Edit: Protocol 2 now working on Anan 100 hermes.

Forum rules
Until such time as the New Protocol firmware goes into general release, all discussion will be concentrated here.
User avatar
Tony EI7BMB
Posts: 229
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 2:31 pm
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Edit: Protocol 2 now working on Anan 100 hermes.

Postby Tony EI7BMB » Tue Jan 08, 2019 4:38 pm

Hi guys, just wondering if anyone has tried protocol 2 firmware on the Anan 100 and if so have your encountered any show stopping issues ?
Last edited by Tony EI7BMB on Thu Apr 25, 2019 8:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
W1AEX
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:17 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Has anyone tried protocol 2 on Anan 100 hermes?

Postby W1AEX » Wed Jan 16, 2019 9:56 pm

Hi Tony,

I no longer have my ANAN-100 but before I sold it back in April 2017 my Hermes ANAN-100 worked pretty well with the protocol 2 version that was out at that time. It looks like there is newer firmware now and Thetis has also evolved so you might find that it works quite well.

I had good luck with my ANAN-100 and found that I could run the gigabit firmware even with a sampling rate of 1536k without any problem with the re-settable fuse for the FPGA. I think success with the higher sampling rates will vary from rig to rig regarding the behavior of the re-settable fuse but you won't know if you don't give it a try. I see that there is a new 1000T version (v.10.5 - July 2018) and an earlier 100T version (v.10.3) posted at GitHub as well if a user wants to play with that instead.

Good luck!

Rob W1AEX
"One thing I am certain of is that there is too much certainty in the world."
sm0jzt
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 12:52 pm

Re: Has anyone tried protocol 2 on Anan 10 hermes?

Postby sm0jzt » Thu Jan 31, 2019 12:58 pm

I just uploaded FW 10.3 onto my ANAN-10 for Protocol II support.

Is there a more recent version of FW that can be used on the ANAN-10 ??

Im confused by various versions of FW available. I can see that there seems to be a version 1.6 of FW. But Im very unsure whether that can be used for my ANAN-10

Pls shed some light to it.

SM0JZT / Tilman
SM0JZT
Tilman D. Thulesius
http://radio.thulesius.se in Swedish
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1605
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Has anyone tried protocol 2 on Anan 100 hermes?

Postby w-u-2-o » Fri Feb 01, 2019 2:55 am

Tilman,

All P2 firmware is here:

https://github.com/TAPR/OpenHPSDR-Firmware/tree/master/Protocol%202

Only the firmware in the folder appropriate to your hardware can be run on your hardware.

P2 development for 14 and 16 bit Hermes boards is lagging significantly behind that available for Angelia, Orion and Orion MKII. I.e. if you have a -10, 10E, -100 or -100B you do not have anything very recent to try.

73,

Scott
User avatar
Tony EI7BMB
Posts: 229
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 2:31 pm
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Re: Has anyone tried protocol 2 on Anan 100 hermes?

Postby Tony EI7BMB » Fri Feb 01, 2019 9:53 am

Rob, thanks for the info. If it runs ok on 384 I'd be pretty happy. I will probably give it a try soon if my 100 is not sold in the meantime , hoping to upgrade to the 7000. Once it gets close to 6M E's season I dare not change anything :-)
User avatar
Tony EI7BMB
Posts: 229
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 2:31 pm
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Re: Has anyone tried protocol 2 on Anan 100 hermes?

Postby Tony EI7BMB » Wed Apr 24, 2019 10:47 am

Update: I have now installed protocol 2 firmware 10.7 and Thetis 2.6.6 on my Anan 100. Everything is running great so far at 384 rate . I used bootloader program to load firmware. The VAC is really really solid at 512 buffer size and buffer latency of 30ms in and out . Not sure what port audio does so that's at default of 120. Imported both my midi control mapping and tx profiles without issues.

I also had a play with Simon's excellent SDR console but for some reason this freezes after about 20 secs so something not quite right or I've missed a setting somewhere.

Thanks so much to Rick and the other developers for this excellent work.
User avatar
Tony EI7BMB
Posts: 229
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 2:31 pm
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Re: Has anyone tried protocol 2 on Anan 100 hermes?

Postby Tony EI7BMB » Wed Apr 24, 2019 3:13 pm

SDR console not working because of firewall entry which Simon ( author of SDR console) kindly alerted me to. So now running

Return to “Protocol 2 (all radios)”