2.6.8

vk1hx
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2019 12:03 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby vk1hx » Mon Oct 21, 2019 4:44 am

ramdor wrote:UPDATE

Hi all,

Just a couple of updates for (10/7/19) d3.

Please try : https://www.dropbox.com/s/pwx1eo4q5og6y ... 3.zip?dl=0

I have included a few dll's for completeness this time.


Thank you.
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ramdor » Mon Oct 21, 2019 5:23 am

vk1hx wrote:Thank you.


Cheers for the ZL. I just updated the download link in original post, slight oversight with the 12m VK band edges ;) oops . It is getting late, er, make that early :)

Richie.
DH1KLM
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:36 pm
Location: Germany

Re: 2.6.8

Postby DH1KLM » Mon Oct 21, 2019 10:59 am

If still necessary here are the German amateur bandplans.
Sourced from DARC.
Attachments
Bandplan_70_cm_August_2017.pdf
(120.12 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
Bandplan SW.pdf
(108.31 KiB) Downloaded 18 times
Bandplan_6_m_Januar_2018.pdf
(83.63 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
Last edited by DH1KLM on Mon Oct 21, 2019 11:54 am, edited 2 times in total.
73 de Sigi / DH1KLM
vk1hx
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2019 12:03 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby vk1hx » Mon Oct 21, 2019 11:42 am

DH1KLM wrote:If still necessary here are the German amateur bandplans.
Sourced from DARC.


Not seeing the attached bandplans?

Maybe these might help?

The vhf/uhf/shf etc PDF files are at the following link: https://www.darc.de/der-club/referate/vus/bandplaene/
Attachments
DL - Region_1_bandplan_2pages_color_english_01June2016_neu.pdf
(166.42 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
vk1hx
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2019 12:03 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby vk1hx » Mon Oct 21, 2019 11:47 am

vk1hx wrote:
ramdor wrote:UPDATE

Hi all,

Just a couple of updates for (10/7/19) d3.

Please try : https://www.dropbox.com/s/pwx1eo4q5og6y ... 3.zip?dl=0

I have included a few dll's for completeness this time.


Thank you.


Running the latest updates. Not sure if it is an issue? when keying TX (MOX or PTT) I get a very quick sort of spectrum flash / jump / peak? hard to explain. Might be just a setting. I'll try and video record what its doing.
DH1KLM
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:36 pm
Location: Germany

Re: 2.6.8

Postby DH1KLM » Mon Oct 21, 2019 12:07 pm

somehow I'm having trouble uploading attachments
Attachments
Bandplan_2_m_Juni_2014.pdf
(85.74 KiB) Downloaded 16 times
73 de Sigi / DH1KLM
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ramdor » Mon Oct 21, 2019 12:48 pm


Running the latest updates. Not sure if it is an issue? when keying TX (MOX or PTT) I get a very quick sort of spectrum flash / jump / peak? hard to explain. Might be just a setting. I'll try and video record what its doing.


This is because drawing thread is now not blocked, and the data arrays for what to draw changes, so you get to see the transition. I was contemplating resetting them on tx/rx but left as was.

Richie.
vk1hx
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2019 12:03 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby vk1hx » Mon Oct 21, 2019 1:03 pm

ramdor wrote:

This is because drawing thread is now not blocked, and the data arrays for what to draw changes, so you get to see the transition. I was contemplating resetting them on tx/rx but left as was.

Richie.


Copy. Thank for the explanation.
cLicari
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:33 pm
Location: North Texas

Re: 2.6.8

Postby cLicari » Mon Oct 21, 2019 4:51 pm

ramdor wrote:

Running the latest updates. Not sure if it is an issue? when keying TX (MOX or PTT) I get a very quick sort of spectrum flash / jump / peak? hard to explain. Might be just a setting. I'll try and video record what its doing.


This is because drawing thread is now not blocked, and the data arrays for what to draw changes, so you get to see the transition. I was contemplating resetting them on tx/rx but left as was.

Richie.


Richie... When unkeying mic I see what appears to be a momentary energy spike that peaks on the selected frequency and is the width of the panafall. Is there any correlation to this and what you just described? Is there a way to eliminate it? Very disconcerting to see. This is nothing new though.
FYI..... Since deselecting Network Watchdog I have not had a single disconnect in two days. Not a long time but encouraging.

