WSJT-W and Thetis 2.6.9 & DLE-8000

vu2mb
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:30 pm

WSJT-W and Thetis 2.6.9 & DLE-8000

Postby vu2mb » Mon Jan 13, 2020 2:37 pm

Hi
I am trying to work on JT-8 and I can receive the signals in 3Khz filter bandwidth.
I can call CQ and also double click on a cq calling ham and initiates a hand shake but..
No contact is made. I have attached the screenshots of Thetis Audio setup and also
WSJT's settings. Only 3 attachments were allowed so remaining settings are as follows
WSJT-W Settings Audio
Input Line 1 VAC
Output Line 2 VAC


Please suggest what I am missing that QSO is not made on JT-8[attachment=0]WSJT Settings Radio.PNG

Thank you.

73
Bhanu
VU2MB
Attachments
WSJT Settings Radio.PNG
WSJT Settings Radio.PNG (36.21 KiB) Viewed 331 times
WSJT Main window.PNG
WSJT Main window.PNG (1.38 MiB) Viewed 331 times
Thetis Audio.PNG
Thetis Audio.PNG (35.78 KiB) Viewed 331 times
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2001
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: WSJT-W and Thetis 2.6.9 & DLE-8000

Postby w-u-2-o » Mon Jan 13, 2020 4:46 pm

You can always post more attachments in a follow up post, however I have increased the maximum number of attachments to 10.

Change the buffer latency ringbuffer in setting back to automatic and tell us if that makes a difference.

RF is being transmitted, correct?
vu2mb
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:30 pm

Re: WSJT-W and Thetis 2.6.9 & DLE-8000

Postby vu2mb » Mon Jan 13, 2020 6:54 pm

Hi Scot,

Thanks for your response. Yes RF is being transmitted.
I will come back shortly after implementing suggested changes
Thanks
73
Bhanu
vu2mb
vu2mb
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:30 pm

Re: WSJT-W and Thetis 2.6.9 & DLE-8000

Postby vu2mb » Mon Jan 13, 2020 7:17 pm

Hi Scot,

Done the change as suggested ( ring buffer to Automatic) but it did not make any difference.

:(

73
Bhanu
vu2mb
w9mdb
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:53 pm

Re: WSJT-W and Thetis 2.6.9 & DLE-8000

Postby w9mdb » Mon Jan 13, 2020 7:54 pm

And how do you know RF is being transmitted?
vu2mb
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:30 pm

Re: WSJT-W and Thetis 2.6.9 & DLE-8000

Postby vu2mb » Mon Jan 13, 2020 8:03 pm

My External power meter, DLE-8000 both meters confirm that RF is being transmitted.

73
w9mdb
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:53 pm

Re: WSJT-W and Thetis 2.6.9 & DLE-8000

Postby w9mdb » Mon Jan 13, 2020 9:06 pm

Seems like you need to be able to see your transmitted signal.
Got anybody near you that could help?
Or a cheap USB SDR radio would allow you to see it.
K9RX
Posts: 287
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 3:47 pm

Re: WSJT-W and Thetis 2.6.9 & DLE-8000

Postby K9RX » Tue Jan 14, 2020 1:51 pm

How do you know its not just propagation? Or the station chose not to call you? Have you had zero success after many tries? Also your TX power slider seems down a good bit - set the TX meter on Thetis to ALC and confirm the level is -1 (set it to this).

But I do have to say I see why it is often difficult to work in to other countries - that is one heck of a lot of noise on the RX pan display.

[a question for others using WSJT ... I see no 'switch' to turn on/off the Resampler ... is that always on in Thetis? I found in PSDR it wasn't worth the hassle of it occasionally running away out of control and haven't run it for months. Hopefully I'd have the option to not use it in Thetis as well]

Gary
K9RX
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2001
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: WSJT-W and Thetis 2.6.9 & DLE-8000

Postby w-u-2-o » Tue Jan 14, 2020 7:35 pm

K9RX wrote:a question for others using WSJT ... I see no 'switch' to turn on/off the Resampler ... is that always on in Thetis? I found in PSDR it wasn't worth the hassle of it occasionally running away out of control and haven't run it for months. Hopefully I'd have the option to not use it in Thetis as well
In VAC setup check the "Force" boxes and make sure the rate is set to 1.00000.
vu2mb
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:30 pm

Re: WSJT-W and Thetis 2.6.9 & DLE-8000

Postby vu2mb » Tue Jan 14, 2020 8:13 pm

Hi friends,

Thanks for suggesting all these options.
Transmit gain for ALC was already set to -1 since the start.
I have tried calling CQ and also responding to others CQ but
it would not connect. I would digout my RSP1A or connect my ANAN-200d
and try to copy my own transmission on the other PC.

My clock is also tuned to internet servers and every hour its been
sync. so time error is also ruled out.

will report the outcome shortly.
Thank you for your cooperation.
73
Bhanu
VU2MB
vu2mb
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:30 pm

Re: WSJT-W and Thetis 2.6.9 & DLE-8000

Postby vu2mb » Wed Jan 15, 2020 12:03 pm

Hi
today I found a website that report status of users of various digital modes.
It is
https://pskreporter.info/pskmap.html

It say regarding my call sign the following
"Callsign has never been heard transmitting"
this website shows that I have been reporting 100's of station
heard at my end but no one is listening meeeee :oops: :cry: :evil:

There seems to be some error in the format otherwise
RF is going out for sure not only reported by power meters but
RSP1A's SDRUNO software as the received signal is visible on the panadapter.
My CQ is not decoded by WSJT-X running on that PC with RSP1A while it is decoding
other stations well.

My station is wihing the red circle on the attached screen shot.

How to get out of this and start using the mode?

