2.6.8

User avatar
w9ac
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:01 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby w9ac » Fri Oct 11, 2019 10:14 pm

ramdor wrote:Edit: in other words, save tx profile to make this 'stick', or at least the tx profile parts

Richie.

Working correctly now after saving the profile. Many thanks!

Paul, W9AC
Jay
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 3:42 am

Re: 2.6.8

Postby Jay » Fri Oct 11, 2019 11:18 pm

Hi,
Been playing with C5 and had a lock up on CW with P2 version 2 firmware. Twice in the middle of a pileup. Even resetting the database didn't help, the CW tone and TX would still be locked up. Even after reset and rebooting the computer. So I went back to 1.9 and that seems to help on CW lockup, but now I have a new problem with PS.

When I have PS engaged, there is a PTT delay on TX and then another delay when I release PTT. So I am wondering if there are some PS delay settings I am not aware of? When PS is off, there is no delay. You can even hear the PS relays inside the 8000DLE delayed when doing PTT, which is weird.

I love the new looks! Been learning a lot reading the community subject of 2.6.8.

Thanks everyone! 73 de w5jay/jay..
cLicari
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:33 pm
Location: North Texas

Re: 2.6.8

Postby cLicari » Sat Oct 12, 2019 4:50 pm

Been running c5 with P2 v1.9 but starting to have intermittent problems with Thetis locking up. Sometimes I'll see a few "seq" errors and then it will lock up. Other times no "seq" errors but an audio cutout then it locks up. I switched to P2 v1.7 with no improvement, more lockups, but no "seq" errors. This is same scenario I had with my first try with P2. All was good for about three months then started having intermittent disconnects which forced me back to P1, which runs fine. FYI, the Anan has it's own dedicated network subnet.

Carl
NX5T
Carl Licari
NX5T
Anan 8000DLE, FW v2.0 pre4, Thetis 2.6.9 a3,
Windows 10, dedicated network subnet, Intel i7 8700K, 32GB, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060, Samsung 40" 4K display
NC3Z
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: Merritt, NC

Re: 2.6.8

Postby NC3Z » Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:02 pm

Have you tried the newer v2.0 firmware?
Gary NC3Z
cLicari
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:33 pm
Location: North Texas

Re: 2.6.8

Postby cLicari » Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:06 pm

Gary... No, does it run on the 8000DLE?
I don't see it listed in GitHub
Last edited by cLicari on Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Carl Licari
NX5T
Anan 8000DLE, FW v2.0 pre4, Thetis 2.6.9 a3,
Windows 10, dedicated network subnet, Intel i7 8700K, 32GB, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060, Samsung 40" 4K display
NC3Z
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: Merritt, NC

Re: 2.6.8

Postby NC3Z » Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:08 pm

It runs on the Orion II's which are the 7000 and 8000. I use a 7000. It has been posted here in the forum a couple of times before, let me look for a link.
Gary NC3Z
NC3Z
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: Merritt, NC

Re: 2.6.8

Postby NC3Z » Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:09 pm

Here is a message from N1GP with a link to it:

viewtopic.php?f=32&t=3075&p=7419&hilit=pre1#p7419
Gary NC3Z
cLicari
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:33 pm
Location: North Texas

Re: 2.6.8

Postby cLicari » Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:11 pm

Thanks Gary.
I'll give it a try before going back to P1, which I hate to need to do.

Carl
Carl Licari
NX5T
Anan 8000DLE, FW v2.0 pre4, Thetis 2.6.9 a3,
Windows 10, dedicated network subnet, Intel i7 8700K, 32GB, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060, Samsung 40" 4K display
NC3Z
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: Merritt, NC

Re: 2.6.8

Postby NC3Z » Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:24 pm

On our eve 160M net there are several of us running 7000 and 8000's with 2.6.8 (currently c5) and 2.0pre1 firmware and none of us are looking back at P1. Thetis is working so much better for all of us.
Gary NC3Z
Joe-W4WT
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:27 pm
Location: Cumming, GA

Re: 2.6.8

Postby Joe-W4WT » Sat Oct 12, 2019 7:07 pm

I have an occasional problem and I wonder if anyone else is experiencing it. I'm running 2.6.8 C5 along with v2.0 pre1 firmware on an 8000 board.