Thx
Carl
Carl Licari
NX5T
Anan 8000DLE, FW v2.0 pre4, Thetis 2.6.9 a3,
Windows 10, dedicated network subnet, Intel i7 8700K, 32GB, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060, Samsung 40" 4K display
DO2ZA Erwin
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 4:49 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby DO2ZA Erwin » Mon Oct 21, 2019 5:02 pm

Hi All,

Network-Dog is all the time on, but I have all Energie-Managment for my NIC disabled, it runs at full power, only 1 Gig no throttle,
all Energie-Saving disabled.
May be thats better???

73 Erwin
Anan 200D rev.24, WIN 10, 10.0.18362 (1903), i7-7700 @3.60 Ghz, 2x Monitor 24"
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ramdor » Mon Oct 21, 2019 5:04 pm

cLicari wrote:
Richie... When unkeying mic I see what appears to be a momentary energy spike that peaks on the selected frequency and is the width of the panafall. Is there any correlation to this and what you just described? Is there a way to eliminate it? Very disconcerting to see. This is nothing new though.
FYI..... Since deselecting Network Watchdog I have not had a single disconnect in two days. Not a long time but encouraging.

Thx
Carl


yes, we wouldn't have seen it before because the draw thread was stopped for at least rf_delay milliseconds. At least a couple of frames in most cases, which would be enough to not notice it. I will look to see if there is something obvious in the front end. However, it is more than likely coming out of WDSP.GetPixels which honestly I dont want to start messing with because it is hella scary in there and on a different level of awesome compared to the safety/simplicity of the front end code :)

Edit:
ok after looking into it, the issue probably arises because when we MOX we instantly start drawing TX buffers, however, the radio might not yet be in tx state, due to rf_delay. If you set this option to 0 in settings then the pulse vanishes, but it is not really the correct solution. I will do something about it. Previously it wouldn't have mattered, because whole drawing thread was blocked.

Cheers,

Richie.
NC3Z
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: Merritt, NC

Re: 2.6.8

Postby NC3Z » Mon Oct 21, 2019 5:58 pm

Feature request to to add to the list ;) Make turning on Spots easier than the multi step process it is today.
Gary NC3Z
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ramdor » Mon Oct 21, 2019 6:32 pm

NC3Z wrote:Feature request to to add to the list ;) Make turning on Spots easier than the multi step process it is today.


spot system needs a whole re-work, but everything is slowly turning into a massive exercise :twisted:

Just realised, that even if PS is disabled, two timers tick away every 10ms and 100ms, the first setting a whole bunch of controls colours and what not 100 times a second, the other forcing TX attenuate on (if PS autoattenuate is ticked) even though PS is disabled................ :( :cry:

Richie.
NC3Z
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: Merritt, NC

Re: 2.6.8

Postby NC3Z » Mon Oct 21, 2019 7:07 pm

Why anyone would want to turn off PS is beyond me, unless you want to broaden your shoulders out if folks move in to close to you!
Gary NC3Z
cLicari
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:33 pm
Location: North Texas

Re: 2.6.8

Postby cLicari » Mon Oct 21, 2019 8:45 pm

ramdor wrote:
cLicari wrote:
Richie... When unkeying mic I see what appears to be a momentary energy spike that peaks on the selected frequency and is the width of the panafall. Is there any correlation to this and what you just described? Is there a way to eliminate it? Very disconcerting to see. This is nothing new though.
FYI..... Since deselecting Network Watchdog I have not had a single disconnect in two days. Not a long time but encouraging.

Thx
Carl


yes, we wouldn't have seen it before because the draw thread was stopped for at least rf_delay milliseconds. At least a couple of frames in most cases, which would be enough to not notice it. I will look to see if there is something obvious in the front end. However, it is more than likely coming out of WDSP.GetPixels which honestly I dont want to start messing with because it is hella scary in there and on a different level of awesome compared to the safety/simplicity of the front end code :)

Edit:
ok after looking into it, the issue probably arises because when we MOX we instantly start drawing TX buffers, however, the radio might not yet be in tx state, due to rf_delay. If you set this option to 0 in settings then the pulse vanishes, but it is not really the correct solution. I will do something about it. Previously it wouldn't have mattered, because whole drawing thread was blocked.

Cheers,

Richie.


Richie...

Even with RF Delay set to 0 I still see the spike. The only way I have found to not see the spike, and this isn't a solution, is to deselect the "MIC" button before unkeying.

