New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

FIRMWARE TOPICS ONLY--non-firmware topics will be MOVED
Forum rules
Until such time as the New Protocol firmware goes into general release, all discussion will be concentrated here.
db8gk
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 8:05 am

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby db8gk » Fri May 15, 2020 9:30 pm

w-u-2-o wrote:
db8gk wrote:The Bootloader source can be found under "openHPSDR-Protocol1-Programmers".


Hah, apparently I just didn't dig deep enough. Thanks! Builds from source, let's see.
NN3RP
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 1:53 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby NN3RP » Sat May 16, 2020 12:00 am

If it helps, WSJT-X needs / demands your PC to have time synchronized with time server, i.e., using Dimension 4 software or other. Otherwise you will not be heard. I've been there done that.



Rafael / NN3RP
Rafael / NN3RP
Nation's Capital USA
K1LSB
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2020 5:25 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby K1LSB » Sun May 17, 2020 3:18 am

NN3RP wrote:If it helps, WSJT-X needs / demands your PC to have time synchronized with time server, i.e., using Dimension 4 software or other. Otherwise you will not be heard. I've been there done that.

Rafael / NN3RP


Rafael,

Just a heads-up, Dimension 4 software was written for Windows 95 and hasn't been maintained for 16 years.

Mark K1LSB
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2924
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby w-u-2-o » Sun May 17, 2020 10:41 am

Gents: let's keep the thread drift to a minimum, please. If you wish to discuss options for time sync software, please do it here: viewforum.php?f=16
User avatar
w0ivj
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 29, 2020 9:06 pm
Location: Boulder, CO
Contact:

Protocol 2 Firmware Problems

Postby w0ivj » Tue Jun 02, 2020 4:47 am

I am running an ANAN 7000DLE MKII with PoweSDR mRX v.3.4.9(3/19/18) using Protocol 1 Orion_MKII_v2.7_K5SO_5-4.rbf. It seems to work perfectly. When I switched to Thetis v2.6.9 (1/25/20) using Protocol 2 Orion_MKII_Protocol_2v1.9.rbf, I experienced what I think is called (elevated noise floor of doom). I understand that this results from timing errors in the firmware that happens with some hardware. In an attempt to solve this, I reverted to some different versions of P2 firmware. Here is a list of Protocol 2 firmware that I tried and some of the problems:
metis_Orion_MkII_v2.7_K5SO_5-4.rbf will not connect
metis_Orion_MkII_Prorocol_2_v2.0b.rbf puresignal will not work
metis_Orion_MkII_Protocol_2_v1.9.rbf noise floor of doom
metis_Orion_MkII_Protocol_2_v2.0_pre1.rbf This file works with no raised noise floor and puresignal but has popping audio, spectrum jumps on tune, and many sequence errors.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2924
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Protocol 2 Firmware Problems

Postby w-u-2-o » Tue Jun 02, 2020 11:22 am

w0ivj wrote:I am running an ANAN 7000DLE MKII with PoweSDR mRX v.3.4.9(3/19/18) using Protocol 1 Orion_MKII_v2.7_K5SO_5-4.rbf. It seems to work perfectly. When I switched to Thetis v2.6.9 (1/25/20) using Protocol 2 Orion_MKII_Protocol_2v1.9.rbf, I experienced what I think is called (elevated noise floor of doom). I understand that this results from timing errors in the firmware that happens with some hardware.
That is correct.
In an attempt to solve this, I reverted to some different versions of P2 firmware. Here is a list of Protocol 2 firmware that I tried and some of the problems:
metis_Orion_MkII_v2.7_K5SO_5-4.rbf will not connect
That certainly won't, it's a Protocol 1 firmware build and Thetis requires Protocol 2 firmware to be loaded.
metis_Orion_MkII_Prorocol_2_v2.0b.rbf puresignal will not work
metis_Orion_MkII_Protocol_2_v1.9.rbf noise floor of doom
metis_Orion_MkII_Protocol_2_v2.0_pre1.rbf This file works with no raised noise floor and puresignal but has popping audio, spectrum jumps on tune, and many sequence errors.
You will have to go back up to the beginning of this topic (the first post) and continue to try different versions of firmware until you find one that works. Very rarely someone will find they are in the unfortunately position of owning a serial number that will not work with any available version of P2 firmware. Let's hope that's not the case here. But you have many other versions to try still.

