Forum Search Problem

Forum rules
If you forgot your password, please use the password reset feature.

For profile changes or private issues, please contact a moderator by email or PM (use "The team" link at the bottom of the page)
W2QO-Jamie
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:50 pm

Forum Search Problem

Postby W2QO-Jamie » Mon Feb 24, 2020 2:31 pm

Is there a way to search for VB-Cable in this forum?

The hyphen is ignored and VB-Cable is treated as two separate words. Then the VB is ignored because it is only two characters.

Putting VB-Cable in quotes doesn't work as the quotes are ignored.

Is there a secret to this or is it a case of you can't get there from here?

--Jamie, W2QO
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2603
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Forum Search Problem

Postby w-u-2-o » Mon Feb 24, 2020 5:28 pm

There is currently no way to do what you want. It is possible to fix this, but I will have to work with the forum provider to see if they can set it up. More to follow if I can get this done.
W2QO-Jamie
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:50 pm

Re: Forum Search Problem

Postby W2QO-Jamie » Mon Feb 24, 2020 7:21 pm

OK, thanks for looking at it.

73, Jamie 2QO
sv1jso
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 7:06 pm

Re: Forum Search Problem

Postby sv1jso » Tue Feb 25, 2020 8:42 am

Try this: “Vb-cable”
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2603
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Forum Search Problem

Postby w-u-2-o » Tue Feb 25, 2020 11:19 am

sv1jso wrote:Try this: “Vb-cable”

Did you try it yourself? I already know the answer, because it you had you would have found that it doesn't work. You also get all instances of vb and cable by themselves.

I have to get the web support team to fix a problem with the back end SQL database so I can change the search engine on the forum to one that will search for entire strings.
ea3aqr
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm
Location: BCN

Re: Forum Search Problem

Postby ea3aqr » Wed Feb 26, 2020 3:02 pm

No results found using an advanced search in Google for VB-Cable at Apache.labs site.

Just for reference, you can use Google to search keywords in one specific website using:

KEYWORD site:DOMAIN_NAME. In this particular case just use "VB-Cable" site:apache-labs.com

Hope this helps for future searches

Return to “Forum Problems, Help & Suggestions”