Thx
Carl
Carl Licari
NX5T
Anan 8000DLE, FW v2.0 pre4, Thetis 2.6.9 a3,
Windows 10, dedicated network subnet, Intel i7 8700K, 32GB, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060, Samsung 40" 4K display
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ramdor » Mon Oct 21, 2019 9:27 pm

cLicari wrote:
Richie...

Even with RF Delay set to 0 I still see the spike. The only way I have found to not see the spike, and this isn't a solution, is to deselect the "MIC" button before unkeying.

Thx
Carl


try adding a bunch of RX delay, say 300ms, see if it vanishes. If you are seeing it after releasing mox then either RX delay, or MOX delay might do it. Not a solution really, but will have to find out where it is coming from first.

Richie.
cLicari
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:33 pm
Location: North Texas

Re: 2.6.8

Postby cLicari » Mon Oct 21, 2019 10:23 pm

ramdor wrote:
cLicari wrote:
Richie...

Even with RF Delay set to 0 I still see the spike. The only way I have found to not see the spike, and this isn't a solution, is to deselect the "MIC" button before unkeying.

Thx
Carl


try adding a bunch of RX delay, say 300ms, see if it vanishes. If you are seeing it after releasing mox then either RX delay, or MOX delay might do it. Not a solution really, but will have to find out where it is coming from first.

Richie.


Richie...

Added 100, 200 then 300ms of delay. No change :-(
Carl
Carl Licari
NX5T
Anan 8000DLE, FW v2.0 pre4, Thetis 2.6.9 a3,
Windows 10, dedicated network subnet, Intel i7 8700K, 32GB, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060, Samsung 40" 4K display
Bryan W4WMT
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 10:12 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby Bryan W4WMT » Mon Oct 21, 2019 11:16 pm

Hi Richie,

The wdsp flushChannel thread runs on each and every rx/tx and tx/rx transition. I wonder if you're "bumping heads" with that somehow?

73, Bryan W4WMT
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1895
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby w-u-2-o » Mon Oct 21, 2019 11:48 pm

Some care should be taken to not accidentally increase RX-TX-RX latency, which Warren and Chris worked VERY hard to minimize in Thetis 2.6.7. I have more design data on this to send, but am away from a real computer for the next few days and probably won't be able to until the weekend. It is suggested that if there has to be a purely visual artifact to support the very low latency that is a small price to pay.

Thanks,

Scott
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ramdor » Tue Oct 22, 2019 12:18 am

Bryan W4WMT wrote:Hi Richie,

The wdsp flushChannel thread runs on each and every rx/tx and tx/rx transition. I wonder if you're "bumping heads" with that somehow?

73, Bryan W4WMT


Quite probably. For example, when going from rx to tx, It seems that GetPixels on the transition returns data that holds old rx info and is slowly changed, especially noticeable if fft bin width is very small. Seems like something is not cleared down. I dare not go fiddling around in there though :P

Richie.
vk1hx
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2019 12:03 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby vk1hx » Tue Oct 22, 2019 12:00 pm

This error is a new one on me. First image is the crash. Second image is when I tried to restart Thetis.

Edit: So it would appear the ANAN is locked up on the network. I can see the Ethernet activity light is still active even though thetis is closed. Also Thetis is crashing on TX.
Attachments
Thetis Error.JPG
Thetis Error.JPG (112.99 KiB) Viewed 1458 times
Thetis Error2.JPG
Thetis Error2.JPG (107.84 KiB) Viewed 1458 times
vk1hx
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2019 12:03 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby vk1hx » Tue Oct 22, 2019 12:55 pm

I found the cause of the issue and Thetis crashing on TX.

If you unchecked the CW Break-In and Disable UI MOX Changes boxes outlined in red in the below picture this causes Thetis to crash on TX. I must have unchecked them at some point... :shock:

Anyway! back to normal.... :oops:
Attachments
Thetis Error3.JPG
Thetis Error3.JPG (38.45 KiB) Viewed 1446 times
User avatar
w2ner
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:14 am

Re: 2.6.8

Postby w2ner » Tue Oct 22, 2019 1:30 pm

I'm not a CW guy but I have played around with it the past few days. For what its worth Richie, I run a 8000DLE with a late serial number and I don't see this issue. Matter of fact it's been rock solid so far. I know NC3Z and NJ2US have been having problems with PS dropping and then coming back. From what I know there is no pattern but I'm sure they will chime in.

