200D Protocol 2 users: what say you?

Forum rules
Until such time as the New Protocol firmware goes into general release, all discussion will be concentrated here.
User avatar
F6IES
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2018 8:27 am
Location: GUILHERAND-GRANGES FRANCE

Re: 200D Protocol 2 users: what say you?

Postby F6IES » Fri Jan 04, 2019 11:45 pm

ANAN 200D protocol 2 V 1.4 Thetis 2.6.2
"sticky" Band selector screen : changes to yellow broadcast band mode every time a new Ham band is chosen
TO PHIL FM5GB
Dear All ,

I encountered today the same ^problem as Phil FM5GB , suddenly the SWL mode became "sticky"
Band selector screen section changes to broadcast band mode every time a new Ham band is chosen
This problem was sometimes partially solved by reloading the same database , except that this time the problem became reversed , that is the Ham band mode became the " sticky "one when you select a broadcast band it reverts to Ham bands every time a new broadcast band is selected , however changing from one ham band to another did no longer select the SWL mode .
.
For a Ham this problem is really annoying but it would be also an annoyance for a serious SWL user . because it puts you in the undesired mode
Is there a solution to this problem?
I encountered this problem also with previous version NP V 1.1 and Thetis 2.4
Best regards 73!
Pierre F6IES
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1408
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 200D Protocol 2 users: what say you?

Postby w-u-2-o » Sat Jan 05, 2019 1:03 am

Gents: I'd recommend posting Thetis problems in the Thetis sub-forum, not the firmware sub-forum.
User avatar
W1AEX
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:17 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: 200D Protocol 2 users: what say you?

Postby W1AEX » Mon Jan 07, 2019 10:01 pm

Just a quick note to report that I loaded the new v1.5 Orion firmware release (from GitHub) yesterday into my 200D and ran it all day today with sessions of Thetis (v2.6.2) and also with Simon's SDR Console (v3.0.4 build 1374)) and it worked flawlessly.

In Thetis I got excellent correction with Pure Signal on 20 meters while running my pair of 3-500's @ 1KW and it also performed perfectly while driving the pair of 3-500's in AM linear on 75 meters. There were no displays of the Seq=> errors at all and no issues what-so-ever with the VAC resampler.

I ran some AM linear with Simon's software as well and it ran very smoothly. It looks like the last firmware release of v1.5 gets along well with my particular 200D.

Thanks for all the work on the protocol 2 project!

73,

Rob W1AEX

ANAN-200D Rev 24
Firmware Orion_NP_v1.5.rbf
Thetis v2.6.2 beta
SDR Console v3.0.4 build 1374 preview release
"One thing I am certain of is that there is too much certainty in the world."
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1408
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 200D Protocol 2 users: what say you?

Postby w-u-2-o » Tue Jan 08, 2019 2:15 am

Great report, Rob, thanks.

I wonder how others are seeing performance-wise with 1.5? It is working well with my 8000.
jeffreydoran
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 9:39 pm

Re: 200D Protocol 2 users: what say you?

Postby jeffreydoran » Tue Jan 08, 2019 4:06 am

7000DlE
FW P2 1.5
Thetis 2.6.3
Windows 10 i7 32 GB RAM

160 meters, Both ADC active VFO’s sync’d.
Saw a few SEQ 28 errors.
At one point, RX2 audio was lagging RX1 audio, restarting Thetis corrected that.
It seems that the Mic gain is reduced 5db when Audio look ahead or DEXP is enabled.
Later in evening, 2.6.3 crashed during a PTT/MOX the instant transmit was initiated.
No other anomalies observed.

Nice job devs, this is exciting stuff. Where can we send beer?

Jeff NJ2US
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1408
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 200D Protocol 2 users: what say you?

Postby w-u-2-o » Tue Jan 08, 2019 12:25 pm

I know it's hard, guys, but let's keep this thread focused on firmware performance and not Thetis issues, if possible, thanks.
jeffreydoran
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 9:39 pm

Re: 200D Protocol 2 users: what say you?

Postby jeffreydoran » Tue Jan 08, 2019 12:37 pm

Scott, how do we know the difference?

Jeff NJ2US
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1408
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 200D Protocol 2 users: what say you?

Postby w-u-2-o » Tue Jan 08, 2019 4:17 pm

Jeff,

Admittedly sometimes it can be hard to tell. However, in most cases it's relatively easy when you remember that the hardware/firmware produces the IF that is consumed by Thetis, and Thetis produces the IF that is consumed by the firmware/hardware. And in the direct sampling architecture there is only a single IF stage (which happens in the digital domain, it's not an actual analog IF). It's IF data that flows over the Ethernet. So when you think about it from a conventional radio point of view, anything that happens on antenna side of the first IF involves firmware. Anything that happens on the mic/speaker side of the first IF happens in the software (Thetis).

