Cannot write Protocol 2 .rbf to 7000DLE MkII

Forum rules
Until such time as the New Protocol firmware goes into general release, all discussion will be concentrated here.
User avatar
neoklis
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 11:51 am
Location: Souni, Limassol, Cyprus
Contact:

Cannot write Protocol 2 .rbf to 7000DLE MkII

Postby neoklis » Tue Apr 23, 2019 3:00 pm

Hi

I have been trying to upgrade my (very recently bought) 7000DLE MkII
to Protocol 2. I first tried to use the Protocol 1 Programmer (the rig
arrived with P1 v2.4 firmware) but it didn't work out. The programmer
discovered the 7000 (I had it and Ethernet port set up to static IP)
and managed to erase the E-prom but writing the new firmware (v1.9 for
orion MkII) failed. It seemed to me that writing finished too quickly
(in a few sec).

Trying out Thetis also failed, the rig could not be discovered. I then
used the Bootloader to roll back to the original v2.4 firmware (with
the fix for the attenuators) and PowerSDR could then work with the rig.

I then tried again to upgrade from this working state to protocol 2
using the Bootloader but failed. Bootloader refused to write the .rbf
file, giving a message that Bootloader can only work with boards that
connect via Ethernet (I made sure I turn on the bootloader modes witch).

Since I was not sure what state the rig was in, I used Bootloader again
to write the Protocol 1 v2.4 firmware and this was successful.

Being new to ANAN and HPSDR work, I can only guess that Protocol 2 v1.9
.rbf file does not agree with the 7000DLE Mk II, since both the programmer
and Bootloader seem to fail to write the firmware. But having said that,
I may be getting it wrong myself, so would like to ask for some help here!

My thanks in advance!
User avatar
W1AEX
Posts: 201
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:17 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Cannot write Protocol 2 .rbf to 7000DLE MkII

Postby W1AEX » Tue Apr 23, 2019 3:15 pm

Hi Neoklis,

It doesn't sound like you did anything wrong as many of us have seen this. The error you received will happen sometimes because the HPSDRProgrammer and the HPSDRBootloader utilities don't always like the name of the rbf file. If you change the file name so that it begins with the word Metis, it should load the firmware without showing that error.

So, change the firmware filename from: Orion_MkII_Protocol_2_v1.9.rbf to: Metis_Mkll_Protocol_2v1.9.rbf and it should go right in.

73,

Rob W1AEX
"One thing I am certain of is that there is too much certainty in the world."
User avatar
neoklis
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 11:51 am
Location: Souni, Limassol, Cyprus
Contact:

Re: Cannot write Protocol 2 .rbf to 7000DLE MkII

Postby neoklis » Tue Apr 23, 2019 3:53 pm

W1AEX wrote:Hi Neoklis,

So, change the firmware filename from: Orion_MkII_Protocol_2_v1.9.rbf to: Metis_Mkll_Protocol_2v1.9.rbf and it should go right in.

73,

Rob W1AEX

Wow, thanks a lot Rob! I will be on it very soon!
User avatar
W1AEX
Posts: 201
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:17 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Cannot write Protocol 2 .rbf to 7000DLE MkII

Postby W1AEX » Tue Apr 23, 2019 8:58 pm

Neoklis,

After re-reading your first paragraph again I am wondering if the Protocol 1 firmware update that failed was because the firmware file was truncated. This is a big problem for people if they download the firmware by right-clicking and then doing a "save as" to direct it to a folder. This results in a truncated and corrupted firmware that flashes very quickly but does not work correctly. If you think that might have happened, read the post by Abhi at the link below and remember that the only way to get the firmware is to click on the Download button when pulling a file from GitHub.

73,

Rob W1AEX

https://apache-labs.com/community/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=2376
"One thing I am certain of is that there is too much certainty in the world."
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1617
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Cannot write Protocol 2 .rbf to 7000DLE MkII

Postby w-u-2-o » Tue Apr 23, 2019 10:35 pm

Rob has probably hit the nail on the head, twice.

Read the tacked threads here:

https://apache-labs.com/community/viewforum.php?f=18

Follow the instructions precisely. Use Bootloader.

Return to “Protocol 2 (all radios)”