Again Richie, you are doing fantastic work and you're a asset to this platform.
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ramdor » Tue Oct 22, 2019 3:05 pm

vk1hk wrote:I found the cause of the issue and Thetis crashing on TX.

If you unchecked the CW Break-In and Disable UI MOX Changes boxes outlined in red in the below picture this causes Thetis to crash on TX. I must have unchecked them at some point... :shock:


Thanks, I have found the issue. The code tried to disable all MODE buttons in the mode group panel, however, I think an old test button was left in there called buttonTS1, the code behind the button had been commented out, but the button not removed. The code that disables the mode buttons assumes everything inside that panel is a radio button, which buttonTS1 is not, so boom.

w2ner wrote:Again Richie, you are doing fantastic work and you're a asset to this platform.


cheers Nicholas, but nothing compared to all the work done by others, i'm just playing about really :)

73 Richie.
DL8LAQ
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:28 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby DL8LAQ » Wed Oct 23, 2019 11:37 am

Hi Richie,

I can easily crash Thetis D3 - without any failure message - by transmitting some CAT commands (DDUtil macros).

I use some macros to change the vertical scale manually on different bands. Thetis disappears if I click a few of the buttons very quick.

For VHF:
ZZDP-070;ZZDQ-165;
ZZDP-070;ZZDQ-160;
ZZDP-070;ZZDQ-155;

For HF:
ZZDP-040;ZZDQ-130;
ZZDP-040;ZZDQ-140;
ZZDP-040;ZZDQ-150;
ZZDP-040;ZZDQ-160;
73, Norbert - DL8LAQ - ANAN-7000DLE
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ramdor » Wed Oct 23, 2019 4:36 pm

DL8LAQ wrote:Hi Richie,

I can easily crash Thetis D3 - without any failure message - by transmitting some CAT commands (DDUtil macros).


I can not get this to happen here, I used your 4 HF cat commands, assigned them to buttons 1 through 4, and mashed F1-F4 and clicked as fast as possible in DDUtil and Thetis tracked the changes no problem. However, DDUtil showed problems, more than 1 button was highlighted, and it all froze up I guess with all the serial data going on. 9600 baud used.

As an aside, if there are any un-trapped crashes in Thetis, you will always get a detailed exception message, as there is a try/catch around the primary object. Also, if ever the main window closes you will always see shutdown splash. Even a windows shutdown (WM_QUERYENDSESSION) will cause thetis to close and result in splash and everything saved out (although you might not see it).

Richie.
cLicari
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:33 pm
Location: North Texas

Re: 2.6.8

Postby cLicari » Wed Oct 23, 2019 5:28 pm

cLicari wrote:
ramdor wrote:
cLicari wrote:
Richie...

Even with RF Delay set to 0 I still see the spike. The only way I have found to not see the spike, and this isn't a solution, is to deselect the "MIC" button before unkeying.

Thx
Carl


try adding a bunch of RX delay, say 300ms, see if it vanishes. If you are seeing it after releasing mox then either RX delay, or MOX delay might do it. Not a solution really, but will have to find out where it is coming from first.

Richie.


Richie...

Added 100, 200 then 300ms of delay. No change :-(
Carl


Richie...
After deselecting Network Watchdog Thetis ran perfectly, for extended periods, some unattended to test it, for three days! After trying the RF Delays noted above I shut down for the evening, but forgot to return the RF Delay setting value back to 30. Later that night I turned the radio back on and Thetis would not connect after several attempts and was getting a dialog box "No Network Connection. Is it connected and powered" . I checked settings and realized I forgot to return RF Delay value to 30, and did so. I rebooted and Thetis connected but I soon started seeing "seq 41" errors and Thetis would crash in way I've never seen before, not just disconnect. Half of the waterfall display would quit and then Thetis would lock up with the panadapter display signals slowly bleeding down to flatline. I tried several more times with similar results. I tried importing a known good database, no help. At this point I have returned to P1 just so I can operate. Almost didn't even want to report this to the group it being so bizarre, but felt I really should.

