2.6.8

User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ramdor » Sat Nov 02, 2019 1:07 pm

UPDATE

Hi Rob, Chas,

Can you try with ref to the bandstack problem : https://www.dropbox.com/s/zlmxh4ynhowlp ... 1.zip?dl=0

Note: If you have the new 11/1/19 installed from Doug, then you only need Thetis.exe from the zip, otherwise everything.

Cheers,

Richie.

(11/1/19) e1
  • change: fix to band stack issue when cw is on a given slot
  • add: swr_pwr now stored if selected during tune step. Also now available from setup form Transmit tab (needs to be removed from list for certain hardware, but main console will cope... todo)
  • add: added pwr_swr split meter in original meter view
Helmut
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 3:08 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby Helmut » Sat Nov 02, 2019 2:47 pm

ramdor wrote:
Helmut wrote:Hi all,

for your info - with the D6 version scrolling the qrg with the mousewheel won´t work in the panadapter
when I before tried to scroll in the frequency window. Have now 4.1d and all o.k.

73, Helmut


Which d6 version? and where are you using the mouse wheel?

If you are just using mouse wheel in the window somewhere, then you need the following checked...
Capture.jpg

However, even with that unchecked, you will be able to use mousewheel over VFO boxes and over spectral area.

After some testing, it seems the area in purple is the only spot wheel has no effect. Wheel over the 20m extra ssb and tx button works as well.

Capture.jpg

edit: also make sure you didnt lock the vfo.

Richie.


Hi Richie,

I have the mousewheel problem since the d 6.1 version and I have the setup:

Image

I went now to your last Version E1 and it is the same:

The VFO A is active, there is no Lock and as I klick with the cursor into VFO A I can not change the numbers as before, then when reverting back into the panafall the wheel does not work there too. When I then press and depress LOCK A - the wheel responds again in the panafall and when klicking into the numbers on VFO A Box there is no movement possible and all starts again.

In D4_1 I had only the Click Tune Drag box checked - not the Wheel Tunes Outside Spetral and all was working best with the mousewheel.

I wonder that no others have this behave, running win10pro on 7000dleMK2 with Orion_MkII_Protocol_2_v2.0_pre2, Logitech MXergo ?

P.S: This happens only when I am Clicking into the VFO-Window - it gets blue and stops working. When I do not click into VFO A it is working as in all Versions before - so I was always forced to klick first into VFO Window and than could move the numbers - but may be that was my mistake.
Sri !
73, Helmut
User avatar
w2ner
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:14 am

Re: 2.6.8

Postby w2ner » Sat Nov 02, 2019 3:00 pm

Helmut wrote:
ramdor wrote:
Helmut wrote:Hi all,

for your info - with the D6 version scrolling the qrg with the mousewheel won´t work in the panadapter
when I before tried to scroll in the frequency window. Have now 4.1d and all o.k.

73, Helmut


Which d6 version? and where are you using the mouse wheel?

If you are just using mouse wheel in the window somewhere, then you need the following checked...
Capture.jpg

However, even with that unchecked, you will be able to use mousewheel over VFO boxes and over spectral area.

After some testing, it seems the area in purple is the only spot wheel has no effect. Wheel over the 20m extra ssb and tx button works as well.

Capture.jpg

edit: also make sure you didnt lock the vfo.

Richie.


Hi Richie,

I have the mousewheel problem since the d 6.1 version and I have the setup:

Image

I went now to your last Version E1 and it is the same:

The VFO A is active, there is no Lock and as I klick with the cursor into VFO A I can not change the numbers as before, then when reverting back into the panafall the wheel does not work there too. When I then press and depress LOCK A - the wheel responds again in the panafall and when klicking into the numbers on VFO A Box there is no movement possible and all starts again.

In D4_1 I had only the Click Tune Drag box checked - not the Wheel Tunes Outside Spetral and all was working best with the mousewheel.

I wonder that no others have this behave, running win10pro on 7000dleMK2 with Orion_MkII_Protocol_2_v2.0_pre2, Logitech MXergo ?

