Radio acts like ant is disconnected

greg
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:50 pm

Radio acts like ant is disconnected

Postby greg » Mon Nov 25, 2019 8:19 pm

8000dle ser#117 operates normally except cannot connect T/R function.
Develops normal power but acts like an open ant connection on Dummy load or ant.
Shuts down on hi SWR. Receive is there but LOW.
Boot sw accidently left ON during startup.
Running PWR SDRmx Ver3.4.3.0
All bands the same; nothing has changed since last QSO.
Dedicated Win7; no internet connection, HPZ800 computer.
Can software do this or is it a failed T/R path problem.
Thanks for your patience..
,greg, KI4egg
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2270
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Radio acts like ant is disconnected

Postby w-u-2-o » Mon Nov 25, 2019 9:34 pm

Greg,

You can do a few experiments first.

1. Go to Setup > General > Ant/Filters > Antenna and try selecting ANT 2 or ANT 3 and see if it will receive anything on those ports (you'll have to move the antenna connection, of course.

2. Go to Setup > General > Ant/Filters > BPF1.LPF and turn on "Bypass/55 MHz BPF", just to see if it is a problem with the preselector.

3. Attach an antenna to the RX2/ADC2/whatever it is called on the back of your 8000 (it tends to vary) and see if you can receive things OK on ADC2/RX2.

73,

Scott
greg
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:50 pm

Re: Radio acts like ant is disconnected

Postby greg » Tue Nov 26, 2019 2:58 pm

Thank ou Scott; all three ant out hae no effect.
Tried ant control setup in all three modes, all produce no output or connection action. ( Unchecked DNT box)
Radio will produce 300 watts as indicated in the pwr out window into a seemingly open ant out circuit.
Will try the rx2 (bnc) connection to check receive.
Tnx, greg.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2270
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Radio acts like ant is disconnected

Postby w-u-2-o » Tue Nov 26, 2019 3:20 pm

Greg,

Did you try disabling the preselector (BPF)?

Standing by for results of that test, and of the RX2 test.

I'm betting RX2 works fine, but the BPF settings make no difference.

After that you have one more thing you can try, which is a complete reload/reinstallation of both firmware and software. If that fails to make a difference, then it is probably time to contact Doug at US customer service for hardware repairs.

73,

Scott
greg
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:50 pm

Re: Radio acts like ant is disconnected

Postby greg » Wed Nov 27, 2019 12:46 am

Hi Scott; so far receive seems normal thru the BNC rx2? Cant xmit tho, ant is off ant1
greg
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:50 pm

Re: Radio acts like ant is disconnected

Postby greg » Wed Nov 27, 2019 1:27 am

Seems like you were right; rx2 i.s receiving normally
Not sure how to select it, just plugged it in and getting full receive.
Getting somewhere..
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2270
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Radio acts like ant is disconnected

Postby w-u-2-o » Wed Nov 27, 2019 1:59 am

Greg,

RX2 working OK is merely evidence that the software and firmware are also OK. It doesn't speak to a possible hardware failure in the ANT1-3 path.

From a hardware perspective the only other thing you can try is to disable the BPF, which you still haven't done. However I would say that is a low probability fix.

Because of the complexity of the firmware and software, it is probably worth reloading the firmware and seeing if that fixes it, and then reinstalling the software to check same. However, again, I believe that there is a very low probability that these actions will fix the problem.

If you try all of these things with no success, then, again, it is time to contact Doug, W5WC, the US repair depot.

73,

Scott
greg
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:50 pm

Re: Radio acts like ant is disconnected

Postby greg » Fri Nov 29, 2019 1:03 am

Scott, thank your great assistance;
Just a few aside items on this problem:

Bpf was tried no avail
Bootloader switch left in the up pos and on startup, error box showed up asking if hardware was connected.
Placed my RM60 PS (50lb) on top of 8000. Looks nice up there. Maybe stress changed some connectoins.
Might remove top cover to examine the hardware.
How do I contact repair to send the unit to Doug...
greg KI4EGG
greg
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:50 pm

Re: Radio acts like ant is disconnected

Postby greg » Fri Nov 29, 2019 1:07 am

Updated pwsdr to 3.4.9
Don't know where to link to the firmware or how to update it.
Don't want to risk bricking the radio.
tnx,greg
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2270
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Radio acts like ant is disconnected

Postby w-u-2-o » Fri Nov 29, 2019 1:59 pm

I believe this address will work: support@apache-labs.com
greg
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:50 pm

Re: Radio acts like ant is disconnected

Postby greg » Mon Dec 02, 2019 3:48 pm

Hi Scott; opened the radio to trace the RF output path to find the J2 plug on the RF output board not fully seated .
Radio functions normally. Thanks for the help.
greg KI4Egg
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2270
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Radio acts like ant is disconnected

Postby w-u-2-o » Mon Dec 02, 2019 4:52 pm

Unfortunate, but an easy fix, thankfully! :)

Return to “Everything Else: Antennas, Relays, Switches, Power, Grounding, Cooling, etc.”