73,

Scott
kc2rgw
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 5:44 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby kc2rgw » Tue Oct 20, 2020 2:15 pm

Have any of you found you need to reload firmware for glitching, similar to the database reset?

I'm running 2.0.0b on a 7000 DLE mkII and started having a lot of odd glitches with the latest 2.8.7 and now 2.8.9 Thetis. I've done database resets and re-imports. The issue seems to be a firmware issue as power cycling the radio itself "fixes" the issue but only for short periods of time.

What I'm seeing.

CTUN selected at startup, I rarely use it, I've toggled it on/off/on/off, still pops up from time to time.

PTT, mutes audio and waterfall but doesn't key the relay or bring up the transmit audio.

PureSignal stops working, toggling PSA multiple times doesn't kick it back in, takes a power cycle of the radio to bring it back.

I'm wondering if anyone has had firmware get "corrupted" and need to be reloaded?

**Update. This was all due to Malware Bytes monkeying around with the network stack. I removed it and all returned to normal again.
Last edited by kc2rgw on Tue Jan 19, 2021 2:20 pm, edited 4 times in total.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2924
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby w-u-2-o » Tue Oct 20, 2020 3:30 pm

Anything that requires a power cycle of the hardware indicates malfunctioning firmware. your PTT and PureSignal problems are indicative of this. The CTUN issue has nothing to do with it.

The most likely explanation is that the firmware you have loaded is just barely making timing when your hardware is cool, but as it warms up it starts to fall out of timing closure. It's not becoming corrupt, the bits and bytes in the non-volatile memory are intact, but the version you have with the hardware you have is right on the edge for timing closure vs. temperature.

I'd recommend you try a different version of the P2 firmware. Go back to the first post in this topic and pick a few to download and try. You may even need to go back to 1.9 or possibly 1.8 series revisions.
kc2rgw
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 5:44 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby kc2rgw » Tue Oct 20, 2020 3:36 pm

w-u-2-o wrote:I'd recommend you try a different version of the P2 firmware. Go back to the first post in this topic and pick a few to download and try. You may even need to go back to 1.9 or possibly 1.8 series revisions.


OK thanks, will see if it continues as stable with the 2.8.9 now. it was reasonably stable on 2.7.0 a3 with the 2.0.0b
kc2rgw
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 5:44 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby kc2rgw » Sat Oct 24, 2020 2:09 pm

This _still_continues_ and it was unfortunately not RF. I'm losing control of the radio without any sign of it happening until I go to PTT or tune etc.

I've narrowed this down to either Thetis or the firmware. The audio continues to come through so it isn't the OS network link or that wouldn't work. I've tried many optimization combinations for the NIC settings, stripped out all the things it shouldn't be using, updated the driver and then reset all the params back to defaults as well. None of that has helped.

I'm losing the control channel that tunes and PTTs the radio and that to me says a software issue. Occasionally I can just "power cycle" Thetis and catch it and it goes again, but of late that won't even do it reliably and the radio itself needs to be power cycled.

I tried to dump the 2.7.0a3 files on top of the 32 bit 2.8.11 but that won't work. I've tried firmware all the way back to 1.8, same issue. I've run 2.8.7 through .11 now, same issue. It started with the 2.8.x series.

I can't remember what the baseline release was that I initially plunked the 2.7.0a3 files onto, but will keep trying to get myself back to that state as that with 2.0.0.b was fine for several months aside from some sequence errors...I never lost control of the radio at least. The msi installer for 2.8.x just wiped out the old install, ugh. I tried to tell it to install to a new dir but it took the input and ignored it.

