC1.jpg
ADCmodifiedDDC2_ADC1.jpg (91.48 KiB) Viewed 827 times
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2707
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Thetis 2.8.11 Released!

Postby w-u-2-o » Sun Dec 27, 2020 1:47 am

The DDC assignments in Thetis have always been different than in PowerSDR. Glad you got it sorted.
User avatar
W1JA
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:19 pm

Re: Thetis 2.8.11 Released!

Postby W1JA » Sat Jan 09, 2021 1:20 pm

w8du wrote:How do you revert to a prior release of Windows?
Tnx de Arnie W8DU

W1JA wrote:Before rolling back my Windows version, I tried fiddling with some of the options available in Properties for my Ethernet adapter (Intel I219-V) driver. I don't know what most of the options are for, really, so I picked some (buffer sizes, energy options, jumbo packet...) that seemed like they might be relevant. Nothing I did made any difference.

I also installed the latest (dated Oct 2020) driver from Intel. The glitches persisted.

Finally, I reverted to Windows v1909. The glitches are gone, both on 2.7.0 and 2.8.11.

Arnie, sorry my reply is late. I've been away from the forum for too long. If you decide to revert soon enough (within 10 days, I think), go to Settings > Windows Update, and click Recovery on the left sidebar.

Also, I make frequent image backups of my system drive. If it's past 10 days, I'll often have the option of reverting back by restoring a system image from when I was running a previous version of Windows.

73, John W1JA

Return to “Thetis”