Drive level issues

db8gk
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 8:05 am

Drive level issues

Postby db8gk » Fri May 01, 2020 8:52 pm

Hi,

I've managed to make my 7000DLE Mk2 with Firmware 2.0b work with SDR Console 3.0.22, and I've run into a very interesting issue. The TX Drive setting in SDR Console seems to be way off. In my first tests with a drive setting of 50 (using JDTX to generate an FT8 signal at 0dB), I saw the needle of my external Watt meter jump to the maximum of its 300W range! Needless to say, I was very quick to reach for the power switch. Trying again with very low input levels from JTDX, I ended up having to dial the drive down to 2 (out of a possible range of up to 100!) to get the 50W output I actually want to run on.

So, multiple questions here. Did anyone else notice this problem before? Is it actually possible for the radio to emit more than the 100W as per specification? Can I damage the radio with the wrong drive level values?

73,
Andreas
w4cm
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 8:18 pm

Re: Drive level issues

Postby w4cm » Sat May 02, 2020 1:38 pm

You need to set gain controls in SDR Console.
Transmit tab, options, audio in, gains, drive slider.
Set for each band.
db8gk
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 8:05 am

Re: Drive level issues

Postby db8gk » Sat May 02, 2020 7:33 pm

Yes, that's what I did. Set the audio gain so that the ALC is around 100, as instructed in the manual. Still need to turn the drive all the way down.
PD3LK
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 8:45 pm

Re: Drive level issues

Postby PD3LK » Sat May 02, 2020 8:06 pm

Hi, no use a trustworthy powermeter and adjust the DRIVE slider for each band to 100 Watt. (i used the 2-tone test in SSB)
My settings for 20 m as an example:
Gain: 80%
Proc: 75%
Drive : 58%
After all band settings the Drive Slider in your TX DSP window will work from zero to that max settings you made (100W)
73, PD3LK (same 7k here)
73 PD3LK Leon

Return to “SDR Console”