What Mic Are You Using?

WU6R

What Mic Are You Using?

Postby WU6R » Sun Jan 10, 2021 5:59 pm

I'm new to the ANAN family of SDR radios with a "new to me" ANAN-10E which did not arrive with a mic. I've read the manual and the two posted comments at the top of the microphone section of the Apache Labs forum, but want to know what others are doing for a microphone before venturing off to experiment with different setups. So, 1) what are you using? and, 2) is there a simple, no fuss mic setup that someone is willing to share? Finally, is anyone using a USB mic plugged into a Windows 10 pc that is configured within the Thetis setup software?

Thanks,
Mark WU6R
mark.wheeler3575@gmail.com
Mark WU6R
w-u-2-o

Re: What Mic Are You Using?

Postby w-u-2-o » Sun Jan 10, 2021 7:08 pm

WU6R wrote:I've read the manual and the two posted comments at the top of the microphone section of the Apache Labs forum

This would appear to be your only posting in the microphone section, Mark.

but want to know what others are doing for a microphone before venturing off to experiment with different setups. So, 1) what are you using?

Not sure it's simply and low fuss, but I use a professional USB sound interface plugged into the PC, and low cost, professional microphones plugged into that. This would sort of qualify as an answer to your USB mic question below.

My old interface was a Behringer UMC202. You can buy the current version on Amazon for $120. My current interface is a more expensive product from Presonus, but it's really overkill for most people.

My main microphone is a Behringer B1. It's a large diameter condenser mic with nearly ruler flat frequency response. There are many other, similar microphones at this price point ($100), such as the MXL770, MXL990, AT2020, and others. They all require real, 48V mic bias power (phantom power), which the UMC202 interface provides.