I use VAC with Potato and sometimes when I start Thetis, my overflows/underflows just plain run away. I find I can usually fix this by simply unchecking and then rechecking the Buffer Latency Ringbuffer "Manual" check box. This happens regardless of having any other apps running or not. It doesn't happen every time I start Thetis but it does happen frequently. Once I "fix" it, it usually stays fixed, but not always. When running correctly, I usually only see the last two digits changing in the "Var Ratio" under both To Vac and From Vac so things seem pretty stable based on this.

It's not a big problem but it makes me wonder if it is somewhat common or if maybe I have some setting(s) that are incorrect.

Joe W4WT
cLicari
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:33 pm
Location: North Texas

Re: 2.6.8

Postby cLicari » Sat Oct 12, 2019 9:06 pm

Well today I have tried Thetis c5 with P2 v1.7, v1.8, v1.9 (which has been working fine until today), v2.0 pre-beta. None of them are working well enough to use for any length of time, let alone reliably. I'm beginning to think it may be the current Thetis c5 and not the firmware. Don't know what could be causing all these "seq" errors and disconnects all of a sudden. I'll take any and all suggestions.
Thx
Carl
NX5T
Carl Licari
NX5T
Anan 8000DLE, FW v2.0 pre4, Thetis 2.6.9 a3,
Windows 10, dedicated network subnet, Intel i7 8700K, 32GB, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060, Samsung 40" 4K display
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ramdor » Sat Oct 12, 2019 9:07 pm

Hi all,

Due to unforeseen gravitational forces, I descended a set of green slimy outdoor wooden stairs somewhat quicker than originally planned. Consequently, coding and 'fiddling' with Thetis is going to have to sit on the back burner until I can comfortably sit down, and use my left arm again :shock: :D :roll:

In the mean time, please try d1 exe here : https://www.dropbox.com/s/r0f1ns3dwx39t ... 1.zip?dl=0

Note: there is still work to do on the region stuff, and will not be complete as it stands. Also, c5 introduced a change where txprofile is applied after settings are loaded in, this may result in user not thinking changes are saved. As long as a tx profile is saved, everything will behave as expected.

73 Richie.

(10/7/19) d1
- fix: small mode/filter labels in vfo boxes now reflect state of multirx correctly
- fix: band stack issue with Region3/Japan would prevent Thetis from restarting
- change: 60m slices will highlight if vfo is over them, and in acceptable mode (no check to see if filter is outside permitted area in this highlight)
- fix: if zoom is so large and a filter is unable to fit within available display, dragging it in CTUN mode will perform a reversed spectrum drag
- change: added Region 1/2/3, Germany, to region list. This will effect the band edges shown in red on panadapter and text shown under vfo
- change: selecting a tx profile no longer changes power, power is stored per band and doing both caused inconsistencies
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ramdor » Sat Oct 12, 2019 9:11 pm

cLicari wrote:Well today I have tried Thetis c5 with P2 v1.7, v1.8, v1.9 (which has been working fine until today), v2.0 pre-beta. None of them are working well enough to use for any length of time, let alone reliably. I'm beginning to think it may be the current Thetis c5 and not the firmware. Don't know what could be causing all these "seq" errors and disconnects all of a sudden. I'll take any and all suggestions.
Thx
Carl
NX5T


you can get all previous versions here, https://github.com/w5wc/Thetis/releases/tag/v2.6.8 ... c5, c2, b8, b5, and even builds before that.

I don't think anything has changed under the hood that would make this happen 'all of a sudden'.

edit: personally I would try direct link to radio, and perhaps also different ethernet port/card in computer. I was listening to a station on 80m the other day saying he was having issues with Realtec Ethernet port, as soon as he moved over to an intel one all the problems went away, on same pc (red pitaya and openhpsdr I think it was).

