Andromeda???

The word from the top!
Forum rules
Only admin's and moderators can start a topic in this forum, but anyone can reply to an existing topic. Off topic replies will be deleted.
Aivars
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 11:12 pm

Re: Andromeda???

Postby Aivars » Fri Jan 29, 2021 5:14 am

YL2GVC 73!
Phrotus
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2020 4:40 am

Re: Andromeda???

Postby Phrotus » Fri Jan 29, 2021 1:39 pm

Well I really screwed up. When I did the search on Github, I spelled Andromeda wrong (Andromada). :oops:
dj1yr
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 2:32 am

Re: Andromeda???

Postby dj1yr » Thu Feb 04, 2021 3:36 am

Hi,

I started to assemble the boards yesterday, what kind of encoder for the VFO are you using, the small one has 120 pulses, the big one I would like to take also has 100 or 200 pulses to choose from.
Then I'm looking for the RJ45 socket, in Germany only at Digikey to get, but then post 1120 pieces.

About the buttons and knobs, these could be made by SLA 3D printing, I am currently looking for a provider.

73'René
laurencebarker
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 7:39 pm

Re: Andromeda???

Postby laurencebarker » Thu Feb 04, 2021 8:26 am

There is a software setting in Andromeda that you can edit by sending it a CAT command (eg from the Arduino editor). It sets whether to divide the number of pulses from the encoder by 1,2 or 4.

For a "120ppr" encoder (the small broadcom one) you should set it to 1 (and that is the default). For the larger 400ppr or 600 ppr ones you should set it to "4" otherwise the software won;t keep up.

With the broadcom encoder an the setting of 1, you get 480 individual edges each of which creates a tuning step, so 480 tuning steps per revolution, which is about the same as an FT1000.

The the 400 or 600 ppr encoders and a setting of "4" you get 400 or 600 tuning steps per revolution; so they are all in the same ball park.
Laurence Barker G8NJJ
Aivars
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 11:12 pm

Re: Andromeda???

Postby Aivars » Thu Feb 04, 2021 2:09 pm

https://aliexpress.com/item/32857035640.html
This is "big" encoder.
https://aliexpress.com/item/33052809089.html
This is "small" encoder.
They came out cheaper than in Digikey, etc 8-) On sale you can get them even cheaper ;)
It is good point to buy all parts on Digikey, because they offer free fast delivery with UPS for orders over 50EUR to EU. And check what kind of Arduino module you are going to buy. As well as check BOM, there are newer from November.
P.S. Rene, for RJ45, look on Digikey this part: A-2014-2-4-R they are sold by one.
YL2GVC 73!
laurencebarker
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 7:39 pm

Re: Andromeda???

Postby laurencebarker » Thu Feb 04, 2021 10:13 pm

I'm sorry that wasn't quite what I had meant.

The aliexpress link for "small" encoder is the correct one for the dual knob encoders.

I had meant there are 2 choices for the VFO encoder: the large one like you sent a link for; and a smaller one from Broadcom that is 120pulses per revolution.
Laurence Barker G8NJJ
Aivars
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 11:12 pm

Re: Andromeda???

Postby Aivars » Fri Feb 05, 2021 7:14 am

I guess we are bit lost in translation :lol: I named them like that to separate ;) Personally I prefer, for VFO, that big from Ali. It has very strong construction with ball bearing(!!!). Smaller one from Ali, are 2x cheaper than from Farnell. Oh, yes, for smaller one, I mean dual encoders :roll:
OK, I have few questions to you Laurence. I think, when you put LCD on front panel PCB, you use spacers. Could you tell me size?
Next, I am bit strugled about, what and how should I input in Arduino, to change encoder rate?
By the way. I am bit stopped with Andromeda, because I start to build two other SDR DIY projects 8-) Anyway, most hard part will be case :roll:
YL2GVC 73!
Aivars
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 11:12 pm

Re: Andromeda???

Postby Aivars » Sat Mar 20, 2021 10:47 am

OK, yesterday I finally fire it up 8-) Overall Andromeda looks like to work. Didn't check buttons etc yet, but about that next. Here was long text about my problems with Hermes :roll: Looks like I solved them, but then all possible problems came out from all corners :mrgreen: But main problem appears, what I can't sort out right now, there are no +5V on board :( Does it come from IC4? It is possible to switch on/off and Power LED light on, and nothing more. All places where I checked, there are no main. Display works by the way 8-)
YL2GVC 73!
User avatar
DH1KLM
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:36 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Andromeda???

Postby DH1KLM » Sat Mar 20, 2021 11:52 am

Since your display is working, you should measure +5V at J17 which feeds the display backlight.
In that case IC4 is working.

