Anan 10-E remote operation.

cleanrf
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 5:15 am

Re: Anan 10-E remote operation.

Postby cleanrf » Wed Jul 19, 2017 4:07 am

I have checked everything I can think of. I have checked the registry and its correct (Marked to 0)
I have went into gpedit.msc and enabled "Allow audio recording redirection"
I still do not show a mic or any recording device on the server machine when viewed from client.
I can make a skype call from the client machine and hear but have no mic and show no mic in the skype window etc.
Could it be because I am using windows 10 "HOME" version on the client? I am using windows 7 professional on the server (QTH) side.

Thanks for any help.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 604
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Anan 10-E remote operation.

Postby w-u-2-o » Wed Jul 19, 2017 11:24 am

Very frustrating. My apologies, I am somewhat at a loss. Clients are supposed to be the same across all Windows versions, only the server side requires "pro" or "enterprise". And I do not have a PC with Windows 10 Home on it to try.

Do you happen to have another PC you can try as a client?

Just hacking now...perhaps try the same registry change on the server side?

73,

Scott
cleanrf
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 5:15 am

Re: Anan 10-E remote operation.

Postby cleanrf » Wed Jul 19, 2017 2:25 pm

I changed registry keys on both machines. I don't have another PC here I can use to test. I may be able to borrow one from a friend. I will ask him this evening. I believe his laptop is a windows 7 machine.

It is frustrating, I can get everything working but recording audio so no mic. I got all of my relays for power amp on, coax switch, coax disconnect etc all working from outside lan just have to figure this out.

Reluctant to upgrade my 7 machine with 10 but wonder if upgrading my windows 10 home laptop to pro etc would possibly solve the problem.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 604
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Anan 10-E remote operation.

Postby w-u-2-o » Wed Jul 19, 2017 6:58 pm

That is frustrating! I wish I knew what is wrong. And you've done all the hard parts if you've got it working outside the router firewall!
cleanrf
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 5:15 am

Re: Anan 10-E remote operation.

Postby cleanrf » Wed Jul 19, 2017 7:44 pm

Haven't got it to work outside of my home network. Both machines at the house are wirelessly connected to my router. I am about to direct wire the home machine just to make me feel better. I am going to check and see if the windows 10 home edition may be causing this. I have read somewhere on the net that it will not allow the recorded audio but not sure that's true. If so I will upgrade to the pro version or whatever. At this point I am almost desperate :-)
cleanrf
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 5:15 am

Re: Anan 10-E remote operation.

Postby cleanrf » Thu Jul 20, 2017 2:20 am

I also read somewhere on the net that it takes windows 7 enterprise to pass audio both ways. Not sure on that one but gonna find out.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 604
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Anan 10-E remote operation.

Postby w-u-2-o » Thu Jul 20, 2017 11:29 am

cleanrf wrote:I also read somewhere on the net that it takes windows 7 enterprise to pass audio both ways. Not sure on that one but gonna find out.

Not true. I've used Win7Pro on both ends very successfully. Same for Win10Pro on both ends. I've also used combinations of Win7Pro and Win10Pro successfully. I can't personally speak to other configurations, but everything I've read says that you only need a "pro" or "enterprise" version at the server end.
cleanrf
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 5:15 am

Re: Anan 10-E remote operation.

Postby cleanrf » Thu Jul 20, 2017 4:09 pm

That is good to know. I'm going to do some more digging this afternoon.
cleanrf
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 5:15 am

Re: Anan 10-E remote operation.

Postby cleanrf » Fri Jul 21, 2017 11:26 pm

Scott, how recently have you use a windows 7 pro machine as a host with microphone support allowing audio redirection to client machine? I am being told by Microsoft that I have to have ultimate or enterprise on the host side to have microphone/ recorded audio.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 604
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Anan 10-E remote operation.

Postby w-u-2-o » Sat Jul 22, 2017 1:17 am

Within the last year I've executed successful remote operation with bidirectional RDP audio using the following combinations:

Win7Pro client - Win7Pro server
Win7Pro client - Win10Pro server
Win10Pro client - Win10Pro server

Only on the Win10Pro client did I have to make the registry change.
cleanrf
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 5:15 am

Re: Anan 10-E remote operation.

