2.6.8

NC3Z
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: Merritt, NC

Re: 2.6.8

Postby NC3Z » Tue Sep 17, 2019 12:00 pm

ea3aqr wrote:To restart Thetis I must delete my current database and import a saved one.


Does it run well if you do not import your old database, just run with the rest database (and do a setup manually)?
Gary NC3Z
User avatar
w2ner
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:14 am

Re: 2.6.8

Postby w2ner » Tue Sep 17, 2019 12:06 pm

ea3aqr wrote:Impossible to set up new thetis 2.6.8 on my Anan 7000 DLE running P2 2.0 Pre1.

Always ending with a crash. I've deleted all directories (in "program files" and "users") and started building it 100% from scratch (except for my transmiting profile that I always import).

Today, with the latest build from GitHub, (I've tested every single build) while I was setting it up I've clicked on the screen to tune one station on 20m and both VFOs changed to 61.440 and decimals changed from .xxx to .xxxx

I can switch to any band again clicking on it, but the VFOs are still showing 4 decimals

Crash1.jpg

After this crash (I got the same crash every time with every build) Thetis never starts again and always shows the same error.

crash2.jpg

To restart Thetis I must delete my current database and import a saved one.

I don't know what's going on!

Help please

Excuse me for my bad english...


Try rebuilding your database and do not import anything then see if you still have the issue.
ea3aqr
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ea3aqr » Tue Sep 17, 2019 12:15 pm

I'm not importing the old database, i'm building it from scratch in a total new installation...

I just import my transmission profile first of all and looks like Thetis works well, then, when I start to set up my configs (I have them stored in pics), somewhere it crashes (not always on the same config screen).

Could a transmition profile corrupt the whole database?, And why not just after importing it?

Later, this afternoon, I will try another clean installation without importing my transmission profile.

Thanks!
NC3Z
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: Merritt, NC

Re: 2.6.8

Postby NC3Z » Tue Sep 17, 2019 12:26 pm

ea3aqr wrote:Later, this afternoon, I will try another clean installation without importing my transmission profile.
Thanks!


I do not know why, but at least this will eliminate any "import" issues first.

My 7000DLE MkI has been very happy with these new builds. I am using V2.0 Pre 1 Firmware.
Gary NC3Z
vk1hx
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2019 12:03 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby vk1hx » Tue Sep 17, 2019 1:48 pm

.
Last edited by vk1hx on Sat Oct 19, 2019 1:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
NC3Z
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: Merritt, NC

Re: 2.6.8

Postby NC3Z » Tue Sep 17, 2019 1:55 pm

vk1hx wrote:There is now an even newer version uploaded to the Github site: Thetis_v2.6.8.0_Setup_17Sept19.msi


Dang, there sure is. Still begs the question about how these align with Richie's mods? Cant seem to find any release notes about the one in the repository. I love how Richie does a brief synopsis of fixes/updates.
Gary NC3Z
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ramdor » Tue Sep 17, 2019 2:01 pm

vk1hx wrote:
NC3Z wrote:I see on the repository that a new 2.6.8 installer (with a 16 Sept date and file name) was uploaded last night. There are no notes like Richie makes so not sure where this repository version lines up with Richie's code.


Hi Gary,

There is now an even newer version uploaded to the Github site: Thetis_v2.6.8.0_Setup_17Sept19.msi


Looks like a fix to vac2 latency in audio.cs, now using the correct variables for in/out.

All my changes up to and including last night are in there. Its in a big state of flux at the mo as many changes being integrated by Doug from multiple sources. I'm sure when it settles there will be a big change log. Hang in there :)
vk1hx
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2019 12:03 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby vk1hx » Tue Sep 17, 2019 2:05 pm

.
Last edited by vk1hx on Sat Oct 19, 2019 1:23 am, edited 2 times in total.
NC3Z
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: Merritt, NC

Re: 2.6.8

Postby NC3Z » Tue Sep 17, 2019 2:06 pm

ramdor wrote:All my changes up to and including last night are in there. Its in a big state of flux at the mo as many changes being integrated by Doug from multiple sources. I'm sure when it settles there will be a big change log. Hang in there :)


So the 17 Sept one incorporates your b5 then?
Gary NC3Z
ea3aqr
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ea3aqr » Tue Sep 17, 2019 2:25 pm

vk1hx wrote:Jordi,

As the others have said, try just installing the new version: Thetis_v2.6.8.0_Setup_17Sept19.msi from https://github.com/w5wc/Thetis/releases/tag/v2.6.8 and setting up as a new install. Run Thetis and see if it is stable. If all ok running normal then introduce your TX profiles one at a time and test.

Part of that fatal error message you are getting looks to be a corruption of the main installation application. I've seen similar errors when others have tried to run the Beta Thetis.exe updates on a older version of Thetis or when something did not go right with the installation.

Another thing to look for is when running the Thetis installation setup if you get a windows message that audio applications need to be shut down, cancel the installation of Thetis and shut down those services manually. Then relaunch the Thetis installation.

I see you run a modified Thetis skin? maybe stick to the standard for the moment while testing stability.

