Microwave transverter issue

User avatar
FM5GB
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 10:03 pm

Microwave transverter issue

Postby FM5GB » Thu Jun 07, 2018 11:42 pm

Hi all !

I am trying to complete a 10 GHz (3 cm) transverter (in fact it is a tranverter chain : 10 GHz-144 MHz-28 MHz).
Unfortunately I am unable to set up tranverters with a higher LO than a little over 2000 MHz in PSDR.
If I attemp to do so PSDR stops working and the main window gets empty (no more panadapter nor waterfall)

Is there a way to solve this issue ? (PSDR v3.4.9. Orion 5.0)

Best 73s Phil FM5GB
DL8LAQ
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:28 pm
Location: JO43XU

Re: Microwave transverter issue

Postby DL8LAQ » Tue Jun 19, 2018 4:01 pm

Hi Phil,

this "bug" must be addressed to Doug, W5WC, but maybe he has already seen your message.

73, Norbert - holidays in JM57NH - CT7/DL8LAQ
73, Norbert - DL8LAQ - ANAN-7000DLE
User avatar
FM5GB
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 10:03 pm

Re: Microwave transverter issue

Postby FM5GB » Sat Aug 11, 2018 7:05 pm

Hi all !

I eventually made it work by downgrading to HPSDRmRx3.4.2. Any try to install a newer version would
lead to the same bug : any transverter receiving frequencie above about 2000 MHz makes the panadapter-waterfall
window erase any info & show only the back ground, so no tuning is possible.

I tried several Orion (200D) firmware from 4.8 up to 5.2 with no luck as long as HPSDRmRx is above 3.4.2. By the way
I must not use a firmware higher than 4.9 in order to use Pure Signal.

I stopped my protocol2 /thetis tests as my 200D gets too unstable under this setup. So I don't know if there is an
issue like this with thetis.

73s Phil FM5GB.
User avatar
Mike_N1JEZ
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:05 pm

Re: Microwave transverter issue

Postby Mike_N1JEZ » Tue Mar 12, 2019 10:29 pm

Has there been any news on this issue? Trying to set up transverters with an offset greater than 2000 is a problem.

Tnx,
Mike
73,
Mike, N1JEZ
"A closed mouth gathers no feet"
User avatar
FM5GB
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 10:03 pm

Re: Microwave transverter issue

Postby FM5GB » Fri May 10, 2019 10:32 pm

Hi,
I am now using Thetis 2.6.7, and protocol 2 FW 1.9. (Orion 200D)
An there is no more issue with the transverter settings.

THe only problem is when importing a saved database the transverter table is lost.

73s. Phil
ve2xx
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: Microwave transverter issue

Postby ve2xx » Wed Jun 09, 2021 4:08 pm

Crikey!

Faced issue this am , some W10 update, wiped out my Xml file,

Originally was using a 100D as an IF now i using a Hermes specifically set up for 28 meg IF , oddly enough if the SW was used on the 100D and you used the Hermes after it would gladly use the 2000MHZ set up in the gui like when going to 2304 or 3456.
So this am after the W10 update issue i went back and rebuilt the transverter table and weird issues started happening, if the Screen freezes up you toggle Rx2 button and the waterfall goes back as it should, I remember seeing this several tears ago i sort of forgot about it till i read this thread .

Anyways major pain to have to rebuild the transverter IF table and various power settings , i know the easiest would be to set the transverter levels so that the Hermes IF is always at 100% but sometimes its not that simple.

I sure wish there would be a simple way to exceed the 2000mhz barrier in the GUI . Maybe by selecting a different radio in the Hardware page??

Not willing to go through the whole setup again right now to find out!


And another item on the wish list is to have the transverter table saved on Export/Import and the ability to lock the power settings on the transverter GUI. Those who use the table know exactly what i am talking abt, I smoked a 1296 driver PA because of a mistake.

73's stu Ve2xx

Return to “Transverters”