Postby cleanrf » Sat Jul 22, 2017 6:03 pm

Thank you. I will try to acquire a win 7 pro laptop to test.
In your server machines do they just have onboard sound cards?
Last edited by cleanrf on Sat Jul 22, 2017 9:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 604
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Anan 10-E remote operation.

Postby w-u-2-o » Sat Jul 22, 2017 7:02 pm

My server machines have always had motherboard audio plus my venerable Behringer UMC202 interface.
cleanrf
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 5:15 am

Re: Anan 10-E remote operation.

Postby cleanrf » Sat Jul 22, 2017 9:37 pm

w-u-2-o wrote:My server machines have always had motherboard audio plus my venerable Behringer UMC202 interface.


So have you ever tried audio redirection without the behringer?
cleanrf
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 5:15 am

Re: Anan 10-E remote operation.

Postby cleanrf » Mon Aug 07, 2017 4:57 am

Been busy but had some free time to do a few things, I upgraded my windows 7 pro machine to windows 10 pro and can now make skype calls via remote desktop from my win 10 home laptop. I was not able to do this before the upgrade. The issue I have now is that when trying to open powersdr from remote client powersdr crashes. If I turn of "record from this computer" on the client laptop powersdr opens fine. I have spent 20 minutes or so having this issue and will spend more time tomorrow trying to solve the issue I just wanted to keep everyone updated. I also purchased the behringer umc202hd new in the box from a friend for $10 so I have that in my arsenal as well.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 604
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Anan 10-E remote operation.

Postby w-u-2-o » Mon Aug 07, 2017 1:27 pm

Great news!

You need to go back to my very first reply to you at the beginning of this topic:

If you are using RDP, and have got audio moving properly between the client and server in both directions, then you need to solve the problem of getting audio from the VAC interface to the remote client. You would think you could just assign PowerSDR to use the default audio devices on the server, but when the RDP session is instantiated those devices change to devices called "Remote Audio". This drives PowerSDR crazy and can cause it to not work, crash, or even not start. PowerSDR is insanely sensitive to changes in audio device states :(

To solve the PowerSDR issues with the RDP instantiated Remote Audio device, use Voicemeeter Banana (VMB) to insulate PowerSDR from the "real world". Point the PowerSDR VAC connections to VMB, assigned Remote Audio to a VMB channel, then make the connections in VMB. It's a minor complexity, but it solves the problem quite neatly.

In VMB I use Hardware Input 2 for the Remote Audio recording device, and I use Output A2 for the Remote Audio playback device. These can only be assigned during an RDP session with remote audio enabled since that is the only time they "exist". However, once assigned in VMB the settings will "stick" regardless of the status of an RDP connection.

I generally leave PowerSDR started and running before I leave for somewhere where I might want to remote operate from so I don't have to hassle with it via RDP. However, if you need to start or restart PowerSDR over RDP, then you have to go through this nasty gyration:

1. Quit your RDP session, if necessary.
2. Start a new RDP session with remote audio disabled.
3. Start PowerSDR.
4. Quit the RDP session.
5. Start a new RDP session with remote audio enabled. Click "restart audio engine" in VMB and change your VMB routes if they are not already setup for remote op's.

73,

Scott
cleanrf
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 5:15 am

Re: Anan 10-E remote operation.

Postby cleanrf » Mon Aug 07, 2017 3:46 pm

I have vm banana installed and the same usb headset you recommended, I will change some settings tonight when I get in and see what happens. I have never tried to start powersdr on the server side, only client side. Thank you for the reply. I will report back.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 604
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Anan 10-E remote operation.

Postby w-u-2-o » Mon Aug 07, 2017 4:52 pm

I should add that VMB must be started BEFORE PowerSDR. I set VMB to automatically start at boot time, minimized to the system tray, and that way never have to worry about this.
cleanrf
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 5:15 am

Re: Anan 10-E remote operation.

Postby cleanrf » Wed Aug 16, 2017 4:16 pm

On another not, I have seen it mentioned that people use skype to pass microphone audio from remote machine to server side machine. I assume they are referring to doing this while operating the radio remotely, if so I am not sure I see a way to do this.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 604
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Anan 10-E remote operation.

Postby w-u-2-o » Thu Aug 17, 2017 10:15 am

Yes, that is correct, some people have used Skype to move audio. They set up Skype on both the shack and the remote computer. Then they use some kind of screen sharing program that does not support audio, like VNC, to obtain display and control of the shack computer on the remote computer. Finally, they make a Skype call from one computer to the other, and answer it on the shack computer using the VNC connection.

