2.6.9

User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1876
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby w-u-2-o » Thu Nov 21, 2019 2:55 pm

W3MMR wrote:Hey Scott, i figured out the Pure Signal issue. I reinstalled the 1.8 firmware and all is A-Ok at this point. Pure Signal held in for an hours long QSO yesterday with no real issues. Every once in a while it would drop out but then it would come right back. After talking to some others running these later Alpha versions, they say thats normal.

Perry
It needs to be reiterated that not all firmware revisions work for all serial numbers on all platforms (e.g. Angelia, Orion, etc.) Certainly some firmware revisions are more successful than others. But we should not make statements that chill other's attempts to try different versions to see which one works best for them.
User avatar
Tony EI7BMB
Posts: 289
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 2:31 pm
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Re: 2.6.9

Postby Tony EI7BMB » Thu Nov 21, 2019 3:09 pm

Yeah I get a bit "Spinal tap" with this stuff :D

ramdor wrote:
Also keeping it lower rather than turning it up to 11 reduces the chance of the rest of Thetis from missing a beat.

All good fun though in the name of 'science' :)
User avatar
W3MMR
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:36 am
Location: Chester, PA
Contact:

Re: 2.6.9

Postby W3MMR » Thu Nov 21, 2019 3:33 pm

[/quote] But we should not make statements that chill other's attempts to try different versions to see which one works best for them.[/quote]

Not sure what statements you're speaking of.

Perry
Studio "A" - Anan 200D, P2 1.8, Thetis 2.6.9, Dell XPS 8700 i7-4770k, Samsung EVO 860 SSD, Nvidia GeForce GTX1050ti, 16GB RAM, Shure SM7B, AL80BX
Studio "B" - Heath-Kit DX100, D-104, National NC-303, Hammarlund HQ-140-X
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1876
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby w-u-2-o » Thu Nov 21, 2019 7:13 pm

W3MMR wrote:Not sure what statements you're speaking of.

PS misbehavior in firmware versions later than 1.8 is NOT "normal" for everyone. By saying that it is you might prevent someone from trying firmware that works better for them than 1.8.
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 262
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby ramdor » Thu Nov 21, 2019 11:32 pm

UPDATE

Hi all,

The DumpCap/WireShark update. Please try : https://www.dropbox.com/s/dinlqpikphcms ... 1.zip?dl=0

If you are not really interested in the capture of network data then you can skip this one.

1) Install wireshark
2) Thetis, Use select folder in seqlog->wireshark tab to select your wireshark install folder which is normally c:\program files\wireshark.

If dumpcap.exe is found in there other group of controls will enabled. The settings are saved, except for Enable, which is set to false every time you restart Thetis.

3) Use DumpCap.exe -D from command line to obtain list of interface and related number (on the left of list). Use that number in the up/down control to dump that interface.
4) A ring buffer of 2 files are used, 10mg per file. If you restart/enable/disable/change setting/etc then a new set of two files will be used.
5) As soon as a SEQ error occurs a new set of two files will be used (and only when -ve if you pick that option).

Please read up on wireshark/dumpcap if you are new to it and want to do some testing.

Richie.

(11/19/19) b1
-add: WireShark and specifically DumpCap support added to SeqLog window
-add: r and l sequence numbers presented in SeqLog. r=received l=last
-change: seqlog can be resized
User avatar
W3MMR
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:36 am
Location: Chester, PA
Contact:

Re: 2.6.9

Postby W3MMR » Thu Nov 21, 2019 11:46 pm

w-u-2-o wrote:
W3MMR wrote:Not sure what statements you're speaking of.

PS misbehavior in firmware versions later than 1.8 is NOT "normal" for everyone. By saying that it is you might prevent someone from trying firmware that works better for them than 1.8.


