fldigi WWV calibration - unstable

kc2rgw
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 5:44 pm

fldigi WWV calibration - unstable

Postby kc2rgw » Mon Sep 14, 2020 5:58 pm

I've been stumped for several days on this one.

Running fldigi, using VAC for the audio, all was perfect, WWV calibration was dead straight. Same firmware, same software, ran for a few weeks, consistent and solid.

I fired up the other day and saw the signals on the waterfall wobbling all over, so I ran the WWV cal in fldigi again and it looks like a squiggly s-curve down the display.

I'm familiar with it being on an angle either way and shifting ppm to calibrate, but I've never seen it as a squiggly varying line before on any rig.

I am totally stumped by this as I've changed nothing and suspect a Windows 10 patch possibly as the culprit.

Have any of you seen this instability as of the last few weeks?

Firmware 2.0.0b Thetis 2.7.0 a3
Focusrite 8i6 Scarlett
Win10 Pro current patch rev

All of the above have been a constant aside from any Win 10 patches

I've even recently done a db restore, no change.


wwv-cal-wtf.png
wwv-cal-wtf.png (31.77 KiB) Viewed 1859 times
w9mdb
Posts: 188
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:53 pm

Re: fldigi WWV calibration - unstable

Postby w9mdb » Mon Sep 14, 2020 7:21 pm

I'm running Windows 10 Home Version 1909 build 18363.1082 and just did a WWV test on 10Mhz and it's rock solid.

Sounds like little like your TXCO is unstable. Did you do this shortly after you transmitted? Heat can affect things.

Mike W9MDB
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2858
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: fldigi WWV calibration - unstable

Postby w-u-2-o » Mon Sep 14, 2020 7:22 pm

Please post a screen shot of your Thetis VAC setup window. It may be that the resampler is running in an unstable fashion for you. Do you see increasing under or overrun counters when this is occurring?
w9mdb
Posts: 188
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:53 pm

Re: fldigi WWV calibration - unstable

Postby w9mdb » Mon Sep 14, 2020 7:42 pm

I get the same behavior if I don't force the VAC1 Monitor "TO VAC:"
I'm using Eltima VBCable. Is there some other setting to change?
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (231.68 KiB) Viewed 1849 times
kc2rgw
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 5:44 pm

Re: fldigi WWV calibration - unstable

Postby kc2rgw » Mon Sep 14, 2020 7:49 pm

w-u-2-o wrote:Please post a screen shot of your Thetis VAC setup window. It may be that the resampler is running in an unstable fashion for you. Do you see increasing under or overrun counters when this is occurring?


No, I'm familiar with that. I tried shifting sample rate and buffers around even.

I have the issue whether buffer is in manual or unchecked and the VAC1 Monitor To and From are both unchecked for the force boxes.

The setup tab shot is with me operating SSB at this moment, the only change to it is instead of the ASIO, it would have MME or Direct Sound with a virtual audio cable selected.

No underrun or overflow issues.
Attachments
setup-tab.png
setup-tab.png (42.43 KiB) Viewed 1849 times
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2858
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: fldigi WWV calibration - unstable

Postby w-u-2-o » Mon Sep 14, 2020 9:18 pm

If it's not the resampler issue then it's either got to be a bad TCXO, or the hardware is somehow selecting a non-existent external reference, or something with the PC, although I'm not certain what the latter issue would be.

Do you have another PC you can try?
kc2rgw
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 5:44 pm

Re: fldigi WWV calibration - unstable

Postby kc2rgw » Tue Sep 15, 2020 2:13 am

That’s a thought, will doublecheck the time source on the sound card tomorrow to be sure it’s all still on local.
kc2rgw
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 5:44 pm

Re: fldigi WWV calibration - unstable

Postby kc2rgw » Fri Oct 30, 2020 5:01 pm

This was all due to Malware Bytes being installed, I had Thetis whitelisted too but it did something to manipulate the packet flow. This software caused a bunch of other issues as well, losing control of the hardware as an example. I removed it and now everything is running very very well again.

Everything runs best with sample rates all at 48000 as well, it works with others but things are best on my end with the Focusrite 8i6 when everything is fixed, including the virtual audio cables at 48000.
User avatar
Tony EI7BMB
Posts: 397
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 2:31 pm
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Re: fldigi WWV calibration - unstable

Postby Tony EI7BMB » Sat Oct 31, 2020 1:08 pm

Good info thanks
kc2rgw
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 5:44 pm

Re: fldigi WWV calibration - unstable

Postby kc2rgw » Wed Nov 25, 2020 6:02 pm

I had this instability problem poke its head up again and I think I finally have it nailed.

I toggled the buffer latency to manual and dialed them in and I also toggled both Force options in VAC1 Monitor section, checking the Force box.

It's dead stable.

I think due to vagaries of other apps running on the PC that having the resampler enabled fouls it up.

This drove me crazy for a long time, hope it helps someone else.
w9mdb
Posts: 188
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:53 pm

Re: fldigi WWV calibration - unstable

Postby w9mdb » Wed Nov 25, 2020 8:37 pm

And turn off the Web protection in Malwarebytes.
I've been working with them on the interference the web protection is causing with Thetis...in my case the transmit audio stops.
Mike W9MDB
kc2rgw
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 5:44 pm

Re: fldigi WWV calibration - unstable

Postby kc2rgw » Wed Nov 25, 2020 10:43 pm

Yeah I just outright removed Malwarebytes and my Anan is running the best it ever has.
K1LSB
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2020 5:25 pm

Re: fldigi WWV calibration - unstable

Postby K1LSB » Thu Nov 26, 2020 3:43 pm

I use Bitdefender Antivirus free edition, it's very low overhead and doesn't seem to interfere with Thetis or any other use of the PC (I have Thetis added to Bitdefender's exclude list).
w9mdb
Posts: 188
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:53 pm

Re: fldigi WWV calibration - unstable

Postby w9mdb » Thu Dec 10, 2020 6:56 pm

Malwarebytes fixed the interference with Thetis.
I'm now running with the Web protection turned on without any problems.
It's version 4.3.0

Mike W9MDB

Return to “Digital Mode, Rig Control & Logging Software”