P.S: This happens only when I am Clicking into the VFO-Window - it gets blue and stops working. When I do not click into VFO A it is working as in all Versions before - so I was always forced to klick first into VFO Window and than could move the numbers - but may be that was my mistake.
Sri !
73, Helmut


I'm seeing this same problem.
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ramdor » Sat Nov 02, 2019 3:00 pm

You click it so it turns blue, to give it focus, you can see the 'caret' flashing on the right hand side. This is so you can type numbers in there, as a 'normal' text box. Mouse wheel does not work when blue, at least i haven't ever seen it working like that.

To use mouse wheel you just hover the mouse over the numbers and use mouse wheel (without clicking it first).

... and yes, if you click in there so that you can type, you can not even use wheel on the panafall. This is normal ?

I will look, perhaps something got commented out . There is something up with the number underline as well that needs looking at when I get a mo.

Richie.
User avatar
w2ner
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:14 am

Re: 2.6.8

Postby w2ner » Sat Nov 02, 2019 3:07 pm

I got mine working again, I unchecked "wheel tunes outside spectral" and re enabled it. all good now.
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ramdor » Sat Nov 02, 2019 3:10 pm

w2ner wrote:I got mine working again, I unchecked "wheel tunes outside spectral" and re enabled it. all good now.


ok that points to something, any idea how long this has been happening?
User avatar
w2ner
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:14 am

Re: 2.6.8

Postby w2ner » Sat Nov 02, 2019 3:12 pm

ramdor wrote:
w2ner wrote:I got mine working again, I unchecked "wheel tunes outside spectral" and re enabled it. all good now.


ok that points to something, any idea how long this has been happening?


I think this started with D4 but I can't swear to it.
User avatar
W1AEX
Posts: 250
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:17 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: 2.6.8

Postby W1AEX » Sat Nov 02, 2019 3:17 pm

Richie,

I just installed and ran v268 e-1 and it works perfectly. I cycled through the bandstack numerous times, turned V-Synch and RX2 on and off several times and repeated the bandstack cycling test again a dozen times and it was flawless!

Your coding "Kung Fu" is top shelf!

Thanks for straightening this issue (and all the others you have sorted out) so quickly!

73,

Rob W1AEX
"One thing I am certain of is that there is too much certainty in the world."
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ramdor » Sat Nov 02, 2019 3:31 pm

Good stuff Rob.

ok Helmut , Nicholas, I have found the issue and it is resolved. When selecting a vfo, it turns blue so you can enter numbers. Using mouse wheel now deselects it allowing you to mousewheel vfo as normal. Another change had caused this problem, but sorted now. WIll be in (e2) at some point later today.

Keep up with the testing, more we can sort over the weekend the better. Need to get the gremlins out of there :)

Richie.
Helmut
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 3:08 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby Helmut » Sat Nov 02, 2019 3:38 pm

ramdor wrote:You click it so it turns blue, to give it focus, you can see the 'caret' flashing on the right hand side. This is so you can type numbers in there, as a 'normal' text box. Mouse wheel does not work when blue, at least i haven't ever seen it working like that.

To use mouse wheel you just hover the mouse over the numbers and use mouse wheel (without clicking it first).

... and yes, if you click in there so that you can type, you can not even use wheel on the panafall. This is normal ?

I will look, perhaps something got commented out . There is something up with the number underline as well that needs looking at when I get a mo.

Richie.



Thank you Richie,

I understood now that clicking The VFO is only for Keyboard-entry of the QRG and hovering is for direct change with mousewheel
On V d4_1 my clicks did not cause the - not working wheel in the panafall - so that was misleading me on the newer versions.

Congrats to you for the big effort and the results are amazing !

