2.6.9

User avatar
FM5GB
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 10:03 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby FM5GB » Sun Jan 26, 2020 4:04 pm

Hi All

I gave It another try to day as I am now retired I have more time.
Reflashed FW 1.8 (ANAN 200D) then deleted all Thetis files in AppData/Roaming/OpenHPSDR before installing
Thetis _v2.6.9.0_25Jan20.msi.

No luck : after redoing setup from scratch I have still the same mess.
As soon as I touched the XVTRs menu to enter a transverter everything gets messy :

- the band change keyboard gets extremely sluggish and and does not show the right band.
- the main frequency display freezes ....
- and there is still power output despite PA disable checked in XVTR.
- after attempting to change resolution (on the bottom scroll menu) I had no dysplay at all and
I got a phantom Thetis running which showed the error message "an instance of Thetis already runnin etc".
This instance was not even shown in the task manager. When I uninstalled Thetis Win10 asked to close
this ghost...
After reinstallation and resetting the database, Thetis runs again but the XVTR function is not working
as it should. (power output from the PA still there)
I found out that some skins do not work properly : only the basic skins are OK.


Going back to PowerSDRmRx...

73s Phil, FM5GB
User avatar
W9BHI
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:30 pm
Location: Serena Il.

Re: 2.6.9

Postby W9BHI » Sun Jan 26, 2020 5:13 pm

I mentioned in a previous post that the PA disable does not work in Thetis but got no responses from anybody.
DL8LAQ
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:28 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby DL8LAQ » Sun Jan 26, 2020 6:27 pm

Hi Phil,

I use a ANAN-7000DLE with a Kuhne TR144-PRO, IF 28 MHz. Two IF-cables connecting XVTR (out, SMA connector) with IF-in on the xvtr and XVTR IN (BNC connector) with IF-out on the xvtr.

Settings are as shown on the screenshots.

No problems here! PA is switched of. I used the LT2S xvtr with my old ANAN-200D, but I don't know if I tried procotol 2 with this combo.

Thetis_xvtr_1.jpg
Thetis_xvtr_1.jpg (22.57 KiB) Viewed 5938 times
Thetis_xvtr_2.jpg
Thetis_xvtr_2.jpg (69 KiB) Viewed 5938 times
73, Norbert - DL8LAQ - ANAN-7000DLE
User avatar
W9BHI
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:30 pm
Location: Serena Il.

Re: 2.6.9

Postby W9BHI » Sun Jan 26, 2020 10:05 pm

I am talking about the Disable HF PA check box on the bottom right hand corner of the Ant/Filters tab window.
I am running a 200D .24.
This used to work in PowerSDRmRx.
User avatar
FM5GB
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 10:03 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby FM5GB » Sun Jan 26, 2020 11:24 pm

Hallo Norbert !

I use the 200D Orion MK1 board (the 7000 DLE uses Orion MK2 board and a different FW).
I use several Kühne modules : and of course I use separate TX & RX paths as you do.
I suspect the FW 1.8 for the Anan 200 D to have a missing feature allowing to disable PA.
Maybe some one has an idea. The disable PA function works as it should under OpenHPSDRmRx
and corresponding protocol 1 FW.

73s Phil FM5GB
Last edited by FM5GB on Mon Jan 27, 2020 3:14 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby ramdor » Mon Jan 27, 2020 6:41 am

Probably Phil. I just had a quick check of 2.6.9 Thetis code vs 3.4.9 OpenHPSDR-PowerSDR and other than a tx_xvtr_index>=0 wrapping the PA operation state, there doesn't seem to be any difference. Operationally it looks the same. Might have missed something, perhaps someone else can check.

Richie.
User avatar
n1gp
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:34 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby n1gp » Mon Jan 27, 2020 10:03 am

The PA disable function wasn't implemented in the P2 Mk1 or Mk2 firmware.

I enabled it in this version for the Mk1 (200D), could you guys give it a try?

https://www.dropbox.com/s/jvsxbn5coystadu/Orion_NP_v1.9_pre2.rbf?dl=0

Tnx, Rick / N1GP
User avatar
FM5GB
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 10:03 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby FM5GB » Mon Jan 27, 2020 11:34 am

Hi Rick and thank you much for your help.

I checked quickly the FW version 1.9.
Unfortunately when PA disable is checked in the XVTR menu AND when
selecting a transverter in the VHF band table the transmitter does not key anymore (tune, mox or foot switch)
although the panafall windows goes in transmit mode. Of course there is no power output neither on the antenna nor XVTR
output (as seen on the spectrum analyzer)
When PA disable is left unchecked TX keys and there is an HF output on the antenna (corresponding to the
PA Setting for the VHF in use) which appears to be normal.