Gotcha
Studio "A" - Anan 200D, P2 1.8, Thetis 2.6.9, Dell XPS 8700 i7-4770k, Samsung EVO 860 SSD, Nvidia GeForce GTX1050ti, 16GB RAM, Shure SM7B, AL80BX
Studio "B" - Heath-Kit DX100, D-104, National NC-303, Hammarlund HQ-140-X
User avatar
artcomm
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:23 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby artcomm » Fri Nov 22, 2019 3:13 am

https://github.com/w5wc/Thetis/releases/tag/v2.6.9

The best Thetis yet .. Thank you and keep up the great work... solid as a rock here with 2.0 pre_2
gw3uzs
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 7:40 am

Re: 2.6.9

Postby gw3uzs » Fri Nov 22, 2019 12:07 pm

Hi all.
Many thanks Richie MW0LGE and all the other members of the development team for all the hard work. I am using firmware v1.8 and the latest software release v2.6.9 with no problems at this stage.

My project is now getting much closer to completion but I still I have a few things to do before I close the box – I will never be satisfied with everything but after all, it is a prototype in many respects . The front panel is not as clean as I would like it – I should have sharpened my hole punches. See QRZ.com for some pictures.

The transceiver is based on the Apache Labs Orion MKII SDR board. The remainder is mainly home brew – designed all the filters using Elsie software, made own PCB’s including a 100W mosfet PA for HF/6M. Also added a 2M transverter based on the G4DDK design (modified to accommodate pure signal and control using a second down converter) and a 2M 60W PA using a PA module used in 2M FM transceiver but linearized for SSB. However, the TX Intermod performance without pure signal is not adequate.

The software control arrangements emulates the Anan 7000 using Thetis/P2 (same for HPSDR) which I am now using and very pleased with the performance. Pure signal provides a significant improvement for the TX intermodulation performance as you can see for the pictures when on 2M. The same applies to HF. The software control also allows me to monitor 2M whilst listening on the HF bands.

regards

Jeff GW3UZS
EA1DAV
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 6:31 am

Re: 2.6.9

Postby EA1DAV » Fri Nov 22, 2019 3:05 pm

This weekend CQWW CW. I will use 2.6.9 so heavy test. Hope all work as expected, fine.
Radio is Anan 100d.
ea3aqr
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm
Location: BCN

Re: 2.6.9

Postby ea3aqr » Fri Nov 22, 2019 5:27 pm

ramdor wrote:UPDATE

Hi all,

The DumpCap/WireShark update. Please try : https://www.dropbox.com/s/dinlqpikphcms ... 1.zip?dl=0

If you are not really interested in the capture of network data then you can skip this one.

1) Install wireshark
2) Thetis, Use select folder in seqlog->wireshark tab to select your wireshark install folder which is normally c:\program files\wireshark.

If dumpcap.exe is found in there other group of controls will enabled. The settings are saved, except for Enable, which is set to false every time you restart Thetis.

3) Use DumpCap.exe -D from command line to obtain list of interface and related number (on the left of list). Use that number in the up/down control to dump that interface.
4) A ring buffer of 2 files are used, 10mg per file. If you restart/enable/disable/change setting/etc then a new set of two files will be used.
5) As soon as a SEQ error occurs a new set of two files will be used (and only when -ve if you pick that option).

Please read up on wireshark/dumpcap if you are new to it and want to do some testing.

Richie.

(11/19/19) b1
-add: WireShark and specifically DumpCap support added to SeqLog window
-add: r and l sequence numbers presented in SeqLog. r=received l=last
-change: seqlog can be resized


Updated and Wireshark ready, let's trap some SEQ errors!
Bryan W4WMT
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 10:12 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby Bryan W4WMT » Sat Nov 23, 2019 12:16 pm

ramdor wrote:If i run my i7 3770k using the hd4000 integrated gpu, with 0 set for latency on both rb and pa, and force turned on for to/from with 1.00000 set, then I get no underflows/overflows when doing tx/rx cycles in both DX and GDI (also with displaymode off).
Richie.


