Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Forum rules
Until such time as the New Protocol firmware goes into general release, all discussion will be concentrated here.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1877
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby w-u-2-o » Mon Dec 24, 2018 1:51 am

Protocol 2 v1.4 firmware has been released for the Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000).

https://github.com/TAPR/OpenHPSDR-Firmware/tree/master/Protocol%202

Fixed L&R Rx audio swap,
Ethernet timing changes,
PS DDC0/DDC1 syncro changes,
Retimed and performed FPGA timing closure.

This should eliminate "Seq" errors, the "crazy noise baseline" problem, improve PureSignal performance, and improve general stability overall.
NL7F
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 8:33 pm
Location: Fairbanks, AK

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby NL7F » Mon Dec 24, 2018 4:49 am

Using
200D
FW/Orion_NP_v1.4.rbf
Thetis v2.6.2

NP 1.4 fixes audio swap and greatly improves seg errors.
Now get only occasional seg=>24 with Rx2 on and sample rate = 1536000.
200D fully usable with Rx2 on and sample rate = 1536000 if flashing red seg light is ignored.

With Rx2 off and/or sample rate < 1536000 no seg errors are seen.

Thanks to Joe, K5SO.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1877
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby w-u-2-o » Mon Dec 24, 2018 11:58 am

Thanks for the report. Keep them coming, folks, we need to know that this works (makes timing) on everyone's hardware, not just the few alpha test radios.
jeffreydoran
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 9:39 pm

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby jeffreydoran » Mon Dec 24, 2018 12:42 pm

Loaded V1.4 late last night, but only tested for about 30 minutes, at all sample rates, very stable. More testing today. Only issue may have been Thetis related. With region set to US, made some out of band excursions using WWV, but when returning to amateur bands got a pop up for being “out of band for region” even though I was clearly in band (40 meters). Thetis restart cleared that up. No seq errors. More testing today.

Also, something odd about the "monitor", the return audio appears to be slight unbalanced between L/R. Switched back to P1 OpenHPSDR 3.4.9 and the monitor audio sounds perfectly centered. Then, back to P2 Thetis 2.6.2, monitor audio seems to favor Left.

P2 V1.4
Thetis 2.6.2 beta
7000DLE

Jeff NJ2US
User avatar
n1gp
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:34 pm

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby n1gp » Sun Dec 30, 2018 7:13 pm

Guys,

I've made some updates to the v1.4 P2 FW release.

This was mostly to address issues posted here on the Apache forum.

Some may have already been fixed in the v1.4 release, but I was still seeing spurs on XMIT at > 30m
and Seq=> errors sporadically mostly on sample rates > 384K

Problems addressed:

    NL7F, "chatter" and seg errors at 1536000

    Dave G3ZQH, #2. TX spectrum problem. First noticed that my linear amp was shutting down due to RF 'out of specified band'. Checked wide band on DUP, and sure enough there were a lot of RF spurs about 20-30dB down. Tried the usual database reset but this did not work. TX problems were on 20-6m but not on 160-30m.

    John W1JA's Severe CW Click issue

Unfortunately I have not yet been able to reproduce W1JA's Severe CW Click issue. John's already tested this
pre-lease and again unfortunately it doesn't fix that issue for him.

Though the above issues were for the 200D, I've tried to keep the changes in sync between both MkI & MkII.

This is a pre 1.5 release though it's version will be reported as 1.5, thanks for testing...

Download:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/o1tcrfno96t69a3/Orion_MkII_Protocol_2_EPCQ_v1.5_pre1.rbf?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/teme4e4jcnga42n/Orion_NP_v1.5_pre1.rbf?dl=0

73's -Rick / N1GP
jeffreydoran
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 9:39 pm

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby jeffreydoran » Mon Dec 31, 2018 12:25 am

Rick,
Thanks for dropping the pre-release 1.5 firmware
Loaded flawlessly and ran OK for about 30 minutes, at 192K, but twice this evening the Thetis 2.6.2 app simply stopped. Just as if somebody reached in and clicked the "X", went back to my Win 10 desktop. No error messages. Both times in the middle of Transmitting. Did not try sample rate > 192K.