Is the arduino connected to your computers USB port?
73 de Sigi / DH1KLM
Aivars
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 11:12 pm

Re: Andromeda???

Postby Aivars » Sat Mar 20, 2021 12:34 pm

Do I need to connect Arduino with micro USB to PC permanently :roll: I missed something looks like. And USB B type on back side? I suppose, I must connect it to PC. I will went through schematic more deeply ;)
YL2GVC 73!
User avatar
DH1KLM
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:36 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Andromeda???

Postby DH1KLM » Sat Mar 20, 2021 2:45 pm

Surely you need to connect the Arduino micro USB to the PC permanently.
How else is Thetis supposed to get the CAT commands from Andromeda?
How should Andromeda communicate with Thetis?

You have to set the COM-port for Andromeda in Thetis setup also.

andromeda com-port.JPG
andromeda com-port.JPG (46.7 KiB) Viewed 898 times
73 de Sigi / DH1KLM
Aivars
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 11:12 pm

Re: Andromeda???

Postby Aivars » Sat Mar 20, 2021 5:18 pm

OK, clear ;) I should check all more carefully :oops: I don't know why, I was sure, that all goes through USB B type connection. And micro USB on Arduino are just to flash it. OK, next stage after it, case. Won't think about, it'll be hard :roll:
YL2GVC 73!
User avatar
DH1KLM
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:36 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Andromeda???

Postby DH1KLM » Sat Mar 20, 2021 5:41 pm

The front panel USB-A J3 connection is looped through USB-B J4 on the back of the board and can be connected to the PC. It is basically just a USB extension from the PC and has no other connection to the circuit board.

usb a - usb b.JPG
usb a - usb b.JPG (11.93 KiB) Viewed 879 times
73 de Sigi / DH1KLM
Aivars
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 11:12 pm

Re: Andromeda???

Postby Aivars » Mon Mar 22, 2021 6:21 pm

I can report, Andromeda works more or less 8-) Some strange things happens, but I hope, I will solve it. It should be just a tuning.
YL2GVC 73!
User avatar
DH1KLM
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:36 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Andromeda???

Postby DH1KLM » Mon Mar 22, 2021 6:34 pm

What do you mean with more or less?
73 de Sigi / DH1KLM
Aivars
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 11:12 pm

Re: Andromeda???

Postby Aivars » Mon Mar 22, 2021 8:49 pm

Hard to and too much to explain :roll: I have no time right now to adjust it and understand all functions. After all I hope everything will work 8-)
At least one thing to get rid of, when I turn encoders, sliders window appear. And do not disappear. I am tired right now to explain more and better.
YL2GVC 73!
laurencebarker
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 7:39 pm

Re: Andromeda???

Postby laurencebarker » Tue Mar 23, 2021 3:00 pm

It's a long time since I looked at that code, but the sliders window should go away if you don't touch an encoder for 10 seconds or so.
Laurence Barker G8NJJ
dj1yr
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 2:32 am

Re: Andromeda???

Postby dj1yr » Wed Mar 24, 2021 4:41 am

how i set the increment divisor for the Main VFO?

the code...

Code: Select all

void MakeEncoderIncrementMessage(void)
{
  int Result;

  Result = GVFOEncoderDivisor*10 + GEncoderDivisor;       // mmn
  MakeCATMessageNumeric(eZZZX,Result);
}


//
// handle CAT commands with numerical parameters
//
void HandleCATCommandNumParam(ECATCommands MatchedCAT, int ParsedParam)
{
  int Device;
  byte Param;
  bool State = false;
 
  switch(MatchedCAT)
  {
    case eZZZI:                                                       // set indicator
      if((ParsedParam % 10) != 0)
        State = true;
      Device = ParsedParam/10 - 1;
      SetLED(Device, State);
      break;

    case eZZZX:                                                       // set encoder increment
      Param = ParsedParam % 10;                                       // bottom digit - normal encoder
      Device = ParsedParam / 10;                                      // remaining higher digits
      if (Param == 0)                                                 // don't allow a zero
        GEncoderDivisor = 1;
      else
        GEncoderDivisor = Param;
       
      if (Device == 0)                                                 // don't allow a zero
        GVFOEncoderDivisor = 1;
      else
        GVFOEncoderDivisor = Device;

      CopySettingsToEEprom();
      SetEncoderDivisors(GEncoderDivisor, GVFOEncoderDivisor);
      break;
  }
}
laurencebarker
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 7:39 pm

Re: Andromeda???

