2.6.9

User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 272
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

2.6.9

Postby ramdor » Tue Nov 05, 2019 1:45 am

Hi,

As 2.6.8 has been released (https://github.com/TAPR/OpenHPSDR-Theti ... tag/v2.6.8) the version number has been moved up to 2.6.9 for the next pre-release version with all fixes and changes moving forward. Make sure you have updated to final release of 2.6.8 and that release is up and running before updating with the following.

To that end, please try the following :

v2.6.9 (11/19/19) UPDATE b3 : https://www.dropbox.com/s/150bv7vdxfjsn ... 3.zip?dl=0

Download the zip, right click it, properties and select 'unblock' before you expand it out.
All files in the zip are required to be placed 'over the top' of the files from your 2.6.8 install.


Cheers, Richie.

Full change log : https://docs.google.com/document/d/1xh4 ... -ibeIBt_k/
Last edited by ramdor on Wed Dec 11, 2019 7:26 pm, edited 30 times in total.
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 272
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby ramdor » Tue Nov 05, 2019 1:45 am

placeholder2
NC3Z
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: Merritt, NC

Re: 2.6.9

Postby NC3Z » Tue Nov 05, 2019 2:09 am

Nice!
Gary NC3Z
wa1oxt
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 7:12 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby wa1oxt » Tue Nov 05, 2019 4:13 am

Super.

oxt
User avatar
vk6cpu
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 4:47 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: 2.6.9

Postby vk6cpu » Tue Nov 05, 2019 7:36 am

Richie

Many thanks for all your work on Thetis, it is really appreciated.

I'm a new convert to SDR having purchases an Anan 8000 in July and only changed over from PowerSdr in the last month. Its a steep learning curve.

Again many thanks to you and all the others others who have contributed to the development of the software and also those who provide assistance in this forum.
All the best
Nigel
VK6CPU

Anan 8000 DLE, Thetis v2.6.9 (a5_1) , Protocol 2 V2 pre-2
INTEL NUC8i5BEH 16.0 GB Ram
iw3fvz
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 9:19 am

Re: 2.6.9

Postby iw3fvz » Tue Nov 05, 2019 11:15 am

Hello,
for update to 2.6.8 or 2.6.9 i need 2.0 firmware????

link for 2.0 firmware??

Thanks
NC3Z
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: Merritt, NC

Re: 2.6.9

Postby NC3Z » Tue Nov 05, 2019 11:45 am

iw3fvz wrote:
link for 2.0 firmware??


Covered a few times in the forum, the links were also just re-posted in the 2.6.8 thread.

But to make it easier here are the links that Rick / N1GP posted before:

Pre 1
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ndahfr5zgh1l252/Orion_MkII_Protocol_2_v2.0_pre1.rbf?dl=0

Pre 2
https://www.dropbox.com/s/i1fony74jallwm8/Orion_MkII_Protocol_2_v2.0_pre2.rbf?dl=0
Last edited by NC3Z on Tue Nov 05, 2019 5:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Gary NC3Z
User avatar
K0MO
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2018 6:10 am

Re: 2.6.9

Postby K0MO » Tue Nov 05, 2019 4:31 pm

Hi Richie,

Nice to see you working on the panafall up/down middle splitter request :)
Manny K0MO
User avatar
w2ner
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:14 am

Re: 2.6.9

Postby w2ner » Tue Nov 05, 2019 7:12 pm

I use a MAC for my main computer and windows for my 8000DLE. Everything was working and all of a sudden after updating to the 2.6.9 A1, my MIDI controller will not work in a RDP session. I use RDP so I can easily use my 43 in monitor for my Mac and Thetis. This is what I get with the MIDI setup and I tried this via a windows 7 to the windows 10 via RDP and its the same result. The Midi screen is blank, if go direct to the windows 10 console, its fine and the Midi controller works fine which is a DJController compact.