73 Helmut
Last edited by Helmut on Sat Nov 02, 2019 8:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
K2BU
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:07 pm
Location: Tabernacle, NJ

Re: 2.6.8

Postby K2BU » Sat Nov 02, 2019 4:04 pm

Hi Richie,
I just downloaded e1. It looks like the problem with the bandstacking frequency shift has been resolved. It appears that Rob has confirmed the same thing. Thanks again for all your efforts!
73,
Chas, K2BU
cLicari
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:33 pm
Location: North Texas

Re: 2.6.8

Postby cLicari » Sat Nov 02, 2019 4:09 pm

As much as I hate to, I must abandon P2 and 2.6.8. After running all iterations of the software and firmware, intermittent lockups persist with variations from complete freeze ups to what appears as half of the display going into a slow motion panafall with a distorted audio present. There is no telling what the problem is here. The only thing for sure is P1 and OpenHPSDR are reliable so I have no choice but to return and try again later down the road.
Thanks to Richie and the group for all the efforts,
Carl
NX5T
Carl Licari
NX5T
Anan 8000DLE, FW v2.0 pre4, Thetis 2.6.9 a3,
Windows 10, dedicated network subnet, Intel i7 8700K, 32GB, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060, Samsung 40" 4K display
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1882
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby w-u-2-o » Sat Nov 02, 2019 4:13 pm

That's too bad, Carl.

I just want to go on record by saying that I believe this to be a firmware problem and not anything Richie has or has not done with Thetis.

73,

Scott

P.S. I'm running "pre1" with Thetis on the 8000 as it is more stable for me and gives me better PureSignal performance by far. In other words, we still don't have the one-size-fits-all, 100% reliable, works-on-every-serial-number firmware version for the Orion or any other board variant.
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ramdor » Sat Nov 02, 2019 4:17 pm

cLicari wrote:As much as I hate to, I must abandon P2 and 2.6.8. After running all iterations of the software and firmware, intermittent lockups persist with variations from complete freeze ups to what appears as half of the display going into a slow motion panafall with a distorted audio present. There is no telling what the problem is here. The only thing for sure is P1 and OpenHPSDR are reliable so I have no choice but to return and try again later down the road.
Thanks to Richie and the group for all the efforts,
Carl
NX5T


Ah sorry to hear this Carl. Sounds much like the firmware as it sounds like the crazy goings on I had when I first went to P2, which resolved when I went to pre1 and then pre2.

Richie.
User avatar
w2ner
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:14 am

Re: 2.6.8

Postby w2ner » Sat Nov 02, 2019 4:21 pm

I agree, I have seen this alot in the past based on serial number. Try this one as I have seen this version be more stable with some 7000DLE's, Orion_MkII_Protocol_2_v2.0_pre1.rbf . If you need the firmware, send me an email and I'll send it to you.
cLicari
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:33 pm
Location: North Texas

Re: 2.6.8

Postby cLicari » Sat Nov 02, 2019 4:28 pm

w2ner wrote:I agree, I have seen this alot in the past based on serial number. Try this one as I have seen this version be more stable with some 7000DLE's, Orion_MkII_Protocol_2_v2.0_pre1.rbf . If you need the firmware, send me an email and I'll send it to you.



I did try both pre1 and pre2 a few weeks ago. Unless there were changes made since then I still have both downloads. If there have been changes I'll gladly give it a try.

Thx
Carl
NX5T
cjlicari@gmail.com
Carl Licari
NX5T
Anan 8000DLE, FW v2.0 pre4, Thetis 2.6.9 a3,
Windows 10, dedicated network subnet, Intel i7 8700K, 32GB, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060, Samsung 40" 4K display
cLicari
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:33 pm
Location: North Texas

Re: 2.6.8

Postby cLicari » Sat Nov 02, 2019 5:36 pm

cLicari wrote:
w2ner wrote:I agree, I have seen this alot in the past based on serial number. Try this one as I have seen this version be more stable with some 7000DLE's, Orion_MkII_Protocol_2_v2.0_pre1.rbf . If you need the firmware, send me an email and I'll send it to you.



I did try both pre1 and pre2 a few weeks ago. Unless there were changes made since then I still have both downloads. If there have been changes I'll gladly give it a try.

Thx
Carl
NX5T
cjlicari@gmail.com



Nick...
Same results after about 10 minutes. Panafall goes into slow motion with receive signal lost and eventual lockup.
Oh well... Thx for the support.