So things improved/changed but not quite in the right way

A big thanks for your great job !

Phil FM5GB
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2270
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby w-u-2-o » Mon Jan 27, 2020 2:22 pm

Also just posted Rick's "2.0a" update for the Orion MKII platform in the Orion MKII P2 firmware topic:

viewtopic.php?f=32&t=3192

Along with the released version of 2.6.9 (TAPR Github repository), this is intended to fix any PA disable problems on that platform.
iw3fvz
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 9:19 am

Re: 2.6.9

Postby iw3fvz » Mon Jan 27, 2020 6:20 pm

Hello,
is there a reason why PTT-IN does not work in CW while there are no problems in SSB?

I have enabled PTT in the panel but it does not go into CW transmission...

....wrong?

I use the QARTest Contest software and i want to send with HW-PTT (RTS real serial port) and not with "PTT via CAT".

I user ANAN 7000 - FW 2.0a e Thetis 3.6.9

Many thanks
Fabio
Fabio IW3FVZ
Anan 7000DLE, FW v2.0b, Thetis 2.6.9
Windows 10, dedicated network subnet, Ryzen 7 3700K, 16GB
User avatar
n1gp
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:34 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby n1gp » Tue Jan 28, 2020 1:58 am

@Phil FM5GB

I'm trying to understand and address the issue YOU have. Then I will try and
understand the others and address them.

If I read your reply correctly something because of the change I did made things
work for you better but not completely, yes, no?

I have never used an XVTR on any of my ANAN's so this is a learning adventure :)

However I hope you are willing to take it with me and if so please try this FW image
and report back what you find. Also please report back in detail what you expect and
how I can reproduce it (with detail) and WITHOUT an XVTR if possible.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/mt0m2i7y16x36 ... 3.rbf?dl=0

Tnx, Rick / N1GP
User avatar
FM5GB
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 10:03 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby FM5GB » Tue Jan 28, 2020 2:04 pm

Hi Rick,

to keep it short : the new FW disables PTT & TX keying when PA disable is checked in XVTR menu. There is no action
from this checkbox on the PA at all.

Will try this new version right know & report.

Regards & many thanks.

Phil FM5GB
User avatar
FM5GB
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 10:03 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby FM5GB » Tue Jan 28, 2020 3:43 pm

Hi Rick !

You're a winner !!!
This FW version works exactly like it should :

- Disable PA effectively cuts off the PA : there is no more power output from the PA board when an
Xverter is selected even at full power.
- xmitter keys up in all modes
- Signal at the Xverter output is adjustable in the PA settings up to +13 dBm
- Drive control on the mean Thetis window allows Xverter output from zero up to that power level
- Signal is very clean : third order products are over 50 dB down from peak on a two-tone test.
Of course other operations of Thetis are unaffected by the FW change : everything runs nominal.

Big thanks for your beautiful job & help.
If you happen to travel to Martinique , please give me a shout !

73s Phil FM5GB
User avatar
n1gp
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:34 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby n1gp » Wed Jan 29, 2020 1:29 am

Hi Phil,

So happy to hear of such positive results!

Thank-you for the thorough testing and detail.

Martinique is on my bucket list, what a beautiful place!

73's -Rick / N1GP
Joe-W4WT
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:27 pm
Location: Cumming, GA

Re: 2.6.9

Postby Joe-W4WT » Mon Feb 03, 2020 2:51 am

I haven't worked CW in a while but decided to today with Cocos Island on the air. I usually use the CWX system built into the software since it's easy but found that any speed over 25/26 wpm the characters sent become "broken up" and send incorrectly; at least based on the sidetone coming out of the radio. Under that speed it seems to work okay.

Sending with my external keyer seems to work over 25 wpm but the sidetone out of the radio doesn't sound quite right.

It appears that there are other CW problems also but I need to test some more before reporting on them.

Joe W4WT

Update... I found out this was a problem K9RX reported. It is due to setting the Key-Down delay higher than 35 or so. Under that, it keys fine.

I had to do a database reset and reload to get rid of some other problems and weird actions. Had done that when I loaded the new version (at least I thought I did) but maybe something else happened.

I notice I now have cw sidetone with VAC. Don't remember that happening before. Maybe new? I normally have to plug into the radio directly to hear sidetone.