Hi Richie,

Thanks for running that test for me. Unfortunately, I can not replicate on my i7-4770 Win10(1903) dedicated SDR computer using the CPU's integrated HD4600 graphics. So I installed a new nVidia/PNY Quadro P400, but to no avail. Same problem as before. So I erased the SSD and installed a fresh Win10(1903) from a bootable iso and built everything back up from scratch. Still, no joy. So I've ordered a new computer with a modern gen9 processor and plenty of cores :D

Maybe my preconception of DirectX is wrongheaded. I would have thought that going from GDI+ to DX would make things easier on the thread scheduler, not harder. But just the opposite appears to be the case, at least from my observations here. So maybe the new computer will solve everything and prove that it was my fault the whole time :lol:

73
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1876
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby w-u-2-o » Sat Nov 23, 2019 7:28 pm

I'm observing what is perhaps best described as "stuttering" in the rendering of the waterfall. Running DirectX, 32ms update rate on a 30Hz monitor. Panadapter is set for 30Hz. 768KHz sample rate, 2.93 Hz bin size, 120ms averaging.

Changing the waterfall update rate to be faster or slower makes no difference. Changing to GDI makes no difference. Averaging on/off no difference. It's just not completely smooth, it's a little jerky.

Anyone else notice this?
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 262
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby ramdor » Sat Nov 23, 2019 9:39 pm

w-u-2-o wrote:Anyone else notice this?


Yes, probably caused by the wait/delay code in waterfall render and both gdi and dx are the same in that regard.

It only updates a line of the waterfall if duration passed is greater than the waterfall update period (or if that duration is 0). It does not keep fractions of duration missed, so there could be cases where the update happens slightly too late, or too early compared to the last line. This 'lateness' is not applied to the next duration to wait.

Not 100% sure that is what is causing it, but that would be where I would look first. I have not really looked into it but I have seen it.

Richie.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1876
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby w-u-2-o » Sat Nov 23, 2019 10:00 pm

Thanks, Richie. If you are seeing it then I know it's real :D
Ernie
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:31 am

Re: 2.6.9

Postby Ernie » Sat Nov 23, 2019 11:49 pm

w-u-2-o wrote:Thanks, Richie. If you are seeing it then I know it's real :D


I'm seeing that freezing too, but the audio never misses a beat.

Thanks for all the great work Richie.

W2FMU
ANAN 7000DLE
Last edited by Ernie on Sun Nov 24, 2019 1:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
WA2DVU
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 3:27 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby WA2DVU » Sun Nov 24, 2019 12:23 am

Where is download for A8-1?l Following thread but cannot find it. 73, Bill, WA2DVU
w4kcn
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 2:56 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby w4kcn » Sun Nov 24, 2019 12:38 am

w-u-2-o wrote:I'm observing what is perhaps best described as "stuttering" in the rendering of the waterfall. Running DirectX, 32ms update rate on a 30Hz monitor. Panadapter is set for 30Hz. 768KHz sample rate, 2.93 Hz bin size, 120ms averaging.

Changing the waterfall update rate to be faster or slower makes no difference. Changing to GDI makes no difference. Averaging on/off no difference. It's just not completely smooth, it's a little jerky.

Anyone else notice this?



Butter smooth here at 100fps.

60ms update rate
1536 sample rate
100 FPS
60 Panadapter
1 Waterfall
5.859 bin size

3440x1377 resolution
EA1DAV
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 6:31 am

Re: 2.6.9

Postby EA1DAV » Sun Nov 24, 2019 1:13 pm

I miss a lot when working in the contest ( not finised yet ) colapse thetis in the upper side of screen and working the second virtual receiver 'in band' , but.... i loss the VFO B read, o only can watch the colour and the line if in split. There is a lot of space available for another VFO box with thetis colapsed. Also the multirx button can be placed in this configuration for enble/dissable. I use a MIDI console, but info in screen is fun.

Not problems with heavy use in running mode en 25h for now. Some erros in the log but my pc is at 50% and up of load with all the software running.

Regards.... contest is running now.