Carl
Carl Licari
NX5T
Anan 8000DLE, FW v2.0 pre4, Thetis 2.6.9 a3,
Windows 10, dedicated network subnet, Intel i7 8700K, 32GB, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060, Samsung 40" 4K display
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ramdor » Sat Nov 02, 2019 5:41 pm

UPDATE

Hi, small update here : https://www.dropbox.com/s/3zet1lfmv1pel ... 2.zip?dl=0

Richie.

(11/1/19) e2
  • fix: mouse wheel over vfo when vfo highlighted in blue(selected) deselects and enables mouse wheel vfo changing
  • fix: z-order on vfoahover panel moved to topmost, the underline now shows on mouse hover
  • change: LED updates in Setup->F/W_Set stop when not visible, and the timer doing the checking drops from 100 times a second to twice a second
DO2ZA Erwin
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 4:49 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby DO2ZA Erwin » Sat Nov 02, 2019 6:38 pm

Hi Riche,

all works very fine here with E2. Very nice work from your Side !!

Only one very little Problem: After start Thetis E2 my Mic-Audio was gone to only -20 or -25 dbm in the Mic-Meter, switch the 20db Mic-Boost off
and on does nothing change. Restart E2 dos nothing change, i think the 20 db Boost was gone.
After switching the 200d off and on, restart E2 all was good again.
This was the first Time i need to cycle the 200d :o :o (After a update)

Now its running perfekt, many, many thanks to you.

73 Erwin
Anan 200D rev.24, WIN 10, 10.0.18362 (1903), i7-7700 @3.60 Ghz, 2x Monitor 24"
w4cm
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 8:18 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby w4cm » Sat Nov 02, 2019 8:46 pm

ramdor wrote:UPDATE

Hi, small update here : https://www.dropbox.com/s/3zet1lfmv1pel ... 2.zip?dl=0

Richie.

(11/1/19) e2
  • fix: mouse wheel over vfo when vfo highlighted in blue(selected) deselects and enables mouse wheel vfo changing
  • fix: z-order on vfoahover panel moved to topmost, the underline now shows on mouse hover
  • change: LED updates in Setup->F/W_Set stop when not visible, and the timer doing the checking drops from 100 times a second to twice a second


Richie hello.
The wok you do is outstanding and very appreciative. . Every time I read the updates I learn something new about my 7000DLE.
Although operational issues are most important do you have any plans for modifying the expanded screen layout ? Maybe investigate the adding of a 2nd separate meter display for VFO2 / rcv 2 that remains on the display ?

Thanks,

73
Cecil
User avatar
ULTIMAX
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:16 am
Contact:

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ULTIMAX » Sat Nov 02, 2019 9:34 pm

I'm second in motion with Cecil, I would to see down the line a way to keep both meters maybe in the top of the screen, next to each VFO and a way to adjust how much view of the waterfall to have by adjusting the center divider,,, Richie thank you for all your efforts and kindness to the community .


Al
N3YV
73's
Last edited by ULTIMAX on Sat Nov 02, 2019 9:36 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Bryan W4WMT
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 10:12 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby Bryan W4WMT » Sat Nov 02, 2019 9:35 pm

Hmmm, no need to select (blue) the VFOA to enter freq with the keyboard.
Just start typing and off she goes :-)
It's always been that way, btw.

73
wa1oxt
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 7:12 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby wa1oxt » Sun Nov 03, 2019 2:45 am

Is it possible to have the Waterfall step feature in RX1/Rx2 and Tx (General>Display ) to step in 1 dBm instead of 10dBm ?

gary
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ramdor » Sun Nov 03, 2019 3:50 am

Cecil, Al, yes and yes 8-)

Hah Bryan, thanks for that :)

Gary, the up/down controls have a smaller step?

Richie.
wa1oxt
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 7:12 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby wa1oxt » Sun Nov 03, 2019 3:57 am

The up/dwn control setps 10dBm per mouse click.

oxt
ik7ytt
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 11:48 am

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ik7ytt » Sun Nov 03, 2019 11:03 pm

i'm noticing since update D some problems with PSA.
is not working all the time. even if all other setting are unchanged..