Richie if you can test this using RDP and see if you see a blank screen, that would be great. If I need to do a total reinstall I'll do that but would like to get some input if this happens to someone else before I go through all that work.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-11-05 at 2.07.59 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-11-05 at 2.07.59 PM.png (853.3 KiB) Viewed 4626 times
W2SDR
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 11:36 am

Re: 2.6.9

Postby W2SDR » Tue Nov 05, 2019 7:16 pm

I cannot post a screen shot because the PowerSDR disappears behind the browser with no error message. My computer is an Dell I5-4460 with 16G of RAM @3.20GHz. I have just noticed that it only seems to happen when running the software in DirectX. It doesn't crash in GDI+. I have ordered an other video card to replace the onboard video today
Frank, W2SDR
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 272
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby ramdor » Wed Nov 06, 2019 7:12 am

Midi....Same problem here Nicholas. I will try and take a look at it today. Everything else seems to be fine except that midi window. Has this ever worked?

Edit:
----
ok, after getting laptop RDP'ing to dev machine (which took a bloody age because laptop windows needed updating), and running Thetis in debug mode, two functions :

midiInGetNumDevs
midiOutGetNumDevs

from winmm.dll (windows low level multimedia dll), are both returning 0, zip, nadda, when running over RDP.

So after investigating further, if you have your RDP connection set to play audio locally (ie on the mac) then Thetis host will see 'audio devices' from the Mac or remote computer. As your remote computer probably doesn't have midi devices plugged into it none will be listed. If you set your RDP to play audio on the Thetis host machine then midi devices will be listed. Please can I have the hour or so back of my life :lol:
-----

W2SDR, try running at a low resolution say 1280x768 and re-test if you can please. If that works you might need to go into your bios and allocate more shared vram to the onboard 4600 HD chipset. It is the only thing I can think of really. However, a bit odd that the DirectX initialisation doesnt fail gracefully.

Richie.
Last edited by ramdor on Wed Nov 06, 2019 8:25 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
w2ner
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:14 am

Re: 2.6.9

Postby w2ner » Wed Nov 06, 2019 12:59 pm

ramdor wrote:Midi....Same problem here Nicholas. I will try and take a look at it today. Everything else seems to be fine except that midi window. Has this ever worked?

Edit:
----
ok, after getting laptop RDP'ing to dev machine (which took a bloody age because laptop windows needed updating), and running Thetis in debug mode, two functions :

midiInGetNumDevs
midiOutGetNumDevs

from winmm.dll (windows low level multimedia dll), are both returning 0, zip, nadda, when running over RDP.

So after investigating further, if you have your RDP connection set to play audio locally (ie on the mac) then Thetis host will see 'audio devices' from the Mac or remote computer. As your remote computer probably doesn't have midi devices plugged into it none will be listed. If you set your RDP to play audio on the Thetis host machine then midi devices will be listed. Please can I have the hour or so back of my life :lol:
-----

W2SDR, try running at a low resolution say 1280x768 and re-test if you can please. If that works you might need to go into your bios and allocate more shared vram to the onboard 4600 HD chipset. It is the only thing I can think of really. However, a bit odd that the DirectX initialisation doesnt fail gracefully.

Richie.


Thanks Richie!!! The funny thing is, this was working and I had no drivers installed on my mac, all was good. Then all of a sudden after the 2.6.9, it stopped. I tried almost everything. After I saw your post I installed the MIDI software on the mac and attached the DJController to it. Same issue. So for the hell of it, I plugged the DJcontroller back into the windows 10 machine and connected to it from the mac via RDP. Then all was happy! I guess the driver for the Mac needed to be installed on my mac, which makes no sense to me at all because it was setup to use everything local on the windows machine. I even tried redirecting the sound to the mac and attaching the DJcontroller to my mac (before installing the DJ software). But never thought about installing the software on the mac.