7000DLE
1.5
2.6.2

Jeff
NJ2US
Last edited by jeffreydoran on Mon Dec 31, 2018 11:01 am, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
W1AEX
Posts: 249
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:17 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby W1AEX » Mon Dec 31, 2018 2:08 am

Thanks Rick,

I am going to load 1.5 pre right now into my 200D and take a quick look tonight on 160 meters. Will play with it more tomorrow morning.

Thanks for running through all those lines of code!

Rob
"One thing I am certain of is that there is too much certainty in the world."
NL7F
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 8:33 pm
Location: Fairbanks, AK

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby NL7F » Mon Dec 31, 2018 6:26 am

200D
FW/Orion_NP_v1.5
Thetis v2.6.2

Occasional seg errors with Rx2 on and sample rates => 192000
plus audio "chatter" at sample rate = 1536000.

Most of seg error problem is with Rx2 on.

Thanks for continuing efforts.
G3ZQH
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 5:21 pm

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby G3ZQH » Mon Dec 31, 2018 4:20 pm

Anan 200D, P2 1.5 (pre), 384kHz

Many thanks for working on the problem with P2.

A quick check showed that the TX spurs were still present on 20m- 6m, but not on 160m-30m, so not changed from v 1.4. See attached wide TX spectrum screenshot from 6m (this is the most affected band) - TX is not usable 20m-6m,

Also, I noted a problem with RH audio channel having lower volume than LH audio.

v1.5 is stable- running today for 12 hours with VAC.

Keep up the good work- I feel a stable version is not too far away!

73 Dave G3ZQH
Attachments
P2 1.5 Thetis 2.6.2 6m spurs.PNG
P2 1.5 Thetis 2.6.2 6m spurs.PNG (262.77 KiB) Viewed 4226 times
User avatar
W1AEX
Posts: 249
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:17 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby W1AEX » Mon Dec 31, 2018 6:29 pm

Rick,

I ran a number of stations today on 20 meter SSB with the P2 v1.5 pre-release from last night and it performed flawlessly. No blowouts with Pure Signal for the entire 1.5 hours while correcting my AL-82 and no anomalies noted except for a very infrequent flashing of an Seq=>2 error while transmitting with only RX-1 engaged. Note that if I ran RX-2 Thetis would display a steady Seq=>16 error during TX and RX. VAC behaved perfectly with no overflows or underflows after the first few seconds following startup.

I think the last firmware P2 v1.4 moved control of RX-1 and RX-2 back to DDC 0 and DDC 1 as they are with OpenHPSDR v3.4.9. It looks like P2 v1.5 has moved them to DDC 2 and DDC 3 as they were with P2 v1.3. It all seems to be working fine so not sure if that is important but I mention it only as an observation.

I would also mention that when I hit TUNE on 6 meters my panadpater display looks identical to the screenshot posted above by Dave. I'm not certain if the spurs are really being transmitted or only present in the local Thetis display. My SWR at 50.150 where I was transmitting into my 6 meter beam was the same 1:1.3 that it is when I am transmitting there with OpenHPSDR v3.4.9.

Thank you again for all your work!

73,

Rob W1AEX

ANAN-200D
FW = P2 v1.5 pre-release (Dec 30)
Thetis v2.6.2 Beta (Dec 11)
Sampling Rate @ 192K
"One thing I am certain of is that there is too much certainty in the world."
G3ZQH
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 5:21 pm

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby G3ZQH » Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:52 am

Anan 200D, P2 1.5 (pre), 384kHz
Anan 200D, P1 4.9, 192kHz

Hi Rob, Rick
Further feedback on the 6m TX spurs. Attached are Tune/DUP screen shots to confirm the 6m TX problem on my 200D. On 160m with P2 I have a clean TX spectrum. When I change to P1/PSDR on 6m I also have a clean spectrum. The spurs on the P2 6m TX spectrum could be due to a DUP artifact as Rob suggested, but with my linear amp indicating 'out of band' signals on 6m (safety feature kicks in) , I suspect it is a real effect on my Anan 200D. I don't have another RX otherwise I would check independently from DUP.