73
Bhanu
VU2MB
Attachments
PSK Reporter.PNG
PSK Reporter.PNG (1.56 MiB) Viewed 189 times
K9RX
Posts: 287
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 3:47 pm

Re: WSJT-W and Thetis 2.6.9 & DLE-8000

Postby K9RX » Wed Jan 15, 2020 2:13 pm

Thanks Scott ...

Bhanu, Sorry for the issue. Interesting that your signal is not getting decoded. When you are transmitting do you see the TX display on Thetis? It should show a very tall rather thin profile and it should be shifting slightly left and right... its peak should be 0 db. Are you seeing this and is it 'acting' in this manner?

Also if you are using the Eugene M. VAC software pull up his 'help' panel - and confirm you are seeing a red TX line when transmitting... make sure that is the same 'cable' that you've assigned. I have seen a number of times when for some reason it gets out of sorts and although I have VAC cable 2 as my input to PSDR it shows on his panel as 5 or 6! I have to change it in PSDR to another one and then back again to get it to 'reset'.

I am interested in how this gets resolved - there are times when I swear my signal is at the intended station end and strong enough but for some reason is not being decoded...

Gary
K9RX
vu2mb
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:30 pm

Re: WSJT-W and Thetis 2.6.9 & DLE-8000

Postby vu2mb » Wed Jan 15, 2020 2:42 pm

Hi,
I feel this is something to do with VAC settings.
for Receiving its working but for transmitting it in not.
I just noticed that there is a red exclamation mark in a triangle in Cable 1
Screen shot attached
Other screen shots are attached too from Thetis and WSJT setups
Attachments
WSJT Settings Radio.PNG
WSJT Settings Radio.PNG (36.21 KiB) Viewed 182 times
WSJT Settings Audio.PNG
WSJT Settings Audio.PNG (25.63 KiB) Viewed 182 times
WSJT Main window.PNG
WSJT Main window.PNG (96.08 KiB) Viewed 182 times
Thetis Cat+.PNG
Thetis Cat+.PNG (52.22 KiB) Viewed 182 times
Thetis Cat.PNG
Thetis Cat.PNG (55.05 KiB) Viewed 182 times
Thetis Audio.PNG
Thetis Audio.PNG (66.24 KiB) Viewed 182 times
VAC settings.PNG
VAC settings.PNG (127.25 KiB) Viewed 182 times
vu2mb
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:30 pm

Re: WSJT-W and Thetis 2.6.9 & DLE-8000

Postby vu2mb » Wed Jan 15, 2020 2:48 pm

K9RX wrote:How do you know its not just propagation? Or the station chose not to call you? Have you had zero success after many tries?

Yes Sir, Zero Success


Also your TX power slider seems down a good bit - set the TX meter on Thetis to ALC and confirm the level is -1 (set it to this).

I have checked at the time of setup that ALC is -1. At the time of taking screen shot it must have been down for testing of various power and alc settings but i is set to correct ALC level.


But I do have to say I see why it is often difficult to work in to other countries - that is one heck of a lot of noise on the RX pan display.

[a question for others using WSJT ... I see no 'switch' to turn on/off the Resampler ... is that always on in Thetis? I found in PSDR it wasn't worth the hassle of it occasionally running away out of control and haven't run it for months. Hopefully I'd have the option to not use it in Thetis as well]

Gary
K9RX
vu2mb
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:30 pm

Re: WSJT-W and Thetis 2.6.9 & DLE-8000

Postby vu2mb » Wed Jan 15, 2020 3:01 pm

Now Vac red exclamation mark is gone but no hand shake yet between me and a dx. station
:oops:
Attachments
VAC settings new.PNG
VAC settings new.PNG (79.5 KiB) Viewed 182 times
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 2001
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: WSJT-W and Thetis 2.6.9 & DLE-8000

Postby w-u-2-o » Wed Jan 15, 2020 3:20 pm

Are you using DIGU mode?
vu2mb
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:30 pm

Re: WSJT-W and Thetis 2.6.9 & DLE-8000

Postby vu2mb » Wed Jan 15, 2020 5:37 pm

Hi Scot,

Yes, Using DIGU mode.
User avatar
Ernie
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:31 am
Location: Roswell, GA

Re: WSJT-W and Thetis 2.6.9 & DLE-8000

Postby Ernie » Wed Jan 15, 2020 6:55 pm

Stupid question, but is your clock set properly?
vu2mb
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:30 pm

Re: WSJT-W and Thetis 2.6.9 & DLE-8000

Postby vu2mb » Wed Jan 15, 2020 7:02 pm

No Sir, No question is stupid as I may be doing something that is stupid but clock is most of the time is exact as I am using
a utility called network time to sync my time every hour so the purpose.

73
vu2mb
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:30 pm

Re: WSJT-W and Thetis 2.6.9 & DLE-8000

Postby vu2mb » Wed Jan 15, 2020 7:45 pm

Hi
I have done a screen recording on a laptop running RSP1A sdr uno tuned to 7074 and I was transmiting a CQ call on WSJT-x FT8 mode on the other PC running a Anan 200d. Here is the youtube link.

https://youtu.be/hFbTv1SLItI

on this laptop WSJT-x was not running at this time as I just wanted to see how my signal sounds. There is some kind of distortion.
Please have a look.

73
Bhanu
vu2mb
vu2mb
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:30 pm

Re: WSJT-W and Thetis 2.6.9 & DLE-8000

Postby vu2mb » Thu Jan 16, 2020 11:32 am

Finally cleared the mess.
and now I can do QSO's.

It was probably VAC induced noise in the transmitted signal
that was preventing me from enjoying the digi modes.

I sincerely thanks everyone for helping me out.
looking forward to meeting you on the air.

73
de vu2mb
Bhanu

Return to “Digital Mode, Rig Control & Logging Software”