My opinion for future updates:

1) when use split i think need also be seen on the panadapter . it is noticeable only when trasmitting only if activated the multi rx function.
2) C-tune : still don't understand why is not possible to cancel this button and be able to move panadapter or tune according to the mouse selection as all other sdr software.
3) Collapse/Expand view? why spend time to develope 2 different view with missing of clear functions (user friendly) in both? there is the rx2 that is important and still not devoped in both view.

all other technical updates seams works fine.

thanks anyway for the efforts
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1882
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby w-u-2-o » Mon Nov 04, 2019 1:57 am

ik7ytt wrote:i'm noticing since update D some problems with PSA.
is not working all the time. even if all other setting are unchanged..
I have not seen a single difference in PureSignal performance associated with any revision of Thetis since 2.6.7. It is very unlikely that any change to Thetis is the source of your issue.
1) when use split i think need also be seen on the panadapter . it is noticeable only when trasmitting only if activated the multi rx function.
Turn on TX FL.
2) C-tune : still don't understand why is not possible to cancel this button and be able to move panadapter or tune according to the mouse selection as all other sdr software.
I think what you are trying to say is that just a simple click won't move the frequency. This certainly is an inconsistency between CTUN on and off. You can right click to get the yellow (or red, for VFO B) crosshairs and tune that way, but you are correct, it is not consistent.
3) Collapse/Expand view? why spend time to develope 2 different view with missing of clear functions (user friendly) in both? there is the rx2 that is important and still not devoped in both view.
Collapse view was developed for people who have very small and/or low resolution displays so that they may be able to see the spectral display more clearly. RX2 certainly does work in both collapse and expand views, although the controls are obviously more limited in collapse display mode on purpose.
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ramdor » Mon Nov 04, 2019 2:04 am

ik7ytt wrote:i'm noticing since update D some problems with PSA.
is not working all the time. even if all other setting are unchanged..


Can you be more specific? can you reproduce the issue? does it happen in 'c' versions. Does it happen in 2.6.7? What radio are you using? etc etc

My opinion for future updates:

1) when use split i think need also be seen on the panadapter . it is noticeable only when trasmitting only if activated the multi rx function.
2) C-tune : still don't understand why is not possible to cancel this button and be able to move panadapter or tune according to the mouse selection as all other sdr software.
3) Collapse/Expand view? why spend time to develope 2 different view with missing of clear functions (user friendly) in both? there is the rx2 that is important and still not devoped in both view.

all other technical updates seams works fine.

thanks anyway for the efforts


- spit can be seen in certain modes by using TX FL button (the certain modes caveat needs investigating)
- you can drag the panadaptor in ctun mode by using top area of spectrum area, like top 20 pixels or something, but yes, I agree, something needs to be tidied up with CTUN/centre locked modes

... and the final point,

It is open source, people can add/do what they want. I started looking at this by changing the RX1 meter width for a friend, and a couple of other small changes. That snowballed into fixing quite a few issues, adding RX2 panafall (somewhat shoehorned in), adding DirectX engine, Manual Notch GUI, etc.

My whole thought process is I want a better experience for myself, a bonus that other people might like the changes I make, and as a user of ExpertSDR2 from ExpertElectronics I get to see a very polished piece of software. Slowly perhaps with changes Thetis might get steered toward something that doesn't resemble what it is now, but it all takes time.

Also, remember, there is nothing stopping anyone having a play around with VisualStudio 2019 (its free) and changing Thetis for the better. Even 'non programmers' can follow on line courses and learn.

Richie.
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ramdor » Mon Nov 04, 2019 8:47 am

Hi all,

e2 is the end of this iteration and everything is with Doug so expect and update/release at some point.

So with that in mind, let the games begin :D



This is going to take a while...... loads and loads of the structure to change. Lets see how far along it is by the end of the year.

Richie.
Helmut
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 3:08 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby Helmut » Mon Nov 04, 2019 10:06 am

Thank you Richie for E2 - running vy well here... and the Video with moving panafalls....amazing !

I think Doug has missed the -CATStructs.xml- file in the -Thetis_2.6.8_3Nov19_e2.7z-

Did not try the .msi...

73 Helmut

Return to “Thetis”