Joe
User avatar
w9ac
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:01 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby w9ac » Fri Feb 07, 2020 2:09 pm

Joe-W4WT wrote: I notice I now have cw sidetone with VAC. Don't remember that happening before. Maybe new? I normally have to plug into the radio directly to hear sidetone. Joe


Joe,

I've been using VAC as well as the headphone jack when listing to the CW sidetone. See link below:

viewtopic.php?f=12&t=3076&p=7557&hilit=w9ac#p7557

The last two screen captures show the "corrected" time difference between the headphone jack and VAC running with a Presonus Studio Mobile 192 using ASIO drivers.

The first two captures show some sort of time delay that creeps in at the 7000DLE's headphone jack -- typically in a couple hours. By restarting VAC, the delay clears and the result is shown in the last two screen captures.

Paul, W9AC
Joe-W4WT
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:27 pm
Location: Cumming, GA

Re: 2.6.9

Postby Joe-W4WT » Sat Feb 08, 2020 7:07 pm

Thanks for the info Paul. I guess the sidetone addition in VAC was part of the C3 QSK work. I hadn't paid attention to that as I wasn't interested in QSK so I missed it.

Interesting about the delay changing.

Joe W4WT
iw3fvz
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 9:19 am

Re: 2.6.9

Postby iw3fvz » Mon Feb 10, 2020 1:27 pm

hello,
18 hours in CQ WPX RTTY with 0 crash, 0 seq error, 0 problem.

Anan 7000DLE, FW v2.0a, Thetis 2.6.9

Windows 10, dedicated network subnet, Ryzen 7 3700K, 16GB

very stable..

thank to all developers
Fabio IW3FVZ
Anan 7000DLE, FW v2.0b, Thetis 2.6.9
Windows 10, dedicated network subnet, Ryzen 7 3700K, 16GB
bigbird1
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 1:52 am
Location: QF33ca

Re: 2.6.9

Postby bigbird1 » Tue Mar 03, 2020 11:41 pm

Hi Richie. Tks for all your work. I finally upgraded to P2 and Thetis. I notice that the cursor tuning keys don't work. The Left/Right keys still change the tuning steps but the the Up/Down keys don't change the tuning. None of the Tuning shortcuts shown at Setup>keyboard work either. WU2O suggested that I post the problem here. I do hope you can provide a fix as the tuning function is very important to me. Regards, Brian. VK3BD
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2270
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby w-u-2-o » Wed Mar 04, 2020 12:11 am

bigbird1 is talking about a poorly-to-un-documented feature whereby CTRL-up arrow and CTRL-down arrow will cause the VFO to move one Tune Step up and down. This is not working in 2.6.9. CTRL left and right arrow does change the tune step as expected.

Keyboard tuning shortcuts do work here, so I'm not certain why they do not work for bigbird1.
Bryan W4WMT
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 10:12 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby Bryan W4WMT » Wed Mar 04, 2020 10:11 am

w-u-2-o wrote:
Keyboard tuning shortcuts do work here, so I'm not certain why they do not work for bigbird1.


They work just fine here also. Maybe bigbird1 will want to check and make sure that "Keyboard Enable Shortcuts" is enabled in the General/Options tab in setup.

73, Bryan W4WMT
bigbird1
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 1:52 am
Location: QF33ca

Re: 2.6.9

Postby bigbird1 » Thu Mar 05, 2020 7:07 am

Hi WU2O, W4WMT - Have got cntrl up/down cursor tuning working. Have to check General> Options1 "wheel tunes outside spectral".

Still can't get keyboard shortcuts to work. So what else you guys got checked in Options1?

73. Brian VK3BD
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2270
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby w-u-2-o » Thu Mar 05, 2020 12:45 pm

I'm sure that's an oversight regarding the "wheel tunes outside" option. The UI code is an unholy mess. When Ritchie comes back from his coding hiatus no doubt he'll fix this.

For keyboard shortcuts, merely enable the relevant checkbox in Setup > General > Options. Remember that these only work if Thetis is the focus app (active window). If you've done that and it doesn't work, consider resetting your database.
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby ramdor » Thu Mar 05, 2020 12:53 pm

bigbird1 wrote:Have to check General> Options1 "wheel tunes outside spectral".


The outside spectral area causing issues for keypress is now fixed, cheers for spotting this Brian. I have also added some code to trap cursor keys and pass those keycodes to the relevant handlers. Afaik selecting Up/Down/Left/Right from the keyboard shortcut config did absolutely nothing as those keys were not trapped correctly. There is special case code in there for control+up/down.