Richie.
User avatar
nico
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed May 22, 2019 9:06 am

Re: 2.6.8

Postby nico » Sat Oct 12, 2019 10:17 pm

ramdor wrote:
Due to unforeseen gravitational forces, I descended a set of green slimy outdoor wooden stairs somewhat quicker than originally planned. Consequently, coding and 'fiddling' with Thetis is going to have to sit on the back burner until I can comfortably sit down, and use my left arm again :shock: :D :roll:



Wishing you a very speedy recovery and thanks for your fantastic work - you have made me like Thetis again!
cLicari
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:33 pm
Location: North Texas

Re: 2.6.8

Postby cLicari » Sun Oct 13, 2019 2:43 am

ramdor wrote:
cLicari wrote:Well today I have tried Thetis c5 with P2 v1.7, v1.8, v1.9 (which has been working fine until today), v2.0 pre-beta. None of them are working well enough to use for any length of time, let alone reliably. I'm beginning to think it may be the current Thetis c5 and not the firmware. Don't know what could be causing all these "seq" errors and disconnects all of a sudden. I'll take any and all suggestions.
Thx
Carl
NX5T


you can get all previous versions here, https://github.com/w5wc/Thetis/releases/tag/v2.6.8 ... c5, c2, b8, b5, and even builds before that.

I don't think anything has changed under the hood that would make this happen 'all of a sudden'.

edit: personally I would try direct link to radio, and perhaps also different ethernet port/card in computer. I was listening to a station on 80m the other day saying he was having issues with Realtec Ethernet port, as soon as he moved over to an intel one all the problems went away, on same pc (red pitaya and openhpsdr I think it was).

Richie.


Richie...
So sorry to hear of your misstep. Hoping you have a speedy recovery. Also, thanks for all your hard work at making Thetis what it is today and will be tomorrow.
Re: the network. The Anan is on it's own subnet and direct to the computer. However, the Ethernet card IS a Realtek TP-Link Gigabit PCI Express card. But it works without issue with P1 and OpenHPSDR 3.6.9. Would you still recommend switching to an Intel card?
Thx
Carl
NX5T
Carl Licari
NX5T
Anan 8000DLE, FW v2.0 pre4, Thetis 2.6.9 a3,
Windows 10, dedicated network subnet, Intel i7 8700K, 32GB, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060, Samsung 40" 4K display
User avatar
w2ner
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:14 am

Re: 2.6.8

Postby w2ner » Sun Oct 13, 2019 4:02 am

Richie

Get better, I know what stuff like that feels like, I fell off my roof a few years back. Take it easy and kick back.
Helmut
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 3:08 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby Helmut » Sun Oct 13, 2019 8:27 am

cLicari wrote:Well today I have tried Thetis c5 with P2 v1.7, v1.8, v1.9 (which has been working fine until today), v2.0 pre-beta. None of them are working well enough to use for any length of time, let alone reliably. I'm beginning to think it may be the current Thetis c5 and not the firmware. Don't know what could be causing all these "seq" errors and disconnects all of a sudden. I'll take any and all suggestions.
Thx
Carl
NX5T


There are two Versions of V2.0pre-beta:

Orion_MkII_Protocol_2_v2.0_pre1.rbf 1.694 KB
Orion_MkII_Protocol_2_v2.0_pre2.rbf 1.692 KB - we got the link now down in the thread - thank you Rick !

I run Thetis 2.6.8 c5 (from today d1) with pre2 and never had such a good tranceiver with the 7000dle-mk2 - it´s a dream !

TNX Richie and get well soon !

73 Helmut dl9eri / oe9eri
Last edited by Helmut on Sun Oct 13, 2019 1:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ramdor » Sun Oct 13, 2019 10:22 am

cLicari wrote:Re: the network. The Anan is on it's own subnet and direct to the computer. However, the Ethernet card IS a Realtek TP-Link Gigabit PCI Express card. But it works without issue with P1 and OpenHPSDR 3.6.9. Would you still recommend switching to an Intel card?


honestly, I dont know, it is just interesting that they they were talking about something similar. A coincidence though perhaps? If you could borrow a nic or try another computer/laptop with intel chipset? I wonder if anyone else has similar findings?
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1882
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby w-u-2-o » Sun Oct 13, 2019 12:47 pm

Joe-W4WT wrote:I have an occasional problem and I wonder if anyone else is experiencing it. I'm running 2.6.8 C5 along with v2.0 pre1 firmware on an 8000 board.

I use VAC with Potato and sometimes when I start Thetis, my overflows/underflows just plain run away. I find I can usually fix this by simply unchecking and then rechecking the Buffer Latency Ringbuffer "Manual" check box. This happens regardless of having any other apps running or not. It doesn't happen every time I start Thetis but it does happen frequently. Once I "fix" it, it usually stays fixed, but not always. When running correctly, I usually only see the last two digits changing in the "Var Ratio" under both To Vac and From Vac so things seem pretty stable based on this.