Jesus.
User avatar
W1JA
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:19 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby W1JA » Sun Nov 24, 2019 2:45 pm

I have been using and enjoying b1 since Friday, and I used it for a few hours on Friday and again on Saturday. I got no sequence errors at all during these two days. Right away today I noticed the yellow triangle had appeared, and soon thereafter I got to see, for the first time, the pretty red border around the triangle.

This is my first ever -ve sequence error. It is my duty to report it:

DCC0
s0=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:1017315 l:1017312 11/24 09:02:53:450
s1=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:1017312 l:1017310 11/24 09:02:53:450
s2=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:1017309 l:1017305 11/24 09:02:53:450
s3=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:993590 l:993587 11/24 09:02:32:402
s4=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:988516 l:988514 11/24 09:02:28:393
s5=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:982701 l:982698 11/24 09:02:18:361
s6=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 -1 r:968729 l:968729 11/24 09:01:09:385
s7=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 r:943605 l:943602 11/24 08:59:42:229
s8=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:935801 l:935799 11/24 08:59:33:209
s9=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:926826 l:926824 11/24 08:59:27:190
s10=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:923778 l:923774 11/24 08:59:13:152
s11=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:916816 l:916813 11/24 08:58:58:123
s12=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:904330 l:904327 11/24 08:58:38:076
s13=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 r:884158 l:884156 11/24 08:58:22:025
s14=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:870462 l:870458 11/24 08:57:57:970
s15=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:860764 l:860761 11/24 08:57:51:959
s16=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:857185 l:857182 11/24 08:57:48:953
s17=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:857182 l:857180 11/24 08:57:48:953
s18=4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:853431 l:853426 11/24 08:57:45:942
s19=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:843926 l:843924 11/24 08:57:28:902

73,
John W1JA
User avatar
W1JA
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:19 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby W1JA » Sun Nov 24, 2019 3:35 pm

About 90 mins later, I got another -ve:

DCC0
s0=0 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:389947 l:389944 11/24 10:28:41:375
s1=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:379657 l:379654 11/24 10:28:34:356
s2=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:375437 l:375435 11/24 10:28:31:348
s3=0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:369066 l:369062 11/24 10:28:27:337
s4=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:366279 l:366277 11/24 10:28:24:329
s5=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:339705 l:339701 11/24 10:27:36:268
s6=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:329167 l:329164 11/24 10:27:12:236
s7=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:324313 l:324311 11/24 10:27:09:227
s8=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:316898 l:316896 11/24 10:26:56:188
s9=3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:314370 l:314366 11/24 10:26:53:178
s10=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:303600 l:303597 11/24 10:26:46:168
s11=0 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:286452 l:286450 11/24 10:26:24:112
s12=0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:286450 l:286448 11/24 10:26:24:112
s13=0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:256966 l:256964 11/24 10:24:50:901
s14=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:252110 l:252107 11/24 10:24:47:891
s15=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:238092 l:238090 11/24 10:24:25:826
s16=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:238090 l:238088 11/24 10:24:25:826
s17=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:121533 l:121530 11/24 10:21:34:685
s18=0 0 0 0 0 -3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:3121 l:3123 11/24 10:16:42:802
s19=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 r:2410813 l:2410811 11/24 10:11:00:793
User avatar
VA2EY
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2019 11:57 am

Re: 2.6.9

Postby VA2EY » Sun Nov 24, 2019 8:32 pm

Hi everyone

I noticed a problem with the (OC control)
I use the output for my band select amplifier


I delete the database.xml before installation
with version 2.6.7 works well
to Thetis_2.6.8_30Sept19_c2

since version Thetis_2.6.8_1Nov19_d6 no more (OC control)
without using an older database.

also
since version v2.6.9 (11/19/19) UPDATE b1
the Auto-Attenuate for PureSignal does not work if you change the power

ANAN 100D firmware Angelia_Protocol_2_v11.7_7-15-18.rbf (the only functional for my device)


with Google translate
Michel
Joe-W4WT
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:27 pm
Location: Cumming, GA

Re: 2.6.9

Postby Joe-W4WT » Sun Nov 24, 2019 10:30 pm

I've noticed an anomaly with frequency and mode.

