Virtual serial Port Woes

Buck
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:57 pm

Virtual serial Port Woes

Postby Buck » Mon Feb 17, 2020 11:03 pm

I had to reinstall Windows 10, and all apps. I used vspMgr as before to make a pair of virtual serial ports. It gave me an error when making the pair. However, device manager says the pair (COM5 and 6) are there and working properly. PowerSDR says it cannot connect to CAT 5. Where can I start to troubleshoot this? thanks.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2840
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Virtual serial Port Woes

Postby w-u-2-o » Mon Feb 17, 2020 11:57 pm

Not a PowerSDR problem. Moving it to the right sub-forum.

If VSPM threw an error, then the ports are not properly instantiated. There is nothing you can do in PowerSDR to fix this.

I'd recommend uninstalling VSPM, rebooting, reinstalling, rebooting, then try again.

Even better, use Eterlogic VSPE instead. It costs $25 , but it is far more stable than VSPM.
Buck
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:57 pm

Re: Virtual serial Port Woes

Postby Buck » Tue Feb 18, 2020 12:45 am

Thanks for moving the topic; it's been a while. I downloaded the 64-bit version and made the payment. I'll let you know how it works for me.
User avatar
Ernie
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:31 am
Location: Jasper, GA

Re: Virtual serial Port Woes

Postby Ernie » Tue Feb 18, 2020 10:58 am

FWIW, I have had to make the pairs in vspMGR as administrator in order to get them to work properly.

W2FMU

Buck wrote:Thanks for moving the topic; it's been a while. I downloaded the 64-bit version and made the payment. I'll let you know how it works for me.
Buck
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:57 pm

Re: Virtual serial Port Woes

Postby Buck » Wed Feb 19, 2020 9:25 pm

I got the key for VSPE and have been using it. The created pairs don't show up in Device Manager, I noticed, and do not survive a computer shutdown or restart. Anyone know a way to make the ports more permanent?
User avatar
rbduck
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:49 pm

Re: Virtual serial Port Woes

Postby rbduck » Wed Feb 19, 2020 10:17 pm

I got the key for VSPE and have been using it. The created pairs don't show up in Device Manager, I noticed, and do not survive a computer shutdown or restart. Anyone know a way to make the ports more permanent?


I'm interested in that myself. I can create a pair. They do not show up in device manager ,but work as they should. i have not found a way to have Eterlogic VSP Emulater start up and create a pair on computer boot up. Each time there is an error that states that the operate cannot be completed. I go in and run it manually again to create the pair. I bet there is a way. I have not found it yet.
73
Ruben
NB4R

Black 7000DLE MKII, Yaesu FT1000 MP , Palstar HF Auto, AL-80B, HP Pavilion CPU I7 9700, Sound Blaster AE-9
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2840
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Virtual serial Port Woes

Postby w-u-2-o » Thu Feb 20, 2020 3:11 am

VSPE needs to be set up to run at startup, and to reference a setup file.

I can provide examples, but unfortunately cannot do this until the weekend as I am currently away from my shack computer until then.
User avatar
Tony EI7BMB
Posts: 397
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 2:31 pm
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Re: Virtual serial Port Woes

Postby Tony EI7BMB » Thu Feb 20, 2020 9:44 am

Hi Ruben, I run this myself , please take a look at viewtopic.php?f=6&t=2779&p=5297&hilit=eterlogic#p5297
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2840
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Virtual serial Port Woes

Postby w-u-2-o » Thu Feb 20, 2020 11:04 am

Thank you Tony! I had totally forgotten that I had posted that! :lol:
User avatar
Tony EI7BMB
Posts: 397
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 2:31 pm
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Re: Virtual serial Port Woes

Postby Tony EI7BMB » Thu Feb 20, 2020 2:55 pm

no problem Scott

Edit: in fairness you do post a lot of stuff so hard to remember it all :)
Last edited by Tony EI7BMB on Thu Feb 20, 2020 3:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
rbduck
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:49 pm

Re: Virtual serial Port Woes

Postby rbduck » Thu Feb 20, 2020 3:12 pm

Thank you Tony and Scott. VSPE also had examples in their help section. I set it up and it works perfect.
73
Ruben
NB4R

Black 7000DLE MKII, Yaesu FT1000 MP , Palstar HF Auto, AL-80B, HP Pavilion CPU I7 9700, Sound Blaster AE-9

Return to “Digital Mode, Rig Control & Logging Software”