There is one minor exception, which is that the radio hardware also contains what essentially amounts to a custom sound card that supports the mic, line, headphone and speaker connections on the box. However hardware/firmware involvement in this is limited to ADC, DAC and headphone/speaker amp. So anything going wrong in the processing , e.g. your 5dB issue, has nothing to do with firmware.

73,

Scott

P.S. start a topic in the Thetis sub-forum about the 5dB issue and let's discuss. I think I know what might be happening.
User avatar
FM5GB
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 10:03 pm

Re: 200D Protocol 2 users: what say you?

Postby FM5GB » Wed Jan 09, 2019 9:03 pm

Hi all !

I gave it a try with NP _v1.5. (still using Thetis 2.6.2)

Unfortunately it ran very unstable : only fews minutes before hang. In the short test I could
investigate with Pure Signal : It was impossible to achieve a decent correction with PS (sampling set on
192 kHz) as with PowerSDR-mrx. At best I could get a 3rd product 30 dB down (versus 50 dB in PSDR)
and this was intermittent on all tested bands. I could not do more before hang.

Is it worth to downgrade Thetis to 2.6.0 for further testing ?

So after bootloading I got back to HPSDR-mrx in order to use the radio reliably.

73s Phil FM5GB
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1408
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 200D Protocol 2 users: what say you?

Postby w-u-2-o » Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:40 pm

2.6.2 is a better choice than 2.6.0.

Did you try with a reset database (always the obvious question)?

If 2.6.2. and 1.5 don't work with a reset database then either you've got network problems at GigE speed or you've got an outlier piece of hardware.

73,

Scott
User avatar
FM5GB
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 10:03 pm

Re: 200D Protocol 2 users: what say you?

Postby FM5GB » Thu Jan 10, 2019 11:57 pm

Thank you Scott,

Is there a way to test the Gigabit LAN connection from the switch to the radio simply ?

Remains very unstable. Shows seq 57 or seq 1 errors (maybe others but it displays too shortly to allow reading)
It always ends with a solid hang which must be overcome by erasing all the data base files in the Thetis folder
I tried other LAN cat 6 cables cables but with no luck.

I'm getting tired with flashing erasing reflashing...



73s Phil
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1408
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: 200D Protocol 2 users: what say you?

Postby w-u-2-o » Fri Jan 11, 2019 2:19 am

Not sure what you would test, Phil.

It's unlikely it is a LAN issue if all of your equipment is rated for GigE speeds.
User avatar
n1gp
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:34 pm

Re: 200D Protocol 2 users: what say you?

Postby n1gp » Wed Jan 16, 2019 12:43 am

Hey All,

I've been watching the incoming rpt's from the v1.5 releases on the P2 MkII & MkI.
It seems the MkII has been experiencing some crashes on a shift from rx to tx while
using PS or Diversity where the MkI hasn't. At least thats what is seen in the reports.

I've come up with an update for the MkII that has a meld of the changes for MkI and
would like to present it to be tested against v1.5 for MKII. Please give this a try:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/3wjluftuaomg3um/Orion_MkII_Protocol_2_v1.6_pre1.rbf?dl=0

and report back on forum.

Tnx!

-Rick / N1GP
User avatar
W1JA
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:19 pm

Re: 200D Protocol 2 users: what say you?

Postby W1JA » Sat Jan 19, 2019 3:14 pm

Rick,

The firmware you link to in your post right above has "Orion_MkII..." in its filename, so it's only for 7000 and 8000, not 200D, right?

73, John W1JA
User avatar
n1gp
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:34 pm

Re: 200D Protocol 2 users: what say you?

Postby n1gp » Sun Jan 20, 2019 1:03 am

Hi John,

Yes that is correct, only for MKII.

-Rick / N1GP
A92GE
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 2:00 pm

Re: 200D Protocol 2 users: what say you?

Postby A92GE » Fri Feb 08, 2019 1:32 pm

As a follow up to my previous posts regarding the failure of my Anan to run Protocol 2, I have now tried to connect the radio through a 1000Mbps switch rather than a direct connection to my computer. Sadly I have still been unsuccessful. The computer connects to the switch at I000Mbps speed as reported by Windows. The link lights on the radio and the switch are both illuminated but there is absolutely no communications. Seems my Anan 200 is a dud at 1000Mbs speeds.

73
David
A92GE

Return to “Protocol 2 (all radios)”