If you set a specific frequency with Thetis and then select ANY of the modes AM, LSB, USB, DSB, FM, DIGL, or DIGU the frequency stays at what you set it to as you cycle through these modes. However, if you throw either CWU or CWL into the mix and cycle through the modes then the frequency starts changing as you move around the modes. That shouldn't happen. The frequency should remain the same regardless of the mode selected.

Minor problem, obviously, but thought I would report it.

Latest Thetis is running rock solid with me. Very nice! Christmas came early!

Joe W4WT
User avatar
W3MMR
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:36 am
Location: Chester, PA
Contact:

Re: 2.6.9

Postby W3MMR » Sun Nov 24, 2019 10:31 pm

w-u-2-o wrote:I'm observing what is perhaps best described as "stuttering" in the rendering of the waterfall. Running DirectX, 32ms update rate on a 30Hz monitor. Panadapter is set for 30Hz. 768KHz sample rate, 2.93 Hz bin size, 120ms averaging.

Changing the waterfall update rate to be faster or slower makes no difference. Changing to GDI makes no difference. Averaging on/off no difference. It's just not completely smooth, it's a little jerky.

Anyone else notice this?


No issue here @ 144fps, 2560x1387 resolution, 1440p 144hz monitor, 384k sample rate, 2.930 Bin, 50ms averaging, 20ms update period. Also tried your settings with no issue.


Perry
Studio "A" - Anan 200D, P2 1.8, Thetis 2.6.9, Dell XPS 8700 i7-4770k, Samsung EVO 860 SSD, Nvidia GeForce GTX1050ti, 16GB RAM, Shure SM7B, AL80BX
Studio "B" - Heath-Kit DX100, D-104, National NC-303, Hammarlund HQ-140-X
DL8LAQ
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:28 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby DL8LAQ » Mon Nov 25, 2019 4:20 pm

Hi Joe,

Joe-W4WT wrote:...
However, if you throw either CWU or CWL into the mix and cycle through the modes then the frequency starts changing as you move around the modes. That shouldn't happen.

it is perfect from a CW operaters view! On VHF we are looking for weak signals using SSB, if there is a CW signal you can just switch over to CW with a small filter without changing the frequency! My ICOM IC-7400 does it the same way.
Joe-W4WT wrote: The frequency should remain the same regardless of the mode selected.

Nope :-)
Joe-W4WT wrote:Minor problem, obviously, but thought I would report it.

It's no problem, it's a feature!
73, Norbert - DL8LAQ - ANAN-7000DLE
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 262
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby ramdor » Mon Nov 25, 2019 10:34 pm

I noticed a problem with the (OC control)


need more observations of this to say there is a problem. I've not tested it at all as radio is remote.

since version v2.6.9 (11/19/19) UPDATE b1
the Auto-Attenuate for PureSignal does not work if you change the power


This works fine here. Att increases when drv increases, at least on my 7000dle.

-----

Also, just as a quick note, not doing any coding this week as other stuff happening around here and it getting busy as we head toward Christmas/holiday.

I have on my list :

- look at the waterfall stutter, and perhaps will need to sync all display timers to resolve this
- move PSForm puresignal timer loops into thread based solution
- peak indications on panadapter, and marker placement

When those are cleared I will probably start looking at the plan for the 'new look' / drag/dock ui.

Richie.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1876
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby w-u-2-o » Tue Nov 26, 2019 1:26 am

PureSignal auto attenuate working fine here on power changes.
Joe-W4WT
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:27 pm
Location: Cumming, GA

Re: 2.6.9

Postby Joe-W4WT » Tue Nov 26, 2019 3:36 am

"My ICOM IC-7400 does it the same way. "

My Icom IC-7300 doesn't nor do others I have checked. Frequency never changes with ANY mode change.