It has been very very frustrating the last week or so, not being able to run this thing reliably and not find a consistent trigger or pattern for the issue. I have to say if this was linux I would at least have system logs and the utilities that give me the ability to actually analyze the traffic and system call traces to find what is going on. Working with Windows is so infuriating with it being such a black box. It's just too far over my head to try and get this ported to Qt or some other portable toolkit so it can run on a more reliable OS platform.

I'm hoping I'm not the only one seeing this issue. Some other threads sound like similar experiences.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2924
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby w-u-2-o » Sat Oct 24, 2020 4:02 pm

I suggest you uninstall all instances of 2.8.x and completely delete the settings folders. Install the firmware that worked for you with 2.7. Then reinstall 2.6.9 and upgrade to 2.7 per the 2.7 thread. Then start with a fresh database. This will get you back to the baseline that you say worked.

If that baseline no longer works, then something else has gone wrong.

Unfortunately you do seem to be the only person expressing such difficulties. It is worth noting that the alpha version of 2.8 did not precisely copy the exact sequence of C2 packets as used in 2.6.9 and 2.7. This did cause many difficulties among alpha testers. As a result, 2.8 was changed to exactly mimic the C2 behavior of 2.7, and that solved the problem.
kc2rgw
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 5:44 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby kc2rgw » Sat Oct 24, 2020 9:03 pm

There is a chance I've found the issue... only a handful of hours into it so far.

I stripped Malware Bytes out of my system, it had a major version update about when 2.8.x dropped. They added "features" to it, even though I disabled them as an override.

After removing it and rebooting to ensure the network stack shims were out...I've been stable.

I'll reply back to the main wall of text with an update if this holds for a decent amount of time.

Currently, status is 2.8.11 with 2.0.0.b running, I left the house with it running for several hours, and it's still stable. That was not possible for a week or so now. No glitches, multiple bands, multiple modes, been stable all afternoon which is longer than it has run for a week or so now.

I've had the firewall and any other filtering disabled for ages, prior to the Anan even due to the issues caused with other apps. Will update as it goes.
kc2rgw
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 5:44 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby kc2rgw » Sun Oct 25, 2020 9:56 pm

I've confirmed the issues I was having were all a result of having Malware Bytes installed. The major version update Malware Bytes pushed right about the time the 2.8.x release happened kicked off all sorts of issues on my Windows 10 system.

Now that I've completely removed Malware Bytes, all_of_my_issues are now resolved.

Anan 7000 DLE mkII running firmware 2.0.0b with Thetis 2.8.11 has now been running over 24 hours continuously, multiple bands, multiple modes, have not had to even hit the power on Thetis itself, glitch free.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2924
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby w-u-2-o » Sun Oct 25, 2020 10:31 pm

Good news!
K1LSB
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2020 5:25 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby K1LSB » Sun Oct 25, 2020 10:54 pm

I use Bitdefender Antivirus Free, it's very low overhead (much lower than Windows Defender) and doesn't appear to openly interfere with any aspect of use of the PC.

Edit: I have Bitdefender set up to Exclude Thetis from the things it's watching.
kc2rgw
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 5:44 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby kc2rgw » Thu Oct 29, 2020 11:47 am

Yeah I had the Thetis versions all whitelisted to be ignored as well but that didn’t stop the issues. I think they were just handling all packets.

