Page 1 of 19

2.6.8

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:09 am
by NC3Z
Some nice additions with the new V2.6.8 Thanks to all the developers with moving Thetis forward!

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 1:47 am
by FM5GB
HI all

and thanks for the good job done. This version looks very nice. especially the user
interface looks great.
Unfortunately the transverter facility is still not functionnal as in the previous version.

- the PA disable seems to work : there is no (as it should be) output on the antenna but still a rise in the current draw. (5 to 6 amperes,
max no matter what drive level is set in Thetis)
- there is NO output on the xvrtr rear ouput.

So I had to go back to HPSDR mrX to continue my work on my homebrew transverter.

73s Phil FM5GB

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 3:32 am
by wa1oxt
Great job guy's...the meter is great , now I can see it across the room.
For some reason the software lost the feature of "Show CT H Line" .
It's under Setup/General/Options , Miscellaneous .
Any input ?
oxt

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:10 am
by w2ner
Fantastic job to all involved. I know this takes a lot of time and dedication to evolve this software to the point its at.

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:42 am
by jeffreydoran
Thanks to the team for delivering 2.6.8, it’s everything we’ve been waiting for. Only bug I’m finding is a problem when RX2 is active in conjunction with VFO SYNC. Can’t move frequency beyond an Amateur Band Edge. Hope this is a simple fix.
Jeff NJ2US

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 10:59 am
by w4cm
Where did you find the file ?
W4CM

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 11:47 am
by jeffreydoran
Thetis version 2.6.8 can be downloaded from
https://github.com/w5wc/Thetis/releases/tag/v2.6.8

Jeff NJ2US

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 2:17 pm
by NC3Z
jeffreydoran wrote:Only bug I’m finding is a problem when RX2 is active in conjunction with VFO SYNC. Can’t move frequency beyond an Amateur Band Edge.


I am also experiencing some weirdness when trying to recall a Memory when VFO sync is enabled. Relays in the 7000DLE just start chattering away. But it's not all memory freqs, just ones which are outside the ham bands, and then only certain ones.

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 3:28 pm
by artcomm
I noticed when doing a clean install, the program is asking for the latest version of .net frameworks... https://dotnet.microsoft.com/download/dotnet-framework, after that it worked like a charm... Also found a glitch when you go into Setup / Appearance and check the LED box, VFO A and B goes haywire...

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 3:56 pm
by ramdor
NC3Z wrote:
jeffreydoran wrote:Only bug I’m finding is a problem when RX2 is active in conjunction with VFO SYNC. Can’t move frequency beyond an Amateur Band Edge.


I am also experiencing some weirdness when trying to recall a Memory when VFO sync is enabled. Relays in the 7000DLE just start chattering away. But it's not all memory freqs, just ones which are outside the ham bands, and then only certain ones.


I have tracked down this problem, related to trying to update RX2 band via cat commands.

Richie.

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:19 pm
by W1AEX
Thank you to all the developers for all the work done to put version 2.6.8 together. The improvements to the GUI are very much appreciated as is everything that was done under the hood. It has been very stable for me with my 200D using F/W v1.8 and I look forward to running through all the features and menus to check it all out.

73,

Rob W1AEX

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:24 pm
by NC3Z
ramdor wrote:I have tracked down this problem, related to trying to update RX2 band via cat commands.
Richie.


That was quick!

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:31 pm
by w-u-2-o
The official release will be coming soon. It will include voluminous release notes.

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:39 pm
by ramdor
NC3Z wrote:
ramdor wrote:I have tracked down this problem, related to trying to update RX2 band via cat commands.
Richie.


That was quick!


Hah yes Gary, I had planned on not looking at the code again until end of month, but that specific bug would have annoyed me. It is related to forcing rx2 to update band settings, designed to fix an issue with the related CAT command.

Bands outside ham bands are identified in code, for example B49M just under the 60M band, and trying to set B49M to the rx2 drop down would not do anything, and a subsequent call to update with the selected entry would just re-select a ham band, and make it look like you could not leave.

Anyway, all fixed, but looking at a couple of other issues that have cropped up and will get it back to Doug tomorrow.

Richie.

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:58 pm
by geireri@online.no
i mainly uses my anan 200d in digital modes, uses dxlab (commander and omnirig to control rx2 (wsjt-x 2.1.0)
it is very unstable jumping of band if i touch the gui
but when dialed in it works ok rx2 is unstable with omni rig
LA5SJA Geir

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:06 pm
by w2ner
ramdor wrote:
NC3Z wrote:
ramdor wrote:I have tracked down this problem, related to trying to update RX2 band via cat commands.
Richie.


That was quick!


Hah yes Gary, I had planned on not looking at the code again until end of month, but that specific bug would have annoyed me. It is related to forcing rx2 to update band settings, designed to fix an issue with the related CAT command.

Bands outside ham bands are identified in code, for example B49M just under the 60M band, and trying to set B49M to the rx2 drop down would not do anything, and a subsequent call to update with the selected entry would just re-select a ham band, and make it look like you could not leave.

Anyway, all fixed, but looking at a couple of other issues that have cropped up and will get it back to Doug tomorrow.

Richie.