You have to use VAC or VMB or the like to connect Skype to PowerSDR to move the audio.

I found all that to be as complex and not nearly as elegant as just letting RDP do the entire job.

73,

Scott
cleanrf
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 5:15 am

Re: Anan 10-E remote operation.

Postby cleanrf » Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:11 am

I am able to control the radio from remote computer, hear audio on remote computer but am still tinkering with getting mic audio to pass from remote computer to server computer. I have not spend a lot of time trying to do this as I have been busy with work etc. I am using VMB and the server machine and am able use the usb headset on the server machine and transit audio and hear receive audio through headphones using VAC. I will have some free time tomorrow night and will try to get this working. I have almost completed my 4 antenna coax relay, lightning disconnect small electrical panel that has each circuit relay controlled. All of this using a couple of Velleman VM201 ethernet relay cards.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 604
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Anan 10-E remote operation.

Postby w-u-2-o » Fri Aug 18, 2017 1:44 pm

It sounds like you are very close to getting it working. It's probably a simple problem with levels or routing. I leave the levels in the Windows Mixer on the server side set to max., all levels in VMB and PowerSDR set to 0dB, and adjust the mic level using the Windows Mixer at the client end.
cleanrf
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 5:15 am

Re: Anan 10-E remote operation.

Postby cleanrf » Tue Sep 19, 2017 4:09 am

I finally got a break from my daily grind to address this again. I am able to remotely operate inside of my own network. To get mic audio to flow from remote laptop to server PC I simply clicked the power button while operate remotely and it worked. My next phase which I will attempt to address tomorrow is operating from outside my network. I will first attempt using my cell phone as a hotspot for laptop then I will go down the road to a fellow hams house to test it out there.
Scott you mentioned a VPN router. Do you have a suggestion of a good one I could use?

Thanks
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 604
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Anan 10-E remote operation.

Postby w-u-2-o » Tue Sep 19, 2017 10:42 am

I am using a Ubiquiti Edgerouter, which is an expensive and complex (and high performance) bit of kit. So I'm not necessarily recommending it unless you are familiar with Cisco command line interfaces or similar.

However, I have always been partial to Netgear products. Prior to the Edgerouter I used a number of their VPN capable small office routers. They have now extended their support for VPN to their home/personal line of routers. A quick look at the Netgear website has the X4S Wi-Fi router catching my eye. Not the least expensive router, but it looks blazingly fast and it supports OpenVPN, which is really great.

So I'd recommend taking a closer look at the higher end Netgear stuff. Don't forget that you will also need to either have a static IP on your internet connection (usually an extra cost option with your provider) or you will need to set up a dynamic DNS service on the router (I'm sure all the Netgear routers with VPN support this). I use Dyn for my dynamic DNS service.

Keep us posted on your progress!

73!

Scott
cleanrf
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 5:15 am

Re: Anan 10-E remote operation.

Postby cleanrf » Tue Sep 19, 2017 2:19 pm

Thanks for the reply. I will let you know.
cleanrf
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 5:15 am

Re: Anan 10-E remote operation.

Postby cleanrf » Sat Sep 23, 2017 3:55 am

Ok, so everything works well inside the lan, great audio, receive etc. This is with the server machine and the laptop both wirelessly connected to the router and the radio connected directly to the server machine . After calling ISP and having them give me a static IP which with them any allows me to open whatever port I choose, they do not allow this without paying a few $ extra for a static which I wanted anyway. I am able to control the radio completely and here and transmit audio both ways etc. The issue I am having is with choppy receive and transmit audio. I can for example play youtube video using RDP and other than a little lag in the video the audio sounds fine. This is my connection speeds at both server side and remotely. 10-25 ms max ping times at both locations and 12-15 mbps down and 1.5 or so mbps up. I have not tried it somewhere using a blazing fast internet connection on the remote end but I don't think that is the issue. I am using VM banana and MME drivers. I have tried shrinking the sdr window and turning panadapter off with no change. I have changed the buffer settings in the audio tab of the powersdr and also no changes that I can notice. Any suggestions?
Thanks for any help.

Return to “Remote Operation Over The Internet”