A few days in now, everything is running better than it ever had now that Malware Bytes is uninstalled.
m1tzr
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 4:40 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby m1tzr » Tue Dec 01, 2020 8:16 pm

I have just received a 7000mk2 black edition. I am trying to work out what firmware is currently loaded but getting confused.
If I look on https://github.com/TAPR/OpenHPSDR-Firmw ... LE-8000DLE) then the latest version is v1.9
When I use HPSDR Programer to look at the radio it says
Protocol 3.8
Firmware 2.0

If I check in General > h/w select this also shows ver:2.0

Thanks in advance
Paul
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2924
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby w-u-2-o » Tue Dec 01, 2020 9:37 pm

Paul,

Your post is missing a lot of detail. However, reading between the lines, it would appear that you are using the "web programmer". Since the web programmer is discovering the hardware that means, by definition, that the hardware has Protocol 2 firmware loaded on it (the web programmer will not discover Protocol 1 firmware). This is further confirmed by the firmware version being reported as "2.0".

With respect to P2 firmware, unfortunately Git is no longer 100% complete. The latest is available from this exact forum topic, in the first post.

There is no way to know exactly what is loaded because all of the beta versions referred to in the first post of this topic only report as "2.0". In order to know for certain you would have to reload the firmware and thereby know, a priori, what you loaded.

It is strongly recommended that you use Bootloader to load P2 firmware and not the web programmer.

73,

Scott
m1tzr
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 4:40 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby m1tzr » Tue Dec 01, 2020 10:21 pm

Thanks for the quick response Scott. Yes I was using the web loader thinking this would show me what was currently installed, not that I was trying to update it.
I don't want to change anything yet as so far everything seems OK. But if I update the firmware with any new releases in the future that don't work I would have liked to have known what was previously loaded.

Thanks again for the quick response
Paul
User avatar
KA5KKT
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 6:51 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby KA5KKT » Tue Jan 19, 2021 1:59 am

What version of firmware are recent ('21) DLE 7000's arriving with?
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2924
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby w-u-2-o » Tue Jan 19, 2021 3:09 am

My understanding is they are shipping with P1 firmware, but someone who is a recent recipient will have to confirm.
PD3LK
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 8:45 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby PD3LK » Tue Jan 19, 2021 10:46 pm

I asked explicit for P2 but got (1,5 year ago) P1 when the radio arrived.
When i asked Apache about this they told that they first prepared it with P2 but they had to put P1 back because they couldn't do quality tests in the factory with P2.
73 PD3LK Leon
va7qi
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:22 am
Location: Quadra Island, BC
Contact:

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby va7qi » Wed Jan 20, 2021 5:49 am

My 7000DLE MkII was shipped with version 2 firmware and has been working very well for several months.

73 de va7qi, ....Erik.
HB9LFQ
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2021 11:44 am

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby HB9LFQ » Sun Apr 11, 2021 10:34 am

Hi all,

just got my 7000DLE MKII and it was shipped with protocol 1 v 2.7.

73,
András
LU2FAF
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:55 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby LU2FAF » Wed May 12, 2021 8:52 pm

Can I use this firmware for my Orion MK2 board ?, isnt 7000/8000
LU2FAF
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:55 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby LU2FAF » Wed May 12, 2021 9:00 pm

Using web flasher

Code: Select all

2021/05/12 17:53:49         Unknown: (d8:80:39:6f:92:3b) (192.168.0.6:1024)
2021/05/12 17:53:49
2021/05/12 17:53:49         Board Type: Unknown
2021/05/12 17:53:49        HPSDR Board: (d8:80:39:6f:92:3b)
2021/05/12 17:53:49      Board Address: 192.168.0.6:1024
2021/05/12 17:53:49           Protocol: 3.8
2021/05/12 17:53:49           Firmware: 1.9
2021/05/12 17:53:49          Receivers: 4
2021/05/12 17:53:49        Freq. Input: Phase_word
2021/05/12 17:53:49             Status: not running