Postby laurencebarker » Wed Mar 24, 2021 8:27 am

To change the VFO encoder turn rate: you will need the Arduino PC software. If you open the serial window (icon at top right of the arduino editor that loops like a magnifying glass) you should see the encoder commands as you turn it eg ZZZU01;

if you have a 400-600 pulse per revolution you will need to send a command into the Arduino text window. That's is the small text box at the top. type ZZZX042; then hit enter and your VFO encoder should operate properly just 4 times slower. And that setting will be stored - you will NOT need to keep setting it.
Laurence Barker G8NJJ
laurencebarker
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 7:39 pm

Re: Andromeda???

Postby laurencebarker » Wed Mar 24, 2021 8:30 am

And there is a setting on the Andromeda tab on the CAT form to turn on/off the slider window appearing when you turn an encoder.

With it turned off, you won't see that form; when on, it will pop up every time you turn an encoder then eventually close. But it will only close if you stop touching the encoders for a few seconds!
Laurence Barker G8NJJ
Aivars
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 11:12 pm

Re: Andromeda???

Postby Aivars » Wed Mar 24, 2021 12:46 pm

OK Laurence, thanks a lot!!!
YL2GVC 73!
dj1yr
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 2:32 am

Re: Andromeda???

Postby dj1yr » Wed Mar 24, 2021 1:12 pm

Laurence, thank you so much.

The divider of 8 also works for me, I used a 600imp/u.
Now it goes to the rest.
dj1yr
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 2:32 am

Re: Andromeda???

Postby dj1yr » Mon Mar 29, 2021 12:50 am

My Andromeda also gives first signs of life.

What do you use as coax knob and which buttons?

I found if I turn the VFO too fast the frequency just jumps back and forth, the signals from the encoder look ok, I think the 600imp/u is too much, I ordered a 100 impulse type.

The rest is still in development, planned is an Intel NUC board with i5 11Gen, 20W Class A PA(based on one RD070/RD100) with LPF, PD and SWR coupler, 7Pol dual RF BPF
Attachments
Baugruppe1.png
Baugruppe1.png (456.31 KiB) Viewed 556 times
IMG_20210328_190207.jpg
IMG_20210328_190207.jpg (1.84 MiB) Viewed 556 times
Aivars
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 11:12 pm

Re: Andromeda???

Postby Aivars » Mon Mar 29, 2021 10:32 am

Wow 8-) Just gorgeous ;) What CAD do you use?
YL2GVC 73!
administrator
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 5:20 am

Re: Andromeda???

Postby administrator » Mon Mar 29, 2021 12:06 pm

Very Nice!

Here are a couple of pictures of the raw CNC machined Aluminum front panel, this will be black anodized in a brushed finish. Production samples are expected next week from the CM, once approved shipping commences in a few weeks, thank you all for your patience!

Andromeda_machined_1.jpg
Andromeda_machined_1.jpg (1.27 MiB) Viewed 531 times


Andromeda_machined_2.jpg
Andromeda_machined_2.jpg (1.29 MiB) Viewed 531 times


73,
Abhi
Phrotus
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2020 4:40 am

Re: Andromeda???

Postby Phrotus » Mon Mar 29, 2021 12:23 pm

Abhi,

Thank you for the update. I've been wondering how things were coming along.
Have a great day :D

73, Tom W4TMW
laurencebarker
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 7:39 pm

Re: Andromeda???

Postby laurencebarker » Mon Mar 29, 2021 2:17 pm

If you get a 100ppr device you will probably want to reset the VFO divider in the Arduino - send ZZZX012;

That rate is similar to the broadcom (120ppr) and with ZZZX012; it works very well, comparable with and FT1000.

I have used a 600ppr encoder, with divider set to 4, and you would have to turn it very fast to have a problem though!
Laurence Barker G8NJJ
dj1yr
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 2:32 am

Re: Andromeda???

Postby dj1yr » Mon Mar 29, 2021 3:59 pm

administrator wrote:Very Nice!

Here are a couple of pictures of the raw CNC machined Aluminum front panel, this will be black anodized in a brushed finish. Production samples are expected next week from the CM, once approved shipping commences in a few weeks, thank you all for your patience!

Andromeda_machined_1.jpg

Andromeda_machined_2.jpg

73,
Abhi


Ahbi,

is it maybe possible to buy a case kit or the ready made front panel with knobs and buttons?

@Aivars

I used Inventor for CAD design, if desired I can upload step files or the source files (Inventor 2021).
Aivars
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 11:12 pm

Re: Andromeda???

Postby Aivars » Mon Mar 29, 2021 5:03 pm

dj1yr Sure upload 8-) By the way, I asked Abhi about case long time ago, he said, only ready TRX.

As well as, I forgot to publish mine ;)
Attachments
Andromeda.jpg
Andromeda.jpg (657.58 KiB) Viewed 489 times
YL2GVC 73!

Return to “Apache Labs News”