73 Dave G3ZQH
Attachments
P2 1.5 Thetis 2.6.2 6m spurs.PNG
P2 1.5 Thetis 2.6.2 6m spurs.PNG (262.77 KiB) Viewed 4175 times
P2 1.5 Thetis 2.6.2 160m TX spectrum.PNG
P2 1.5 Thetis 2.6.2 160m TX spectrum.PNG (271.35 KiB) Viewed 4175 times
P1 4.9 PSDRmrx 3.4.9 6m TX spectrum.PNG
P1 4.9 PSDRmrx 3.4.9 6m TX spectrum.PNG (305.75 KiB) Viewed 4175 times
User avatar
n1gp
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:34 pm

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby n1gp » Thu Jan 03, 2019 5:00 am

Hey Dave/G3ZQH & All,

Dave I replied to you on another thread. I look forward to hearing back from you.

Tonight I have made some slight modifications to the 200D FW and would like for you and anyone interested
to try it and compare to previous. I find it to be an improvement over Orion_NP_v1.5_pre1 timing wise. PS works
for me 160-6m with no Seq=>X and not seeing spurs but would like to hear your collective responses.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ltedo6smpzxl5kj/Orion_NP_v1.5_pre2.rbf?dl=0

-Rick / N1GP
NL7F
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 8:33 pm
Location: Fairbanks, AK

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby NL7F » Thu Jan 03, 2019 8:21 am

Rick,
Thetis 2.6.2 cannot find my 200D with Orion_NP_v1.5_pre2 loaded.
73
User avatar
W1AEX
Posts: 249
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:17 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby W1AEX » Thu Jan 03, 2019 5:43 pm

Hi Rick,

I ran into the same problem as Bill - NL7F. In spite of the LED behavior at the ANAN network port responding correctly, Thetis could not connect to the 200D. The P2 Programmer also could not see it. The Bootloader utility took me back to P2_pre1 without any problem.

73,

Rob W1AEX
"One thing I am certain of is that there is too much certainty in the world."
User avatar
W1AEX
Posts: 249
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:17 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby W1AEX » Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:19 pm

Rick and all,

I did a few tests with my 200D to compare Thetis v2.6.2 running v1.5_pre1 firmware with OpenHPSDR v3.4.9 running v5.0 firmware. The first screenshot shows what Thetis looks like in the RX-1 and RX-2 panadapters on 6 meters. The second screenshot shows what OpenHPSDR v3.4.9 looks like under the same conditions. I think they look pretty similar. I also noticed while play around with OpenHPSDR that the displayed signal was definitely affected by whatever the ATT level is set to, so with PS enabled what I saw was influenced by whatever PS set the feedback level to:

ANAN-200D running Thetis v2.6.2 with protocol 2 firmware Orion_v1.5_pre1.rbf
Image

ANAN-200D running OpenHPSDR v3.4.9 with protocol 1 firmware Orion_v5.0.rbf
Image

I did a few more tests with an SDRPlay RSP1 running the RSP-SAS Spectrum Analyzer software. Note that the RSP-1 was using a simple 4 turn grounded loop wrapped around the ANAN's coax run to the 6 meter beam. I think these screenshots look pretty similar as well with products on either side of the fundamental frequency down more than -60dB.

ANAN-200D running protocol 2 firmware Orion_v1.5_pre1.rbf
Image

ANAN-200D running protocol 1 firmware Orion_v5.0.rbf
Image

From what I can see my 200D is not dirty with either firmware but of course that does not guarantee that this is the case with every 200D. I'm hoping Dave finds that his rig is also clean in spite of the weirdness we are both seeing in the local RX panadapter.

Hope that helps,

Rob W1AEX
"One thing I am certain of is that there is too much certainty in the world."
User avatar
n1gp
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:34 pm

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby n1gp » Thu Jan 03, 2019 7:22 pm

Rob,

Tnx for taking the time to do that. Its very helpful.

I think I might know why the _pre2 image isn't working for you guys if you guys are running your 200D
using DHCP. I'm running it OK with a static IP.

I'll check that code later tonight.