It's not a big problem but it makes me wonder if it is somewhat common or if maybe I have some setting(s) that are incorrect.

Joe W4WT

Joe,

This is a bug in the resampler algorithm and has nothing to do with Thetis or P2 per se. I experience it here as well with both PowerSDR and Thetis. I suspect you are shaving down your buffer sizes to a minimum because I have found that doing so makes the resampler algorithm more susceptible to this behavior.

73,

Scott
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1882
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby w-u-2-o » Sun Oct 13, 2019 12:55 pm

cLicari wrote:Well today I have tried Thetis c5 with P2 v1.7, v1.8, v1.9 (which has been working fine until today), v2.0 pre-beta. None of them are working well enough to use for any length of time, let alone reliably. I'm beginning to think it may be the current Thetis c5 and not the firmware. Don't know what could be causing all these "seq" errors and disconnects all of a sudden. I'll take any and all suggestions.
Thx
Carl
NX5T

Carl,

This behavior is typically indicative of firmware not making timing on your hardware and/or some kind of network problem. Firmware is the more likely culprit. Or are you saying this only happens with C5?

73,

Scott
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1882
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby w-u-2-o » Sun Oct 13, 2019 12:57 pm

ramdor wrote:Hi all,

Due to unforeseen gravitational forces, I descended a set of green slimy outdoor wooden stairs somewhat quicker than originally planned. Consequently, coding and 'fiddling' with Thetis is going to have to sit on the back burner until I can comfortably sit down, and use my left arm again :shock: :D :roll:

So, so sorry to read that, Richie :( Wishing you a very speed recovery. If there is anything you need, please don't hesitate to reach out!

73!

Scott
User avatar
n1gp
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:34 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby n1gp » Sun Oct 13, 2019 1:06 pm

Here's a link to the pre2:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/i1fony74jallw ... 2.rbf?dl=0

73's

-Rick / N1GP
cLicari
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:33 pm
Location: North Texas

Re: 2.6.8

Postby cLicari » Sun Oct 13, 2019 2:22 pm

w-u-2-o wrote:
cLicari wrote:Well today I have tried Thetis c5 with P2 v1.7, v1.8, v1.9 (which has been working fine until today), v2.0 pre-beta. None of them are working well enough to use for any length of time, let alone reliably. I'm beginning to think it may be the current Thetis c5 and not the firmware. Don't know what could be causing all these "seq" errors and disconnects all of a sudden. I'll take any and all suggestions.
Thx
Carl
NX5T

Carl,

This behavior is typically indicative of firmware not making timing on your hardware and/or some kind of network problem. Firmware is the more likely culprit. Or are you saying this only happens with C5?

73,

Scott


Scott...
All was well running P2 v1.9 and Thetis starting with 2.6.7. It wasn't until 2.6.8 c4 that I started to have some "seq" errors and a few disconnects. I upgraded to c5 and started having more "seq" errors and disconnects to the point where it was every few minutes. I then started loading older firmware and finally v2.0 pre1 with the same results. I went back to P1 v2.7 and 3.6.9 later that day and it worked fine. When Richie posted d1 I thought I'd give it a shot. I've seen none of the "seq' errors or disconnects yet but it's only been a few hours of operation. Richie mentioned someone having issues with a Realtek Ethernet card that went away after installing an Intel card so I may try that. It's just odd that everything works well for days/weeks then goes south.

Carl
NX5T
Carl Licari
NX5T
Anan 8000DLE, FW v2.0 pre4, Thetis 2.6.9 a3,
Windows 10, dedicated network subnet, Intel i7 8700K, 32GB, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060, Samsung 40" 4K display
NC3Z
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: Merritt, NC

Re: 2.6.8

Postby NC3Z » Sun Oct 13, 2019 4:05 pm

n1gp wrote:Here's a link to the pre2:


Rick, what is the difference between Pre1 and Pre2 ?
Gary NC3Z
User avatar
W1AEX
Posts: 250
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:17 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: 2.6.8

Postby W1AEX » Sun Oct 13, 2019 4:55 pm

ramdor wrote:
cLicari wrote:Re: the network. The Anan is on it's own subnet and direct to the computer. However, the Ethernet card IS a Realtek TP-Link Gigabit PCI Express card. But it works without issue with P1 and OpenHPSDR 3.6.9. Would you still recommend switching to an Intel card?


honestly, I dont know, it is just interesting that they they were talking about something similar. A coincidence though perhaps? If you could borrow a nic or try another computer/laptop with intel chipset? I wonder if anyone else has similar findings?