2021/05/12 17:55:16 Served Program Interface page.
2021/05/12 17:55:24 Served Upload Interface page.
2021/05/12 17:55:24 Directory /home/hellmind/Downloads/HPSDRfiles/ created
2021/05/12 17:55:24 /home/hellmind/Downloads/HPSDRfiles/Orion_MkII_Protocol_2_v1.9.rbf
2021/05/12 17:55:24     Looking for rbf file: /home/hellmind/Downloads/HPSDRfiles/Orion_MkII_Protocol_2_v1.9.rbf
2021/05/12 17:55:24       Programming the HPSDR Board
2021/05/12 17:55:24     Found rbf file: /home/hellmind/Downloads/HPSDRfiles/Orion_MkII_Protocol_2_v1.9.rbf
2021/05/12 17:55:24      Size rbf file: 1727508
2021/05/12 17:55:24 Size rbf in memory: 1727744
2021/05/12 17:55:24            Packets: 6749
2021/05/12 17:55:26 Served Program Interface page.
2021/05/12 17:55:26     Looking for rbf file: /home/hellmind/Downloads/HPSDRfiles/Orion_MkII_Protocol_2_v1.9.rbf
2021/05/12 17:55:26              Erase: 192.168.0.5:1024 -> 192.168.0.6:1024
2021/05/12 17:55:26              Erase:  After Makepacket
2021/05/12 17:55:26              Erase: After Comlink
2021/05/12 17:55:26              Erase: After Commpacket [0 0 0 0 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0]

LU2FAF
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:55 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby LU2FAF » Wed May 12, 2021 9:03 pm

Using CMD flasher

Code: Select all

[hellmind@workstation programmer]$ ./HPSDRProgrammer_cmd -index 2 -selectMAC d8:80:39:6f:92:3b -setRBF ../Metis_Orion_MkII_Protocol_2_v2.0b.rbf
2021/05/12 18:03:09           Computer: (82:74:81:eb:d2:4c)
2021/05/12 18:03:09                 OS: linux (amd64) 12 CPU(s)
2021/05/12 18:03:09           Username:  (hellmind) /home/hellmind
2021/05/12 18:03:09               IPV4: 192.168.0.5
2021/05/12 18:03:09               IPV6: fe80::8074:81ff:feeb:d24c
2021/05/12 18:03:09           Discover: 192.168.0.5:0 -> 255.255.255.255:1024
2021/05/12 18:03:09      Received data: 60 bytes from 192.168.0.6:1024
2021/05/12 18:03:09
2021/05/12 18:03:09         Board Type: Unknown
2021/05/12 18:03:09        HPSDR Board: (d8:80:39:6f:92:3b)
2021/05/12 18:03:09      Board Address: 192.168.0.6:1024
2021/05/12 18:03:09           Protocol: 3.8
2021/05/12 18:03:09           Firmware: 1.9
2021/05/12 18:03:09          Receivers: 4
2021/05/12 18:03:09        Freq. Input: Phase_word
2021/05/12 18:03:09             Status: not running
2021/05/12 18:03:09       Selected MAC: (d8:80:39:6f:92:3b) Unknown
2021/05/12 18:03:09
      Input Check: RBF name "../Metis_Orion_MkII_Protocol_2_v2.0b.rbf" and selectedMAC board name "Unknown" (d8:80:39:6f:92:3b) do not match!
2021/05/12 18:03:09        Please correct to program the board.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2924
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby w-u-2-o » Wed May 12, 2021 9:16 pm

LU2FAF wrote:Can I use this firmware for my Orion MK2 board ?, isnt 7000/8000

Yes.
LU2FAF
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:55 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby LU2FAF » Thu May 13, 2021 2:36 pm

I ve found the problem, i was using the same ip of another device.
Fixed that, works fine.

Then I tried to upgrade it using the cmd. but same error appeared.

Using web it worked. but , now its bricked :(

How can I fix it?
PD3LK
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 8:45 pm

Re: New 7000/8000 Orion MKII Protocol 2 Firmware Topic

Postby PD3LK » Thu May 13, 2021 4:51 pm

Don't worry, the radio isn't bricked.
Download and use HPSDR Bootloader 2.0.4.4

More info can be found here:
search.php?keywords=HPSDR+Bootloader
73 PD3LK Leon

Return to “Protocol 2 Firmware (all radios)”