You could also reinstall the Microsoft .Net 4.8 installer again just in case its corrupted? You can download the "Offline" installer from this link: .NET Framework 4.8 Offline installer: https://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=2088631

I am happy to send you my DB to try. It will be configured for a 7000 DLE (MK1) with audio profiles as a test. you'll need to change VAC settings and CAT settings accordingly. I can email the DB to your QRZ email address if you like?

73 - Phil VK1HX


Phil, thanks for your help.

Yes, I'm going to do a new install from scratch deleting all my thetis related directories and not importing any TX setup for now.

The installation setup works flawessly, no messages or problems at all!.

I'm not running a modied Thetis skin, it is the "IK3VIG Special" included one.

I will also reinstall the Microsoft .Net 4.8 before installing Thetis

Thanks for your DB offering, but I prefer setting it up from zero.

Have a nice day!
ea3aqr
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ea3aqr » Tue Sep 17, 2019 2:30 pm

Update 1

No Microsoft .Net 4.8 installation possible, setup stops because I have a newer version already installed...
SA3ATF
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:42 pm
Location: Solleftea Sweden JP83PE
Contact:

Re: 2.6.8

Postby SA3ATF » Tue Sep 17, 2019 3:08 pm

Hi!

It was this that I tried to explain a bit above here. It was the same phenomenon in the last big release of Thetis and then it worked if you changed the language of the computer to English which I have not been able to test this time.
It is different how comma and dot are used what I can see in the XML files.
I don’t suffer from insanity, I enjoy every second of it!
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ramdor » Tue Sep 17, 2019 3:13 pm

ea3aqr wrote:Update 1

No Microsoft .Net 4.8 installation possible, setup stops because I have a newer version already installed...


Please you use regedit to check key...

Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\NET Framework Setup\NDP\v4\Full

look for Release Dword on the right hand side. You should see decimal value in brackets (528040) or (528049)

All info here...
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dotnet ... -installed
ea3aqr
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ea3aqr » Tue Sep 17, 2019 3:30 pm

FOUND!

Looks like the problem is the DX spotting option.

Setup was fine until I've activated this option, on the next click on the screen to tune a station I had a crash.

I was recording all my setup process. I will upload it to Youtube and link the video when done!

Thanks for you help!
ea3aqr
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ea3aqr » Tue Sep 17, 2019 3:31 pm

SA3ATF wrote:Hi!

It was this that I tried to explain a bit above here. It was the same phenomenon in the last big release of Thetis and then it worked if you changed the language of the computer to English which I have not been able to test this time.
It is different how comma and dot are used what I can see in the XML files.


Could be... my language setup in Windows is spanish.
ea3aqr
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ea3aqr » Tue Sep 17, 2019 3:35 pm

ramdor wrote:
ea3aqr wrote:Update 1

No Microsoft .Net 4.8 installation possible, setup stops because I have a newer version already installed...


Please you use regedit to check key...

Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\NET Framework Setup\NDP\v4\Full

look for Release Dword on the right hand side. You should see decimal value in brackets (528040) or (528049)

All info here...
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dotnet ... -installed


My version is 528040
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ramdor » Tue Sep 17, 2019 3:42 pm

ea3aqr wrote:FOUND!

Looks like the problem is the DX spotting option.

Setup was fine until I've activated this option, on the next click on the screen to tune a station I had a crash.

I was recording all my setup process. I will upload it to Youtube and link the video when done!

Thanks for you help!


great find ! I did notice you had spots (in blue) on your screen shot, it was going to be my next thing to turn off after checking .net version. Will wait for the vid.

Also noted about the language issue. Added to list of investigations to make :)

Cheers, Richie.
ea3aqr
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ea3aqr » Tue Sep 17, 2019 3:51 pm

OK, Video is online


https://youtu.be/7rr_wNoKstM

DX Spotting option setup starts at minute 1:40
ea3aqr
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ea3aqr » Tue Sep 17, 2019 4:39 pm

BAD NEWS...

Same crash again without enabling DX Spotter.
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ramdor » Tue Sep 17, 2019 5:20 pm

ea3aqr wrote:BAD NEWS...

Same crash again without enabling DX Spotter.


Yeah thought so as it seemed ok on my installed (and others), but I did fix the click on yellow area bug in the spot window :lol:

Is this after a fresh install, after an uninstall, with removal of C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Roaming\OpenHPSDR ?

Also, if you get it up and running again, keep eye on bottom left frequency reading, just before you click to change frequency. Does this number look ok?

Next test will be setting up a vm, with a spanish language install. Or perhaps it is related to really wide display causing issue with freq calculation.

Also, I am investigating the save/apply settings code, I dont like the way it gives up if there is already a save in progress, but this should not cause what you are seeing.

Everyone should be seeing this issue.... very odd.
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ramdor » Tue Sep 17, 2019 5:37 pm

ok, it is language issue, when I change windows over to Spanish (and probably) others the ,. issue happens when reading from db. 24.odd becomes 24 thousand with a ,

Will look into. Cheers to SA3ATF who mentioned it a couple of times :D
ea3aqr
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ea3aqr » Tue Sep 17, 2019 5:46 pm

ramdor wrote:
ea3aqr wrote:BAD NEWS...

