Changing Windows 10 Network Throttling Index for Better Performance

User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2975
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Changing Windows 10 Network Throttling Index for Better Performance

Postby w-u-2-o » Fri May 14, 2021 5:16 pm

Many people have found changing the Windows 10 Network Throttling Index setting in the Windows registry produces vastly superior performance by eliminating "Seq" errors, reducing or eliminating audio glitches on both transmit and receive, and improving VAC performance as well.

It's not entirely clear exactly what behavior this setting controls in Windows because network testing tools don't show any dramatic changes in performance, but the results have been undeniable for many who have made the change.

This is a tweak that comes out of the gaming community and was first identified as being applicable to our needs by EA3AQR. Thank you, Jordi!

To change this setting you need to run the Registry Editor (regedit), then find the following registry key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Multimedia\SystemProfile

In that key you should find a registry value of type REG_DWORD called NetworkThrottlingIndex. It will have a default value of 0000000a in hexidecimal notation, which is 10 in decimal notation.

Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (91.17 KiB) Viewed 2330 times


Double click on that value, change it to ffffffff (eight "f"s), click OK, close the Registry Editor, and reboot.

Capture2.JPG
Capture2.JPG (86.93 KiB) Viewed 2330 times


If for some reason you do not see a REG_DWORD called NetworkThrottlingIndex you can create one under the SystemProfile registry key by right-clicking in the right hand pane of the Registry Editor, selecting New > DWORD (32-bit) Value, creating it, then edit it as specified above.

That should do the trick. Not everyone notices a difference. If you experience problems, simply repeat the above instructions and change the value back to the default (hex "a", decimal 10).
ea3aqr
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm
Location: BCN

Re: Changing Windows 10 Network Throttling Index for Better Performance

Postby ea3aqr » Sat May 15, 2021 7:22 am

Nice topic Scott!

It has been a pleasure to be able to contribute with something really useful to the Anan comunity.
I hope it can help many users!.
AB2EZ
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 2:29 pm
Location: Princeton, NJ

Re: Changing Windows 10 Network Throttling Index for Better Performance

Postby AB2EZ » Sat May 15, 2021 5:53 pm

This worked great for me:

Apache 10E + latest Win10, running VAC without resampling, FT8, monitoring RF output waveform on an oscilloscope:

Prior to changing the throttling index I was seeing roughly 2 glitches (more or less) in each 15 second FT8 transmission period. Each glitch appears as a 5.3 millisecond RF output dropout. Main sampling rate is 96kHz, main sample buffer is set to 512 samples. Note that 512 samples/96k samples per second = 5.3 milliseconds.

After changing the throttling index to ffffffff, I don’t see any glitches.

Stu
Last edited by AB2EZ on Sat May 15, 2021 7:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Joe
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 5:58 pm

Re: Changing Windows 10 Network Throttling Index for Better Performance

Postby Joe » Sat May 15, 2021 6:44 pm

Hi,
Will the windows 10 update revert the "Throttling Index" back to the original setting, do we need to check this periodically? Thanks very much for your help.

Thanks,
Joe
WD5Y
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2975
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Changing Windows 10 Network Throttling Index for Better Performance

Postby w-u-2-o » Sat May 15, 2021 7:44 pm

Don't know, Joe.
K1LSB
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2020 5:25 pm

Re: Changing Windows 10 Network Throttling Index for Better Performance

Postby K1LSB » Sat May 15, 2021 10:56 pm

Joe wrote:Hi,
Will the windows 10 update revert the "Throttling Index" back to the original setting, do we need to check this periodically? Thanks very much for your help.

Thanks,
Joe
WD5Y


I got a Windows update yesterday, Throttling Index is still where I set it earlier in the week (ffffffff).

Mark
Joe
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 5:58 pm

Re: Changing Windows 10 Network Throttling Index for Better Performance

Postby Joe » Sun May 16, 2021 7:47 pm

Just worked up a batch file to set the Network Throttling Index to Disabled, works very good. Would be good to have this execute at the PC's shutdown in case an update occurs at restart. Might be of some use, the .bat lines are as follows:

@echo off

reg add "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Multimedia\SystemProfile" /v "NetworkThrottlingIndex" /t REG_DWORD /d 4294967295 /f

exit


73's
Joe
WD5Y
Helmut
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 3:08 pm

Re: Changing Windows 10 Network Throttling Index for Better Performance

Postby Helmut » Tue May 18, 2021 8:18 am

I think we have to care more about the win10 updates when Thetis should run perfect ! Making PDF-prints of Registry changes is my preference.

https://www.windowslatest.com/2021/05/1 ... o-quality/

and Version 21H1 is coming soon

73, Helmut
VK2WJ
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 17, 2021 1:38 am

Re: Changing Windows 10 Network Throttling Index for Better Performance

Postby VK2WJ » Sat May 22, 2021 1:49 am

All
I have made these changes and now I have a Yellow lightening bolt with 13.8v 25.0A in the bottom LHS where it used to give me the CPU usage.

If I click on it it does not change or give me any information.
Any suggestions what it means,
Thanks
John
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (20.31 KiB) Viewed 1676 times
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2975
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Changing Windows 10 Network Throttling Index for Better Performance

Postby w-u-2-o » Sat May 22, 2021 12:07 pm

John--what version of Thetis are you running, and with what hardware (e.g. 200D, 7000, etc? Not only do I not see CPU percentage, but also do not see the antenna assignments on the status bar. This implies that you are either running an older version of Thetis, in which case you should update to 2.8.11, or if you are running 2.8.11 that the database or installation has somehow become corrupt. In either case this seems entirely coincidental to your registry change, which should have absolutely nothing to do with any of this.

FWIW, you can turn the volts/amps display on/off in Setup > Display > General.
WR4N
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2021 3:29 am
Location: Tennessee

Re: Changing Windows 10 Network Throttling Index for Better Performance

Postby WR4N » Mon May 24, 2021 8:51 pm

VK2WJ wrote:All
I have made these changes and now I have a Yellow lightening bolt with 13.8v 25.0A in the bottom LHS where it used to give me the CPU usage.

If I click on it it does not change or give me any information.
Any suggestions what it means,
Thanks
JohnCapture.JPG


May not be relevant (and I’m away from the shack and going from memory - never a good thing for me- lol), but I had what appeared to be “full screen” but it wasn’t - not until I expanded to actual “full screen.” If I remember correctly, only then did I see CPU usage, etc. Again, may not apply, but I thought I’d note it.
RADIO: ANAN 7000 DLE MK2 (Black Version) Thetis 2.8.11.
PC: HP Desktop - Intel Core i7 (10th Gen) - 16GB memory - 512GB SSD - Intel UHD Graphics 630 - WINDOWS 10 (100% Dedicated to ANAN)
PS: ASTRON 35 AMP (100% Dedicated to ANAN)

Best 73s,
WR4N - David

Return to “Thetis”