Richie and Carl,

Initially, when I set up my second subnet for direct connection to my ANAN I used the motherboard's integrated Realtek network interface port. It worked fairly well but I randomly experienced intermittent pauses now and then when running Thetis. At the time there were some discussions about whether the Intel NIC interfaces were a more viable option due to better drivers plus the ability to optimize the connection with all the settings in the Intel NIC's properties. Being adventurous, I disabled the onboard Realtek NIC in my motherboard's bios and bought and installed an Intel NIC and the pauses with Thetis went away. So... that's my non-scientific anecdotal experience with Realtek and Intel NIC adapters. It might help with pauses, freezing and possibly some dropouts. I have not seen any seq errors with Thetis version 2.6.8 while running the Orion (200D) v1.8 firmware from Rich-N1GP so I'm not sure if the Intel NIC will do anything to stop the "seq" errors.

Rob W1AEX
Last edited by W1AEX on Sun Oct 13, 2019 8:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.
"One thing I am certain of is that there is too much certainty in the world."
ea3aqr
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm
Location: BCN

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ea3aqr » Sun Oct 13, 2019 4:56 pm

cLicari wrote:
w-u-2-o wrote:
cLicari wrote:Well today I have tried Thetis c5 with P2 v1.7, v1.8, v1.9 (which has been working fine until today), v2.0 pre-beta. None of them are working well enough to use for any length of time, let alone reliably. I'm beginning to think it may be the current Thetis c5 and not the firmware. Don't know what could be causing all these "seq" errors and disconnects all of a sudden. I'll take any and all suggestions.
Thx
Carl
NX5T

Carl,

This behavior is typically indicative of firmware not making timing on your hardware and/or some kind of network problem. Firmware is the more likely culprit. Or are you saying this only happens with C5?

73,

Scott


Scott...
All was well running P2 v1.9 and Thetis starting with 2.6.7. It wasn't until 2.6.8 c4 that I started to have some "seq" errors and a few disconnects. I upgraded to c5 and started having more "seq" errors and disconnects to the point where it was every few minutes. I then started loading older firmware and finally v2.0 pre1 with the same results. I went back to P1 v2.7 and 3.6.9 later that day and it worked fine. When Richie posted d1 I thought I'd give it a shot. I've seen none of the "seq' errors or disconnects yet but it's only been a few hours of operation. Richie mentioned someone having issues with a Realtek Ethernet card that went away after installing an Intel card so I may try that. It's just odd that everything works well for days/weeks then goes south.

Carl
NX5T


Same problem here with seq errors. Lots of seq errors on c5 and less on c4.

I'm using an Anan 7000dle with P2 2.0 pre1 FW and an Intel NIC. When I tested, some time ago, P2 2.0 pre 2 FW I was getting more seq errors, than using P2 2.0 pre 1.
User avatar
n1gp
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:34 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby n1gp » Sun Oct 13, 2019 6:50 pm

@Gary NC3Z

Honestly I don't remember for sure. But I'm pretty sure it was just changing the
timing of the tx/rx data going through the ethernet PHY chip.

That setting alone makes or breaks timing for some radios.
Joe-W4WT
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:27 pm
Location: Cumming, GA

Re: 2.6.8

Postby Joe-W4WT » Sun Oct 13, 2019 7:09 pm

"This is a bug in the resampler algorithm..."


Thanks Scott. I'll play with larger buffer settings to see how that might affect it. I run 128 currently. I guess that algorithm is in WDSP.

Joe W4WT
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1882
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby w-u-2-o » Mon Oct 14, 2019 1:18 am

Joe,

I live with the bug because I love having very like latency. If I have to occasionally beat the resampler into submission it's the cost of doing business right now.

Scott
vk1hx
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2019 12:03 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby vk1hx » Mon Oct 14, 2019 2:27 am

.
Last edited by vk1hx on Sat Oct 19, 2019 1:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “Thetis”