WOW RIchie, that was quick! You're the man!!

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 9:39 pm
by ramdor
Those having issues with tune on RX2 please try....

https://www.dropbox.com/s/icbq8g8eq7mc4 ... x.zip?dl=0

A couple of fixes I managed to sneak in. I will send off to Doug tomorrow.

- improvement: sync only updates RX2 mode/filter if different to RX1
- change: setting of RX2 band via CAT handled differently to fix issue with rx2 band drop down not having all possible bands
- fix: RX2mode panel now shown in correct place when coming out of collapsed view

Cheers, Richie.

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 10:23 pm
by jeffreydoran
Richie, your code fix appears to have corrected all issues regarding RX2 out of band movement and memory selection. These are exciting times for OpenHPSDR thanks to you, Doug, this forum, and the Apache team. Looking forward to more magic!

7000DLE Thetis 2.6.8 (Richie fix)
73,
Jeff NJ2US

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2019 2:15 pm
by ramdor
For those wishing to test : https://www.dropbox.com/s/uku1batvjvckz ... 9.zip?dl=0

- fix: LED font issue is resolved
- added: shutdown splash screen
- fix: white popup windows that were showing during shutdown, now not shown

Richie.

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2019 4:17 pm
by NC3Z
Glad to see some more smart folks moving Thetis forward. I think Apache is finally enjoying some recognition on how good the TX and RX really is.

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2019 4:19 pm
by w2ner
ramdor wrote:For those wishing to test : https://www.dropbox.com/s/uku1batvjvckz ... 9.zip?dl=0

- fix: LED font issue is resolved
- added: shutdown splash screen
- fix: white popup windows that were showing during shutdown, now not shown

Richie.


Richie, you seem to always be amazing us. Love the great work!

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2019 4:24 pm
by jeffreydoran
The 9/12 fixes are working great Richie. The Shutdown Splash is a nice addition, and welcome. The excitement in the OpenHPSDR community is palpable, Thanks for the continuing magic, "Its like getting a new radio".

73,
Jeff NJ2US

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2019 4:58 pm
by NC3Z
For when you have time I have noticed another anomaly. Here is a video of what is happening https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kc45hMwbixg

If I have VFO Sync On the problem is not there. As I tune VFO A and tune from a ham band out of it the VFO A Band buttons switch as expected and all is smooth.

However if I take VFO Sync off and do the same with VFO A then the band buttons flash and may or may not switch. Also the VFO tuning becomes very jumpy.

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2019 5:22 pm
by ramdor
NC3Z wrote:For when you have time I have noticed another anomaly. Here is a video of what is happening https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kc45hMwbixg

If I have VFO Sync On the problem is not there. As I tune VFO A and tune from a ham band out of it the VFO A Band buttons switch as expected and all is smooth.

However if I take VFO Sync off and do the same with VFO A then the band buttons flash and may or may not switch. Also the VFO tuning becomes very jumpy.


very odd, and I take it you are using the exe I posted above with the fixed RX2 tune issue?

Try something at let me know if any change. Select a different Region in Setup->General->Region drop down, hit OK, then set it back to what it should be, then test vfo behaviour again.

Richie.

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2019 6:23 pm
by DL8LAQ
Thank you, Doug and Richie! Nice work!

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2019 7:22 pm
by NC3Z
ramdor wrote:Select a different Region in Setup->General->Region drop down, hit OK, then set it back to what it should be, then test vfo behaviour again.Richie.


Yes I am using the latest dropbox version you posted today.

So I use Extended region for a legal and legitimate reason. Switching to US Region and the problem goes away, switch back to US and it's gone.

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2019 8:53 pm
by ramdor
NC3Z wrote:
ramdor wrote:Select a different Region in Setup->General->Region drop down, hit OK, then set it back to what it should be, then test vfo behaviour again.Richie.


Yes I am using the latest dropbox version you posted today.

So I use Extended region for a legal and legitimate reason. Switching to US Region and the problem goes away, switch back to US and it's gone.


ok thanks Gary, will look at it later/tomorrow. Same flickering behaviour here with extended.

Richie.

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2019 10:02 pm
by G3ZQH
200D running 1.8 Orion firmware om Windows 7. TX bug to rteport.

2.6.8 works great on RX. However on clicking TUN or MOX or PTT it crashes out. Tried resetting database, but still the same problem.

Have been using 2.6.7 for a while. This is reasonably stable but I still have occasional VAC problems (runaway over or under sampling) maybe once or twice in a day.

I have reverted to 2.6.7. Will await further developments with 2.6.8.

73 Dave G3ZQH

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Fri Sep 13, 2019 1:45 am
by NC3Z
Another minor issue I noticed when in Collapsed view. As you toggle the radio buttons between RX1 and RX2 the S meter size changes.

Re: 2.6.8

Posted: Fri Sep 13, 2019 4:59 am
by w2ner
What would be great to have is, being able to have two separate windows, one for VFO 1 and one for VFO 2. This way us guys who run multiple monitors can benefit by having full size and separate waterfalls and pan adapter. One VFO on each monitor.

Oh and being able to set up multiple notch filters in a single pan adapter.

ok, I'll stop now before I get carried away.