I am working backwards through this thread to catch up, and will probably put out an exe at some point over the next couple of days.

Richie.
bigbird1
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 1:52 am
Location: QF33ca

Re: 2.6.9

Postby bigbird1 » Fri Mar 06, 2020 4:11 am

Tks Richie and WU2O. As I now have a way of step tuning I will await the update before I try anything else in regard to the keyboard shortcuts.
But in the meantime, back to fighting the seemingly excessive CPU usage.
73 Brian VK3BD
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby ramdor » Fri Mar 06, 2020 12:57 pm

bigbird1 wrote:But in the meantime, back to fighting the seemingly excessive CPU usage.
73 Brian VK3BD


Hi Brian,

1) make sure video drivers are fully up to date, reboot if you have needed to update them

Use single RX1 only for now

Under section Settings->Display->General->Driver Engine
2) Enable DirectX
3) Check Show FPS
4) Normal thread priority
5) Uncheck Anti-aliased
6) Enable VSync
7) Uncheck Accurate frame timing (not a good idea to use this, as very cpu intensive)

Annotation 2020-03-06 125312.png
Annotation 2020-03-06 125312.png (4.29 KiB) Viewed 3813 times

Under section Settings->Display->General
6) Refresh rates, set to 30 FPS

Annotation 2020-03-06 125336.png
Annotation 2020-03-06 125336.png (4.74 KiB) Viewed 3813 times

7) Left click on CPU% on status bar, and select Thetis Only from menu.

Annotation 2020-03-06 125359.png
Annotation 2020-03-06 125359.png (8.31 KiB) Viewed 3813 times


8) Use 1920x1080 or smaller window size for Theits. The horizontal dimension is the one that can move Thetis towards cpu bound limitations.


Please report findings.

Richie.
bigbird1
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 1:52 am
Location: QF33ca

Re: 2.6.9

Postby bigbird1 » Sat Mar 07, 2020 2:18 am

Thank you so much for the very considerably effort you have made to help me Richie. I hadn't picked up on the "Thetis Only" option.
If I go over to DirectX (from GDI+) , CPU usage goes up. If I increase FPS to 30 (from 20) CPU usage goes up. With DirectX and 30 frames per minute (leaving screen size at my regular 1024 x 611), CPU usage shown on the Anan screen runs between 28 and 38 % on FT8 (without JTDX running). With JTDX decoding FT8 your lovely little red light up at FPS is just about on enough to light the room!
I am running Windows 10 pro on an HP Pavillion dv6 Notebook which has an Intel i5-2410M @2.3 GHz and 8 GB of ram. It was originally a Windows 7 machine and it has Intel HD Graphics 3000. The last Driver is dated 19 May 2016 and I haven't been able to find an update since then.
I am currently trying to borrow a high grade games computer which should have much much more updated and better Graphics to see if that fixes the problem before I dash out and get a shining new machine.
73 Brian VK3BD
Oh and if you are fiddling with the code, the WWV option is stuck on 5 MHz. Once you direct enter a different frequency the WWV button faithfully cycles through until it reaches 5 MHz and gets stuck again.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2270
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby w-u-2-o » Sat Mar 07, 2020 2:10 pm

bigbird1 wrote:Oh and if you are fiddling with the code, the WWV option is stuck on 5 MHz. Once you direct enter a different frequency the WWV button faithfully cycles through until it reaches 5 MHz and gets stuck again.
I can't duplicate this problem. You might try a fresh database.
User avatar
W9BHI
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:30 pm
Location: Serena Il.

Re: 2.6.9

Postby W9BHI » Sat Mar 07, 2020 3:42 pm

WWV works on my 200D .24 with P2v1.9.
I did notice though that when you scroll through the WWV tab that the different frequencies come up with default receive filters, zoom settings and modes.
I set them all to 4x, SAM, 7kHZ.
When you scroll though them again, only 2.5, 5, 10, 15, 20 Mhz recall at the settings you put them on.
25.000, 3.330, 7.850 and 14.670 all revert back to their defaults (USB and different rec. filters and zoom settings).
This is probably nit picking but I thought I would bring it to the attention of the master programmers.
Don W9BHI
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.9

Postby ramdor » Sat Mar 07, 2020 5:59 pm

Changes to 2.6.9 have now ended. Development version is now 2.7.0 and a new thread has been started.

Return to “Thetis”