Carl
Carl Licari
NX5T
Anan 8000DLE, FW v2.0 pre4, Thetis 2.6.9 a3,
Windows 10, dedicated network subnet, Intel i7 8700K, 32GB, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060, Samsung 40" 4K display
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ramdor » Wed Oct 23, 2019 6:20 pm

cLicari wrote:Richie...
After deselecting Network Watchdog Thetis ran perfectly, for extended periods, some unattended to test it, for three days! After trying the RF Delays noted above I shut down for the evening, but forgot to return the RF Delay setting value back to 30. Later that night I turned the radio back on and Thetis would not connect after several attempts and was getting a dialog box "No Network Connection. Is it connected and powered" . I checked settings and realized I forgot to return RF Delay value to 30, and did so. I rebooted and Thetis connected but I soon started seeing "seq 41" errors and Thetis would crash in way I've never seen before, not just disconnect. Half of the waterfall display would quit and then Thetis would lock up with the panadapter display signals slowly bleeding down to flatline. I tried several more times with similar results. I tried importing a known good database, no help. At this point I have returned to P1 just so I can operate. Almost didn't even want to report this to the group it being so bizarre, but felt I really should.

Carl


I have a feeling that either you have a network/hardware issue with your computer/network, or there are some odd timing issues with your radio which show up when it is cold? (ie you just turned it on). The reason I say this is that if it was a problem in Thetis, everyone would be reporting it. Don't get hung up on the rf_delay setting that just adds a small sleep delay during mox tx.

I don't know your network setup there, but perhaps borrow/use a laptop, direct connection to radio and try that, just to eliminate everything else.

edit: one of two issues perhaps a) timing issue with radio HW..... b) problem with something on your network when running at 1gbit

Richie.
Last edited by ramdor on Wed Oct 23, 2019 6:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
DO2ZA Erwin
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 4:49 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby DO2ZA Erwin » Wed Oct 23, 2019 6:27 pm

hi All,
i wrote this again,
my anan is connected with a seperate nic, an i have disablad all energie option and shut down do another network as 1 gb for all time,
i have no problems here, my by this is a problem with the windows energie managment ???

edit: i run thetis 2.6.8 d3, its running perfect here! Many, very many thanks to richie !!
Anan 200D rev.24, WIN 10, 10.0.18362 (1903), i7-7700 @3.60 Ghz, 2x Monitor 24"
cLicari
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:33 pm
Location: North Texas

Re: 2.6.8

Postby cLicari » Wed Oct 23, 2019 6:48 pm

ramdor wrote:
cLicari wrote:Richie...
After deselecting Network Watchdog Thetis ran perfectly, for extended periods, some unattended to test it, for three days! After trying the RF Delays noted above I shut down for the evening, but forgot to return the RF Delay setting value back to 30. Later that night I turned the radio back on and Thetis would not connect after several attempts and was getting a dialog box "No Network Connection. Is it connected and powered" . I checked settings and realized I forgot to return RF Delay value to 30, and did so. I rebooted and Thetis connected but I soon started seeing "seq 41" errors and Thetis would crash in way I've never seen before, not just disconnect. Half of the waterfall display would quit and then Thetis would lock up with the panadapter display signals slowly bleeding down to flatline. I tried several more times with similar results. I tried importing a known good database, no help. At this point I have returned to P1 just so I can operate. Almost didn't even want to report this to the group it being so bizarre, but felt I really should.

Carl


I have a feeling that either you have a network/hardware issue with your computer/network, or there are some odd timing issues with your radio which show up when it is cold? (ie you just turned it on). The reason I say this is that if it was a problem in Thetis, everyone would be reporting it. Don't get hung up on the rf_delay setting that just adds a small sleep delay during mox tx.

I don't know your network setup there, but perhaps borrow/use a laptop, direct connection to radio and try that, just to eliminate everything else.

Richie.


The Anan is on a dedicated subnet direct to the computer. I installed a new Intel NIC last week replacing a Realtek. P1 works without issue and always has. Possibly a timing issue. Past problems have occurred later rather than earlier in an operating session. The RF Delay thing was the only change, of any kind, I had made after the rig running solid for three previous day. Coincidence, probably, but I had to throw it out there. I'll check the energy management settings. Seems to be just another case of "your results may vary".
Thx
Carl
Carl Licari
NX5T
Anan 8000DLE, FW v2.0 pre4, Thetis 2.6.9 a3,
Windows 10, dedicated network subnet, Intel i7 8700K, 32GB, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060, Samsung 40" 4K display

Return to “Thetis”