Anyway....... All is working now..... Sorry to hit you with this nonsense, I'll mail you back the hour along with a pint. :lol:
W2SDR
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 11:36 am

Re: 2.6.9

Postby W2SDR » Wed Nov 06, 2019 9:01 pm

ok, I got my new video card installed in the computer. An GT 720 by Invidia with 2G of memory. Program still crashes occasionally. I managed to get a glimpse of a message on the waterfall before the program disappeared. The partial message contained "DDC Mic" in red for an instant before the screen disappeared. Its was in the same area of the waterfall that the sequence errors will show up in if you have any. I hope this helps. By the way no crashes using the GDI+ selection. Like I said previously software 7Oct19_c5 works without issue.
Frank, W2SDR
User avatar
W3MMR
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:36 am
Location: Chester, PA
Contact:

Re: 2.6.9

Postby W3MMR » Wed Nov 06, 2019 9:27 pm

I have the same crashing issue, but not often. It only happens when I use OBS Studio, I am actively doing a recording, have firefox open, and load a new site. It doesnt do it all the time. Its only happened a few times. But ill lose audio, and the program just disappears. Has only happened 3 times on 2.6.9(a1) and happened a handful of times on the 2.6.8 E2 release (was e2 the last 2.6.8? Whatever the last 2.6.8 release was)
Studio "A" - Anan 200D, P2 1.8, Thetis 2.6.9, Dell XPS 8700 i7-4770k, Samsung EVO 860 SSD, Nvidia GeForce GTX1050ti, 16GB RAM, Shure SM7B, AL80BX
Studio "B" - Heath-Kit DX100, D-104, National NC-303, Hammarlund HQ-140-X
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1882
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby w-u-2-o » Wed Nov 06, 2019 9:51 pm

Both Perry and Frank's problems seem like they may be precipitated by a burst of dropped packets. This is odd, because I heavily use my PC for other things during radio operations, including OBS, etc., and I will sometimes, although rarely, see bursts of a 1000 dropped packets or more in the seqlog, but no crashing.

Perhaps it might helpful to continuously write out a seqlog so that the file could be inspected after a crash.

73,

Scott
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 272
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby ramdor » Thu Nov 07, 2019 5:11 am

Whilst I have not had any crashes related to seq logging, after inspection there was a potential for a crash. The head and tail of the linked list of seq logs could be adjusted whilst being used for display into the seq log form. This would coincide with seeing a seq error and 'DDC Mic' and then a crash.

I will drop a new exe later today.

Richie.
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 272
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby ramdor » Thu Nov 07, 2019 8:38 am

UPDATE

Please try : link removed, see post #1

All files in the zip need to be used. From this point I will include all to save confusion.

v2.6.9 (11/3/10) a2
  • fix: Doug W5WC - when using PTT IN to go into transmit in CW the PTT OUT did not activate
  • fix: resolved rare crash issue with seq error snapshot
  • add: time stamp on each seq error snapshot

Richie.
Last edited by ramdor on Thu Nov 07, 2019 3:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Tony EI7BMB
Posts: 292
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 2:31 pm
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Re: 2.6.9

Postby Tony EI7BMB » Thu Nov 07, 2019 12:06 pm

Installed and working fine , thanks Richie
Mike W4OCO
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:10 pm
Location: Virginia Beach, VA

Re: 2.6.9

Postby Mike W4OCO » Thu Nov 07, 2019 1:43 pm

Thanks Richie for all of your hard work!

Mike W4OCO
Living The Good Life!
W2SDR
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 11:36 am

Re: 2.6.9

Postby W2SDR » Thu Nov 07, 2019 3:08 pm

I believe my problems are resolved!
What I did was start anew.
I just deleted the program in Apps the normal way and then deleted Program Files (x86)/Open HPSDR/Thetis and then deleted AppData/Roaming/OpenHPSDR/Thetis.

Installed Warrens 2.6.8 and it went through a new wisdom routine (thought that was a good idea since I had installed the new video card). With that came a new default database of course. After that installed
the latest 2.6.9 from ramdor dropbox and all is running well now with not a crash.
Thanks for all the input
Frank W2SDR
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 272
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby ramdor » Thu Nov 07, 2019 3:12 pm

!! IMPORTANT UPDATE !!

