Anan 8000DLE and SDR Console will not transmit

nico
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 22, 2019 9:06 am

Anan 8000DLE and SDR Console will not transmit

Postby nico » Sat May 25, 2019 8:45 am

Hi

I have the latest firmware on the Anan 8000DLE however have not managed to TX successfully. I get no output on SSB and when I try FM/AM the rig draws nearly 50A and outputs around 300W and I have no control over the power output.

I suspect that it is user error on my part and that I have not set something up right in the software. Any pointers what I need to check would be greatly appreciated.

The Anan 8000 works great with Thetis so we can exclude a hardware / firmware issue

Thanks

Nicholas 2E0GKG
nico
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 22, 2019 9:06 am

Re: Anan 8000DLE and SDR Console will not transmit

Postby nico » Sun May 26, 2019 8:53 am

I have managed to transmit in SSB mode now and it works great however the drive level can not be set when in TUNE mode still which results in the Anan blasting out 300W + into my test dummy load here
User avatar
W1AEX
Posts: 205
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:17 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Anan 8000DLE and SDR Console will not transmit

Postby W1AEX » Sun May 26, 2019 10:27 pm

Hi Nico. It looks like you are making progress with transmitting SSB. There are two menu settings in the Transmit menu tab that affect the power setting when using Tune. You can define the power that you want Tune to use by adjusting the value in the Tune power box, or you can enable the option to use whatever the Drive power setting is adjusted to with the slider in the GUI. Hopefully, those settings will give you control over the power level you are seeing when using the Tune button.

73,

Rob W1AEX

Image
Last edited by W1AEX on Thu Jul 25, 2019 1:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
"One thing I am certain of is that there is too much certainty in the world."
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1664
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Anan 8000DLE and SDR Console will not transmit

Postby w-u-2-o » Mon May 27, 2019 1:45 am

He's using SDR Console. This is the SDR Console sub-forum ;)
User avatar
W1AEX
Posts: 205
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:17 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Anan 8000DLE and SDR Console will not transmit

Postby W1AEX » Mon May 27, 2019 1:00 pm

Ouch, this is what happens when I sort by last active topic while drinking too much coffee! Sorry about that Nico and feel free to delete my post Scott!

73,

Rob

:o
"One thing I am certain of is that there is too much certainty in the world."
efeustel
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2018 1:40 pm

Re: Anan 8000DLE and SDR Console will not transmit

Postby efeustel » Sun Jul 21, 2019 1:52 pm

This is a big problem with transmitting on the 7000 and 8000. SDR-Console does not seem to expose the "gain coefficients" that PowerSDR-mRX and Thetis use to limit the maximum power to around 200 watts for the 8000 and 100 watts for the 7000 on each band. I am also wondering about PTT which seems to be defined from the computer rather than allowing it directly on the 8000. Configure could display many more parameters for the transmitter which would be really useful. But this is probably true for each transceiver that SDR Console supports.

Simon have you had luck transmitting with your new 8000? Thanks to you for all the optimizations and additional modes that make SDR Console V3 quite useful for receiving on all Protocol 2 enabled Anan rigs (for those of us who use Windows).
73,
Ed, N5EI
dl1ycf
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 7:16 am

Re: Anan 8000DLE and SDR Console will not transmit

Postby dl1ycf » Mon Aug 05, 2019 2:01 pm

efeustel wrote:This is a big problem with transmitting on the 7000 and 8000. SDR-Console does not seem to expose the "gain coefficients" that PowerSDR-mRX and Thetis use to limit the maximum power to around 200 watts for the 8000 and 100 watts for the 7000 on each band.
73,
Ed, N5EI


Those programs have "built in" the PA gain of all models on the market, so you must select the model. Other programs are more generic, that is, you need not speficy the details (whether it is HERMES or ANGELIA or Orion or Orion2 can be figured out upon discovery). I very much opt for "generic" programs and let the user set the PA gain correctly. However, the "PA gain" should be set by default to about 55 dB, then overdrives are unlikely, and the user must as the very first thing set the drive level to 50, transmit into a dummy load, and then adjust the PA gain for each band such that 50 watts come out (lower gain ==> more output).

Christoph DL1YCF.

Return to “SDR Console”