New to the group

K0BLR

New to the group

Postby K0BLR » Sun Jun 20, 2021 1:39 am

Hi there everyone,

how are we doing tonight? My name's Ben Ramler. My callsign is K0BLR. I'm thinking about maybe buying an annan 7000 however I have some questions if someone could answer them for me.

I would like to get into remote operations because I'm not always home. I'm an OTR driver. What I am wondering is with 7000DLE is a couple of things. Are there dual vfo's in the radio? Also for remote operations can I share the remote with friends like the rcforb software for remotes? what is the software like to setup for the radio?

any information would be much appreciated!

thank you in advance,

Ben Ramler K0BLR
w-u-2-o

Re: New to the group

Postby w-u-2-o » Sun Jun 20, 2021 11:00 am

Ben,

The radio is a combination of hardware that you buy from Apache, open source firmware that is created by volunteer developers (not Apache, although they pre-load it on the hardware for you), and open source software that is also created by volunteer developers and that needs to run on a Windows PC (although there are other variants than can work on Linux, but they are substantially different from the Windows software).

Most of the radio actually is implemented in the software component, called "Thetis". The hardware/firmware stops at the 1st IF interface, and it is that 1st IF data that is transferred across the Ethernet to/from the PC and Thetis.