-Rick / N1GP
User avatar
W1AEX
Posts: 249
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:17 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby W1AEX » Thu Jan 03, 2019 7:35 pm

Hi Rick,

My 200D has a static IP assignment (192.168.5.2) and is directly connected to a second ethernet port on the computer that has a static assignment (192.168.5.1) in the same subnet. I should have checked to see if the ANAN was pingable but I didn't think of that until I had recovered it with the Bootloader.

Thanks for taking a look,

Rob
"One thing I am certain of is that there is too much certainty in the world."
G3ZQH
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 5:21 pm

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby G3ZQH » Thu Jan 03, 2019 8:17 pm

Hi Rick, Rob and others

Some good news!

Despite the P2 v1.5(2) not working as others have described, I now have a clean TX spectrum. I re-loaded v1.5 (1) and ran the same Thetis 2.6.2 set up as before- same database. This time I had a clean TX spectrum on DUP/Panadaptor- just a few spurs at 70-80dB down. Same clean TX spectrum on the other bands 160-10m. I can't really explain this- possibly some quirk of re-loading the firmware?

So, I am beginning to believe what Rob said about it being an artifact of the panadaptor/DUP monitoring. Now, I will buy a small SDR RX- AirSpy HF+, SDRPlay or the new LIme seem good- anyone have any advice on the best choice? Once I have this and can confirm a clean TX signal I'll be much happier.

73 Dave G3ZQH
User avatar
W1AEX
Posts: 249
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:17 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby W1AEX » Thu Jan 03, 2019 8:45 pm

Hi Dave,

That's an interesting development following your latest firmware flash. I found with OpenHPSDR v3.4.9 that the spectrum looked nice and clean until I adjusted the S-ATT level manually in RX-1 to match the level that my Thetis software was set to. As soon as i adjusted it both RX-1 and RX-2 in OpenHPSDR looked very much like the display in Thetis.

I don't think you can go wrong with pretty much any of the little (relatively) inexpensive USB connected SDR hardware. I like the SDRplay RSP series because they can run a lot of different software including SDRuno, SDR Console, SDR Sharp, SDR Sharper, CloudSDR (don't see any downloads available at this time) and the RSP-SAS Spectrum Analyzer beta release. As I am sure you have seen in Simon's forum, there seem to be a lot of happy (and excited) Lime users, but I don't know how many different software packages it can handle.

It is very nice to have something you can trust to analyze what your signal actually looks like. Good luck with whatever you decide to get!

73,

Rob W1AEX
"One thing I am certain of is that there is too much certainty in the world."
NN3RP
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 1:53 pm

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby NN3RP » Fri Jan 04, 2019 8:39 pm

I upgraded last night and played with Thetis for a while here and there adjusting settings, etc. Then I also played with SDR Console. Reverted back to Thetis but now I does not display anything or makes any sounds. Thetis turns on but does nothing. I can check the settings but that's the extend of it. SDR Console freezes upon launching.

Reloaded the firmware again but same thing happens. :x

Any advise before I move back to P1is appreciated.

Rafael / NN3RP
Joe
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 5:58 pm

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby Joe » Fri Jan 04, 2019 9:53 pm

Rafael
I know you have probably tried this but I’ve had what you’ve described happen more than once. I reloaded firmware, started with new database and the rig would come up frozen or would freeze up within seconds. What cleared the issue for me was completely powering down the Anan power supply and completely powering down the pc connected. The first time I found this out it was late and I powered down and disconnected all equipment to come back the next day to troubleshoot, when I powered all back up the next day I just happened to try starting Thetis and it came up without any issues? Since then I have done the same and all came up, I only had these issues when I would be trying higher sampling rates and lower buffer sizes. It seems once the error came up no software reloads would cure the problem, only complete system power down, as I said this is what worked for me, hope you get it worked out.

73’s
Joe
WD5Y
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1877
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby w-u-2-o » Fri Jan 04, 2019 10:27 pm

Gents: when powering stuff down seems like the only solution, I think that you will find that power cycling the radio is all you need to do. That is the only way to reboot the firmware. I'd be willing to bet the following sequence will work:

1. Stop Thetis with the "power button" (really the run/stop button).
2. Power cycle the radio hardware unit to reboot the FPGA firmware.
3. Start Thetis with the "power button".

