Whooshing noise.

Josh

Whooshing noise.

Postby Josh » Sun Oct 07, 2018 11:01 pm

Hey all,

This is something I've noticed with my old Flex 5000a (my previous radio), but I think that was a genuine noise being picked up by the antenna. This time I'm hearing the noise whichever antenna I select and even without it being connected, so I presume it is some artifact generated internally.

Just curious as to whether anyone else has noticed similar anomalies or even whether it is a setting on the radio that may alter where they are placed.

I'm still a bit of a novice with the technicalities of the radios. I know that it does disappear if I change the ADC; Though, I don't entirely understand about the ADCs. I don't know whether I can chose ADC2 for the main antenna or whether this is more for sampling or splicing.

Josh.
Attachments
whooshing.png
whooshing.png (806.62 KiB) Viewed 9174 times
N9VX

Re: Whooshing noise.

Postby N9VX » Mon Oct 08, 2018 2:49 am

What radio are you hearing this on?

Joe N9VX
Josh

Postby Josh » Mon Oct 08, 2018 8:12 am

Sorry, I left out that vital piece of info. It's the Anan 8000.
w-u-2-o

Postby w-u-2-o » Mon Oct 08, 2018 11:19 am

Can't help you on the whooshing noise, except to say my 8000 doesn't do that. The simplest explanation is that it is coming from your power supply.

As for understanding the ADCs and whatnot, see this post:

https://apache-labs.com/community/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=2644

It wouldn't be a bad idea to at least glance at the "sticky" posts in the various forums and sub-forums here.

Scott
Josh

Postby Josh » Mon Oct 08, 2018 11:40 am

I have to admit I did find the post on ADCs and it makes total sense now I've read it.