Same crash again without enabling DX Spotter.


Yeah thought so as it seemed ok on my installed (and others), but I did fix the click on yellow area bug in the spot window :lol:

Is this after a fresh install, after an uninstall, with removal of C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Roaming\OpenHPSDR ?

Also, if you get it up and running again, keep eye on bottom left frequency reading, just before you click to change frequency. Does this number look ok?

Next test will be setting up a vm, with a spanish language install. Or perhaps it is related to really wide display causing issue with freq calculation.

Also, I am investigating the save/apply settings code, I dont like the way it gives up if there is already a save in progress, but this should not cause what you are seeing.

Everyone should be seeing this issue.... very odd.


Hi,

Looks that the last crash was produced after importing my Thetis 2.6.7 TX profile.

I've deleted the database (just deleteded .xml file), renamed a backup one as database.xml and thetis started without any issue. Then I've just continued setting it up with no problems at all.

Right now, without any old TX import or using DX Spotter, it is working fine for a while...

I will keep you informed!

Thanks for your help
ea3aqr
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ea3aqr » Tue Sep 17, 2019 5:47 pm

ramdor wrote:ok, it is language issue, when I change windows over to Spanish (and probably) others the ,. issue happens when reading from db. 24.odd becomes 24 thousand with a ,

Will look into. Cheers to SA3ATF who mentioned it a couple of times :D


GREAT! :D :D :D
ea3aqr
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ea3aqr » Tue Sep 17, 2019 5:55 pm

NEW BUG:

Same crash when trying to ad a "memory".

Rolling back to 2.6.7
cLicari
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:33 pm
Location: North Texas

Re: 2.6.8

Postby cLicari » Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:17 pm

Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (31.07 KiB) Viewed 685 times


Got this error trying to install 2.6.8.
I have run 2.6.7 and FW 1.9 in the past but reverted back to PowerSDR after experiencing some problems after months of no issues.
Rig is an 8000DLE
Any help would be appreciated.
Thx
Carl
Last edited by cLicari on Fri Sep 20, 2019 3:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
Carl Licari
NX5T
Anan 8000DLE, FW v2.0 pre2, Thetis 2.6.8 d2,
Windows 10, dedicated network subnet, Intel i7 8700K, 32GB, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060, Samsung 40" 4K display
vk1hx
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2019 12:03 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby vk1hx » Tue Sep 17, 2019 10:32 pm

.
Last edited by vk1hx on Sat Oct 19, 2019 1:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ramdor
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ramdor » Wed Sep 18, 2019 12:45 am

Hi,

For those having issues related to region/language (ea3aqr SA3ATF etc) please try : https://www.dropbox.com/s/s2376eb4xf99y ... 9.zip?dl=0

You will need to delete/remove/reset your database, and possibly your memory.xml file if those have become corrupt.

Richie.

changes (b6)
change: forced whole app to en-US, to overcome issue with settings files containing , instead of . Spot and Memory forms were already forced to en-US and caused issues with rest of Thetis
fix: clicking on the spot window (yellow) background does not cause an error
SA3ATF
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:42 pm
Location: Solleftea Sweden JP83PE
Contact:

Re: 2.6.8

Postby SA3ATF » Wed Sep 18, 2019 5:49 am

Good news ramdor!
I'll try this when I get home from work tonight and announce how it works :)
I don’t suffer from insanity, I enjoy every second of it!
ea3aqr
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ea3aqr » Wed Sep 18, 2019 9:26 am

ramdor wrote:Hi,

For those having issues related to region/language (ea3aqr SA3ATF etc) please try : https://www.dropbox.com/s/s2376eb4xf99y ... 9.zip?dl=0

You will need to delete/remove/reset your database, and possibly your memory.xml file if those have become corrupt.

Richie.

changes (b6)
change: forced whole app to en-US, to overcome issue with settings files containing , instead of . Spot and Memory forms were already forced to en-US and caused issues with rest of Thetis
fix: clicking on the spot window (yellow) background does not cause an error


GREAT JOB Richie!

The new build is working flawessly!.

As recommended, I've deleted all databases and memory files, then imported my old TX profile to the new database and started the DX spotter option. Thetis didn't crashed, so I've started building again all my settings.

My setup is now finished and Thetis works perfectly without any issue. I've made a few QSO's and all is working fine!.

Good job man!

Thetis_OK.jpg
Thetis_OK.jpg (1.05 MiB) Viewed 637 times


Thanks for you support!

Jordi
Last edited by ea3aqr on Wed Sep 18, 2019 11:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
ea3aqr
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm

Re: 2.6.8

Postby ea3aqr » Wed Sep 18, 2019 9:52 am

I've detected a small/non important issue...

This version doesn't show the correct band allocation for Spain. In 40m we are allowed to use 7.000 to 7.200 and it is showing 7.300 as the upper band end (USA band plan).

Return to “Thetis”