Hi all,

Please update to : link removed, see post #1

This is quite an important update as some error handling was accidentally removed in a1 and a2. a1 and a2 links have been removed.

Cheers, Richie.

v2.6.9 (11/3/10) a3
-fix: important fix to new/current display arrays. Previously a crash would happen if display mode is changed repeatedly by using mousewheel for example
Last edited by ramdor on Fri Nov 08, 2019 6:55 pm, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1882
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby w-u-2-o » Thu Nov 07, 2019 3:17 pm

ramdor wrote:UPDATEAll files in the zip need to be used. From this point I will include all to save confusion.
Hi Richie,

Just to clarify, do you mean that from now on any alpha or beta "dropbox" release will include all files such that someone who just installed from the 2.6.8 production release in the TAPR Github repository can just add/substitute those and immediately be at that alpha or beta revision?

Thanks!

Scott
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 272
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby ramdor » Thu Nov 07, 2019 3:23 pm

Yes Scott, if you have a running 2.6.8 installed from TAPR distro, just overwriting all with the contents of the zip will bring it up to new the new 2.6.9 trial versions (after an automatic db update). The db update will happen once when moving to 2.6.9.

I have updated post #1 to include the info and latest zip.

Richie.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1882
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby w-u-2-o » Thu Nov 07, 2019 4:05 pm

Hi Richie,

That's great, much safer and less confusing. And continuously updating the first post is also a very good idea.

Thanks!

Scott
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 272
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby ramdor » Fri Nov 08, 2019 11:47 am

Status bar, clock panel removed, info now sits in the status bar.

Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (48.37 KiB) Viewed 3915 times


Richie.
User avatar
W3MMR
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:36 am
Location: Chester, PA
Contact:

Re: 2.6.9

Postby W3MMR » Fri Nov 08, 2019 11:51 am

So far so good with 2.6.9A3. No crashes, no SEQ errors, nothing. I did a fresh install of Dougs latest release last night then upgraded to A3, and things are good so far while running and recording with OBS, surfing the net, streaming videos, etc. I just get a drop in FPS from 60 to 45, and mind you, im running Thetis maximized @ 1080p on a 24" monitor. If i made the window smaller, i would have no issues.

Thanks for the hard work.

Perry
Studio "A" - Anan 200D, P2 1.8, Thetis 2.6.9, Dell XPS 8700 i7-4770k, Samsung EVO 860 SSD, Nvidia GeForce GTX1050ti, 16GB RAM, Shure SM7B, AL80BX
Studio "B" - Heath-Kit DX100, D-104, National NC-303, Hammarlund HQ-140-X
NC3Z
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: Merritt, NC

Re: 2.6.9

Postby NC3Z » Fri Nov 08, 2019 12:14 pm

ramdor wrote:Status bar, clock panel removed, info now sits in the status bar.


Sexy!
Gary NC3Z
User avatar
ULTIMAX
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:16 am
Contact:

Re: 2.6.9

Postby ULTIMAX » Fri Nov 08, 2019 1:26 pm

Good Morning Richie,

is that new status bar on that picture ,,is that a teaser ?

Because I don't see that on my screen or it may missing something

if it's a teaser ,,,well thank you for the candy and I agree with Gary it's sexy.

Al
73
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 272
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby ramdor » Fri Nov 08, 2019 1:32 pm

It will be in a4 soon(tm). Hopefully people wont miss the old clock box. Can set text and background colour of it. I am going to add a warning triangle that will appear if there have been any seq errors. Click that to bring up seq log window. V/I is only available on 7000/8000's, not sure if that info is available from other hardware.

Richie.

Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (105.07 KiB) Viewed 3865 times
User avatar
ULTIMAX
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:16 am
Contact:

Re: 2.6.9

Postby ULTIMAX » Fri Nov 08, 2019 1:37 pm

Awesome Richie,

My Good Friend KD4JM told me this morning I think that Richie is just trowing a little eye candy/teaser and he was right

beautiful work my brother, amazing like always..

Thank you

Al
N3YV
73

Return to “Thetis”