Acom 2000a interface with 8000DLE

User avatar
w2ner
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:14 am

Acom 2000a interface with 8000DLE

Postby w2ner » Sat Nov 02, 2019 6:03 am

I'm looking for information details on the setup of a Acom 2000a and my 8000DLE. I know its better to use the rs323 port on the rear of the 2000A., I have done that, made the cable and trying to get everything working. Anyone have a details on the setup in DDUTILS?
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1849
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Acom 2000a interface with 8000DLE

Postby w-u-2-o » Sat Nov 02, 2019 1:32 pm

First, make sure you are using the correct version of DDUtil.

Second, use the right RS-232 cable. It should have ONLY THREE WIRES: pin 2 to 3, pin 3 to 2 and pin 5 to 5.

Third, on the DDUtil Amp tab, set the serial port, serial port speed to 1200, and enable.

Fourth, set up some virtual serial port software, make a port pair, and connect DDUtil to PowerSDR with that port pair.
User avatar
w2ner
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:14 am

Re: Acom 2000a interface with 8000DLE

Postby w2ner » Sat Nov 02, 2019 2:16 pm

Thanks, I was using 3.27 and just removed it. Installing 3.25
User avatar
w2ner
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:14 am

Re: Acom 2000a interface with 8000DLE

Postby w2ner » Sat Nov 02, 2019 2:23 pm

Thanks Scott!!! That was it, with version 3.25 everything is working. Wow, thats too bad about not supporting legacy, sotra leaves some people out in the cold.
User avatar
w2ner
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:14 am

Re: Acom 2000a interface with 8000DLE

Postby w2ner » Sat Nov 02, 2019 2:29 pm

Do you know if auto drive works with the Acom 2000A?
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 1849
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Acom 2000a interface with 8000DLE

Postby w-u-2-o » Sat Nov 02, 2019 3:59 pm

w2ner wrote:Do you know if auto drive works with the Acom 2000A?

Yes, it works with any amplifier, because DDUtil is controlling drive in PowerSDR, not the amp.

Return to “Amplifiers & Tuners”