WSJTX AND PWRSDR 3.4.9

mark1161
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:16 pm

WSJTX AND PWRSDR 3.4.9

Postby mark1161 » Wed Aug 01, 2018 5:45 pm

I must have done a few dozen of these configs with no problem. Here, attached, is my current config for WSJT-x. I have almost complete rig control. I say almost because I can't get PTT to work for some reason. I can change frequency using WSJT and, of course, I am decoding. What am I missing here? Also, the same problem with FL Digi which is no PTT. I also have band control and decoding capability for that software.

Thanks for your help

Mark
WA2DIY
Attachments
IMG_1034.JPG
IMG_1034.JPG (103.6 KiB) Viewed 319 times
w9mdb
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:53 pm

Re: WSJTX AND PWRSDR 3.4.9

Postby w9mdb » Wed Aug 01, 2018 6:09 pm

What do you have for PTT Control in the CAT Control tab in PowerSDR?

Enable PTT should be off.

de Mike W9MDB
mark1161
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:16 pm

Re: WSJTX AND PWRSDR 3.4.9

Postby mark1161 » Wed Aug 01, 2018 6:13 pm

Enable PTT is off in the CAT Control Tab. I am using virtual cables from VSPMgr which I have used for about 3 years now.

Mark
WA2DIY
K9RX
Posts: 209
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 3:47 pm

Re: WSJTX AND PWRSDR 3.4.9

Postby K9RX » Wed Aug 01, 2018 6:37 pm

huh? Its been a long while since I first set it up but I don't quite get why you both say/agree that Enable PTT should be OFF! It has to be on - or at least it IS on for my situation and it is configured from within WSJT to use it as a (separate) com port.

Gary
K9RX
w9mdb
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:53 pm

Re: WSJTX AND PWRSDR 3.4.9

Postby w9mdb » Wed Aug 01, 2018 6:51 pm

I do believe you only turn that option on when you have PTT on a separate COM port.

de Mike W9MDB
w9mdb
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:53 pm

Re: WSJTX AND PWRSDR 3.4.9

Postby w9mdb » Wed Aug 01, 2018 6:54 pm

I have my PowerSDR setup with "ID as: PowerSDR".
Works fine with the TS-2000 setup in WSJT-X.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1172
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: WSJTX AND PWRSDR 3.4.9

Postby w-u-2-o » Wed Aug 01, 2018 9:08 pm

"Enable PTT" in the PowerSDR CAT setup is only necessary if you are using serial port PTT. Since you are using CAT PTT this doesn't matter, on or off.

"ID as" in the PowerSDR CAT setup also should not matter, it should work set to TS-2000 or PowerSDR.

What version of WSJT-X are you running? I'm running 1.8.0-rc3. My radio setup tab does not look like yours. I do not have a "default" setting for data bits, stop bits or handshake.

I would suggest you change your baud rates to match (even though it's not supposed to matter on virtual cables), and explicitly set data bits to 8, stop bits to 1, parity to none and handshake to none in both programs (where possible).

73,

Scott
mark1161
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:16 pm

Re: WSJTX AND PWRSDR 3.4.9

Postby mark1161 » Thu Aug 02, 2018 9:23 am

Scott,

I did change those settings, as noted, and it worked! Thanks again.

Mark
WA2DIY
K9RX
Posts: 209
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 3:47 pm

Re: WSJTX AND PWRSDR 3.4.9

Postby K9RX » Thu Aug 02, 2018 12:31 pm

ah - apologies then (re PTT on vs. off) ... I'll check out using this method myself.

Gary
K9RX
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1172
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: WSJTX AND PWRSDR 3.4.9

Postby w-u-2-o » Thu Aug 02, 2018 12:34 pm

K9RX wrote:ah - apologies then (re PTT on vs. off) ... I'll check out using this method myself.

Gary
K9RX

It is well described here, along with how to use serial port CW keying as well:

http://wu2o.dyndns.org/wu2o_vac_tutorial_2.html
w9mdb
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:53 pm

Re: WSJTX AND PWRSDR 3.4.9

Postby w9mdb » Thu Aug 02, 2018 12:56 pm

Mark...could you do me a favor and change WSJT-X back to using "default" where you can select it?
It should still work.
If not then something else is wrong.
de Mike W9MDB
mark1161
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:16 pm

Re: WSJTX AND PWRSDR 3.4.9

Postby mark1161 » Thu Aug 02, 2018 1:00 pm

Mike,

Thanks your help. It is working correctly now. I have been using WSJT-x since I had my FLEX 3000 4 years ago and just couldn't figure what I was doing wrong.

Mark
WA2DIY

Return to “Digital Mode & Logging Software”