Thetis CW & N1MM setup

User avatar
vu2mb
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:30 pm

Thetis CW & N1MM setup

Postby vu2mb » Thu Nov 25, 2021 10:42 pm

Hello,

I wanted to set up Thetis & N1MM for CW and doing something that is not right and Thetis goes in to transmit immediately when power on.
Thank you for the support. I have unchecked the CAT PTT temporarily.

73
Bhanu
VU2MB

Here is my setup
VSPE setup.png
VSPE setup.png (20.44 KiB) Viewed 180 times

N1MM Com 10 Setup.png
N1MM Com 10 Setup.png (56.17 KiB) Viewed 180 times

N1MM Com 16 Setup.png
N1MM Com 16 Setup.png (45.77 KiB) Viewed 180 times

Thetis CAT setup.png
Thetis CAT setup.png (41.72 KiB) Viewed 180 times

Thetis CW setup.png
Thetis CW setup.png (31.47 KiB) Viewed 180 times

VAC Setup.png
VAC Setup.png (50.68 KiB) Viewed 180 times
User avatar
vu2mb
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:30 pm

Re: Thetis CW & N1MM setup

Postby vu2mb » Fri Nov 26, 2021 2:10 am

It goes in to transmit if I click Semi break-in
K9RX
Posts: 333
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 3:47 pm

Re: Thetis CW & N1MM setup

Postby K9RX » Fri Nov 26, 2021 3:15 pm

I'm not sure if this is the same thing you are experiencing but I can say I was never able to get N1MM+ to work on CW natively .... I was told by some they had it working - and others it was not working. Frustrating to say the least. I ended up having to go to a K1EL external device which now drives the rig and is the interface for N1MM+ which now works. One SHOULDN'T have to add more external equipment to resolve this issue but there it is. Likewise the CW message ... I think it's called CWX, still won't work.

Gary
K9RX

[using 3.4.9]
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 3362
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Thetis CW & N1MM setup

Postby w-u-2-o » Fri Nov 26, 2021 3:42 pm

Bhanu -- excellent screen shots, very helpful! :)

I have CW working perfectly in N1MM. Here's a few things I've observed that are wrong in your setup:

1. CAT needs to be done with a port pair, not a splitter.

2. In N1MM, COM16 needs to have the Digi options OFF, and the CW/Other option ON.

3. In COM16 "Details", DTR should probably be "Always OFF". (FWIW, I use DTR for CW and RTS "Always Off", but that shouldn't matter as long as you've matched it in Thetis, and you have.)

4. I've had better luck with radio type set to "Flex5000 RX2". This change may or may not be necessary, but it works for me. If you make this change, be sure to go back to COM16 "Details" and set VFO Nr to "1".
User avatar
vu2mb
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:30 pm

Re: Thetis CW & N1MM setup

Postby vu2mb » Sun Nov 28, 2021 6:48 pm

Dear Scott,

Thanks for your response and I have found the reason why it was doing all strange things like triggering PTT when clicking CW Break in SEMI.
We had a visitor with his 5 years son and while he was roaming around he must have come to the shack and put the headphone Mic connector to the Anan 200D's key socket as The Mic plug ( Sennheiser E835) and Headphone pugs were occupied and headphone's mic plug was hanging so he plugged it to the key's socket.

After removing it things were easy and working again. I have no issues with Splitter and using it for long following Rafael's NN3RP guide and I am attaching it herewith. It has been already there though in this forum.

Attaching screenshots of my working setup for CW.

Thank you & 73
Bhanu
VU2MB

VSPE setup.png
VSPE setup.png (31.04 KiB) Viewed 34 times

Thetis CAT setup.png
Thetis CAT setup.png (41.72 KiB) Viewed 34 times

Thetis CW setup.png
Thetis CW setup.png (31.47 KiB) Viewed 34 times

N1MM Com 10 Setup that works.png
N1MM Com 10 Setup that works.png (56.74 KiB) Viewed 34 times

N1MM Com 16 Setup that works.png
N1MM Com 16 Setup that works.png (42.48 KiB) Viewed 34 times

Thetis Setup with Skimmer.docx
(464.35 KiB) Not downloaded yet
User avatar
vu2mb
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:30 pm

Re: Thetis CW & N1MM setup

Postby vu2mb » Sun Nov 28, 2021 6:55 pm

K9RX wrote:I'm not sure if this is the same thing you are experiencing but I can say I was never able to get N1MM+ to work on CW natively .... I was told by some they had it working - and others it was not working. Frustrating to say the least. I ended up having to go to a K1EL external device which now drives the rig and is the interface for N1MM+ which now works. One SHOULDN'T have to add more external equipment to resolve this issue but there it is. Likewise the CW message ... I think it's called CWX, still won't work.

Gary
K9RX

[using 3.4.9]


Dear Gary K9RX,

CW works like a charm. I have used RTTY, CQ and DVK for SSB.
They all work without an issue. It's us who make some mistakes and suffer.
See my post to Scott WU2O and you should be able to work CW.

Thanks for your comments

73
Bhanu
VU2MB
User avatar
pa1hr
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:09 pm
Location: Milsbeek, Limburg, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Thetis CW & N1MM setup

Postby pa1hr » Sun Nov 28, 2021 8:13 pm

Dear Bhanu,

For more than six years I enjoy ANAN SDR's with N1MM.
With all due respect IMHO your setup is rather complicated.
I use microHAM CW Keyer with built-in Winkeyer. It has hardware PTT for the ANAN-7000DLE MkII.
This CW Keyer has its own Device Router with virtual ports. So no need to use VSPE.
In the Device Router I choose only one virtual cable between Thetis and N1MM. That's all.
This weekend I participated in the CQWW CW Contest. No problems what so ever. Everything perfect.

73! Hans PA0Q.
--

73,
Hans Remeeus (PA0Q/OE3JRC)
https://pa0q.nl
"Communication is about people, the rest is technology"
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 3362
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Thetis CW & N1MM setup

Postby w-u-2-o » Sun Nov 28, 2021 9:22 pm

Hans -- your setup is arguably more complex, IMHO. And it costs money. Why use hardware when software will do the same thing? We are all about SDR, right? ;)
User avatar
vu2mb
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:30 pm

Re: Thetis CW & N1MM setup

Postby vu2mb » Sun Nov 28, 2021 11:56 pm

For the same reason, I have not opened the box and taken out PK-232SC+ to the shack table.
Spent around $650 few years ago. Used MBX till late 90's
I am sure it has better filters though.

73
Bhanu
VU2MB

Return to “Digital Mode, Rig Control & Logging Software”