But, since it is a "feature", there's no problem.

Joe W4WT
User avatar
W3MMR
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:36 am
Location: Chester, PA
Contact:

Re: 2.6.9

Postby W3MMR » Tue Nov 26, 2019 12:21 pm

One thing I want to mention, and maybe its just a coincidence, but I just installed a new 27" 1440p, 144hz, monitor. Taking a Dell p2213, 22" 60hz monitor out of the mix and and pairing the new monitor with a 24" 1080p, 60hz monitor. Before, as I had mentioned in other posts, I was getting a ton of sequence errors. All were just a random "1" in a sequence of 0's. But I was getting an error, sometimes as frequently as every 60 seconds or less. Now ever since I took the Dell 22" monitor out of the mix, im not getting really any errors at all. I got 1 error last night, same random "1" in a sequence of 0's , in 2 hours of operating, and this morning Ive been operating for 2 hours and havent got one single error. Coincidence? I dunno. But its just weird that I went from getting dozens of errors to not getting any and all I did was change monitors. Whatever, lol, im not complaining by any means!

Joe-W4WT wrote:"My ICOM IC-7400 does it the same way. "

My Icom IC-7300 doesn't nor do others I have checked. Frequency never changes with ANY mode change.

But, since it is a "feature", there's no problem.

Joe W4WT


I agree with you Joe. It doesnt seem like it should be that way. Its the same here. The frequency drops 600hz.


Perry
W3MMR

layout.PNG
layout.PNG (1.82 MiB) Viewed 991 times
Studio "A" - Anan 200D, P2 1.8, Thetis 2.6.9, Dell XPS 8700 i7-4770k, Samsung EVO 860 SSD, Nvidia GeForce GTX1050ti, 16GB RAM, Shure SM7B, AL80BX
Studio "B" - Heath-Kit DX100, D-104, National NC-303, Hammarlund HQ-140-X
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1876
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby w-u-2-o » Tue Nov 26, 2019 3:36 pm

DL8LAQ wrote:it is perfect from a CW operaters view! On VHF we are looking for weak signals using SSB, if there is a CW signal you can just switch over to CW with a small filter without changing the frequency! My ICOM IC-7400 does it the same way.

I'm not a CW op, but I looked at this out of curiosity. It is a nice feature, but only if, when searching for signals using SSB, you tune the signal so that it is offset from the dial frequency by the CW offset setting. Then when you switch to CW the dial freq. will be correct, and the passband will be offset accordingly.

If you instead put the dial right on the desired CW signal in SSB, when switching to CW the desired signal will not fall into the correct spot in the CW passband (which is assumed to be narrow).

In either case the dial frequency is always correct, it's just a question of where the passband is at.

To me this looks like a question of operating style. Either way is valid. Perhaps it should be an option.

There are a couple of UI issues to be considered, also.

1. The red line no longer represents dial frequency in CW. While it is easy to understand that nobody wants a red line right on top of the signal in the panadapter, it is nevertheless a UI inconsistency. In every other mode the red line represents dial frequency.

2. There is a shift in the spectral display frequency axis going back and forth between SSB and CW, and between CWL and CWU. However that is merely cosmetic and could probably be fixed.

73,

Scott
User avatar
VA2EY
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2019 11:57 am

Re: 2.6.9

Postby VA2EY » Tue Nov 26, 2019 8:44 pm

Hi Richie
I fixed the problem for my (OC control)
with several comparison of new database.

The OC control only works if VFO A is on a band 160, 80, 60, 40 etc ...
but VFO B must also be between the following frequencies even if not in use
0.200mhz to 29.700mhz
50.000mhz to 54.00mhz
or
144-148mhz

With a new installation or a reset database, the VFO A and VFO B are at 0.000mhz and the old version was 14.000mhz (default).
I just replaced the 0.000mhz frequency in the VFO B for an HF frequency, and everything is ok.

now I'm doing more research for my pure signal problem

Thanks
Michel

Return to “Thetis”