Let us know if that works.
NN3RP
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 1:53 pm

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby NN3RP » Fri Jan 04, 2019 11:20 pm

Unfortunately, none of the suggestions makes the Thetis to work. I mean there isn't any signal or audio present. I know the 7000 is present since the ethernet blinks on both ends.

1.4 is the FW I reloaded using bootloader (had to rename the file).

I will unload / reload the Thetis software next


Rafael / NN3RP
NN3RP
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 1:53 pm

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby NN3RP » Sat Jan 05, 2019 12:54 am

I've just uninstalled Thetis and cleaned up the Windows 10 registry...Restarted PC....reloaded Thethis.

Some history:
Last, night upon launching the Thetis, a DOS Windows poped up indicating a FFT process:

Planning COMPLEX BACKWARD FFT size 64 through 262145
Planning COMPLEX FORWARD FFT size 64 through 262145
......then...
Planning real............FORWARD FFFT size 64 through 262144
....each of the numbers repeat through 262144 but not the last one 262145

I remember waiting a long considerable amount of time for this FFT process. Thetis finally opened towards the end of the process but the DOS Window was still there on the 262144 FFT. This is not the last number though. 262145 FFT is the last one as mentioned above and it still needed to be processed but it never showed up. But the wait is too long and at this point I decided to turn on Thetis. As I turned it on, the DOS Window disappeared and I was able to play with Thethis and SDR Console. This is what I did last night.

Since I have just done a clean uninstall / reinstall, the process repeats as above. Thetis is opened but not on. Should I wait, as long as it takes, for the DOS Window to go away by itself? Or just turn on Thetis as before?

Kindly,

Rafael / NN3RP
NN3RP
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 1:53 pm

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby NN3RP » Sat Jan 05, 2019 4:07 pm

Good news!

Last night I did a clean uninstall / reinstall of Thetis. The FFT process repeated as in the first time, upon launching Thetis. Thetis opened and all is back to the way it was. I can only TX properly on CW, SSB.

Digital mode only keys the radio / software (FT8, RTTY) but no signal Watts out.

I am affraid to even test SDR Console anymore. I don't know what had happened initially between Thetis and SDR Console
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1877
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby w-u-2-o » Sat Jan 05, 2019 5:07 pm

Rafael,

I recommend you go all the way back to P1 and PowerSDR. Get everything working again. This way you can ensure that nothing on the PC has been screwed up, that all of your other software is working properly and that all of your radio hardware is working properly.

Once you've re-baselined in that fashion then you can try Thetis and P2 again.

73,

Scott
NN3RP
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 1:53 pm

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby NN3RP » Mon Jan 07, 2019 1:13 am

Not that fast, Scott!

I was able to make FT8 and RTTY to work with Thetis. Somehow playing with the VAC settings back and forth on each FT8 and RTTY made it to TX / RX as it was before with P1. The settings are kind of backwards, though but as long they're working I am fine.

Next for me is to play with SSB using SDR Console / Thetis. Settings issues in that area too.

We are getting closer and closer.

Thanks for all of your time, Scott.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1877
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby w-u-2-o » Mon Jan 07, 2019 2:46 am

:)
NN3RP
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 1:53 pm

Re: Orion (200D) and Orion MKII (7000 & 8000) users: P2 v1.4 released

Postby NN3RP » Wed Jan 16, 2019 1:43 am

I posted this reply on the Yahoo group in relation to finding the installation software for Thetis but thought placing it here as well to share:


"Next time around, I will remember to check the release(s).

I was able to download Thetis v2.62 and P2 firmware 1.4 (needs to be renamed prior to upgrade) for my 7000dle.

I used Bootloader as I find it easier to work with.

Before the upgrade, I was having sporadic freezing of Thetis 2.60 / P2v1.3 but none using SDR-Console.

After upgrading Thetis / firmware, no more sporadic freezing.

Rafael / NN2RP"

Return to “Protocol 2 (all radios)”